Company research - FIN 480 - Finance for New Ventures - LibGuides at University of Arizona

Best for most company research

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Use the Company Profile search to find a company by location. Best used for local/regional companies or a specific location of a larger firm. To identify competition, consider using the Industry Market search, too. How to access: Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.
Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Search a company by name or ticker symbol, or click on the Browse All Companies link just below the main search bar. Find financial data, rankings, investment reports, news, and more on public and select private companies.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Open More in the top navigation menu and click on Company Profiles. (Not recommended to use the Company Information search in the main menu.) You can also use the main search to find company news and analysis from articles in journals, newspapers, and trade publications.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Euromonitor's Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Open the Companies tab and search for a company by name to view company profiles. Global profiles offer competitive analysis, market trends, and company analysis akin to a SWOT while "local" (regional) profiles provide a snapshot of performance and sales data. Works best for companies in consumer goods and services.
Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
New! Find details on public companies globally, including ownership, executives, financial data, SEC filings, sustainability (ESG and CSR) reports, ESG ratings (current and historical), and more. Read more about content and coverage.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
New! Find company data on US public and private companies.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for company information in two ways: Open the "waffle" menu in the top left and select Nexis Dossier (preferred), or click on the Companies tab in the top ribbon. When using Dossier, search by company name or stock ticker to find a company profile with news, reports, financials, and more.
Note: May require users to log in with their NetID even on campus.

There is a known bug affecting Nexis Uni profile creation. Off-campus users interested in creating a Nexis Uni profile should use this link.

Nexis Uni instructions for screen reader and keyboard only users
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Search public or private companies by name or ticker symbol. In addition to financial information, ownership, and news, Pitchbook includes M&A, venture capital, and private equity transactions. Note: You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database. For problems logging into an existing account, access the database above, click on "Create an account" link, enter your arizona.edu email address, then click on the link in the email you receive and reset your password.
You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database.

For problems logging into an existing account, visit arizona.pitchbook.com, click on "Create an account" link, enter your arizona.edu email address, then click on the link in the email you receive and reset your password.
Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Using the main search bar, search by company name (not ticker symbol) to find insights. Another good choice is the Companies and Products Reports search on the Reports tab.

Best for financials, transactions, shares, and funding

Most of the databases listed above provide financials on public companies, but these resources specialize in certain financial data and transactions.

Find more information on creating, finding, or analyzing financial statements on the Accounting research guide.

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Use Company Profile search, using company name and location (state) details. Best used when researching local/regional companies or specific locations of larger firms. How to access: Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.
Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.

EDGAR (SEC.gov)
All public companies, U.S. and foreign, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. For annual financial statements, select a company's 10-K. If you aren't sure which form you need, use the link for SEC Forms List (PDF versions) and look at the form descriptions.

IbisWorld This link opens in a new window
Select Products from the top navigation to find Company Benchmarking reports listed under Company. These US company benchmarking reports provide competitive analysis and market share figures.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
M&A transactions: In the main search box, click on "All Content Types" and select Companies, then select Mergers and Acquisitions. Click away from the box to close it, unless you want to choose specific M&A sources. Next, type in the company or other keywords in the search box. Note: This search may also include charitable giving and grant awards. Selecting specific sources from the Content Types filter can help exclude those transactions.
Note: May require users to log in with their NetID even on campus.

There is a known bug affecting Nexis Uni profile creation. Off-campus users interested in creating a Nexis Uni profile should use this link.

Nexis Uni instructions for screen reader and keyboard only users

Nonprofit Explorer
Use ProPublica's database to search tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as executive compensation, revenue, and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access over 9.6 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.
Where to Find Nonprofit Financial Information
From The Bridgespan Group, this article provides a nice overview of how and where to verify an organization's tax exempt status and research their financials.

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Find data, research and technology covering the private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions. Note: You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database. For problems logging into an existing account, access the database above, click on "Create an account" link, enter your arizona.edu email address, then click on the link in the email you receive and reset your password.
You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database.

For problems logging into an existing account, visit arizona.pitchbook.com, click on "Create an account" link, enter your arizona.edu email address, then click on the link in the email you receive and reset your password.
Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.
Pivot This link opens in a new window
Find funding opportunities from public agencies and private foundations.
Pivot Accessibility Statement
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Information and advice on stocks, industries, mutual funds, options, and convertibles.
Winmo This link opens in a new window
Find ad spends by media type in addition to information on advertising agencies, advertisers, key contacts, and more with this sales prospecting tool formerly known as the Advertising Red Books.

Best for local and regional businesses

When you need details on local businesses or specific business locations (e.g., a specific Sprouts store) of a larger entity.

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Access granular industry statistical reports. Includes industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Data Axle Reference Solutions can help users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people. This database has access to millions of US and Canadian businesses, consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. new homeowners.
Historical ReferenceUSA data is available in ReDATA.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

FIN 480 - Finance for New Ventures

Best for most company research

Best for financials, transactions, shares, and funding

Best for local and regional businesses

Looking for news?

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

FIN 480 - Finance for New Ventures

Best for most company research

Best for financials, transactions, shares, and funding

Best for local and regional businesses

Looking for news?

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect