News sources - FIN 480/536 - Finance for New Ventures - LibGuides at University of Arizona

Getting started with news sources

Find news and popular articles in a couple ways:

Search within databases specializing in news, such as Access Business News or Nexis Uni. See a full list below.
Browse or search within specific publications, such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Businessweek, or The Economist. See lists of daily newspapers and business magazines / trade publications below.

You can also search on the library website for news articles. Use this search and adjust the filter for Type of Material to Newspaper Articles and/or Magazine Articles.

Search databases

Access Business News This link opens in a new window
Access to business and law journals, local and regional business news weeklies and other news sources across North America. 1980-present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find newspaper and magazine articles. On the results page, under Sources by Category (on the left side), select Newspapers and/or Magazines & Journals. Newswires & Press Releases can be another good source of information (also under Sources by Category), but this information usually comes straight from the company so take it with a grain of salt..
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Find business news and articles from major U.S. metropolitan areas, 1990-present.

Library search
Use library search to find more news articles. After searching, click "newspaper articles" and "articles" under "Type of material".

Daily newspapers

How do I evaluate news articles?

News Literacy: Resources for Evaluating News Sources
Review this guide for strategies on evaluating information and disinformation in the news.

Selected list of daily newspapers, from A to Z

Financial Times (London)

Financial Times (London)
Full-text articles from 1999 to 1 month ago, plus historical digitized pages from 1888 to 2010 through Gale Primary Sources Financial Times Historical Archive.
FT.com (full-text PDFs)
Full-text coverage of articles from FT.com from 2001 to 1 month ago. Does not provide access to the website itself, only PDF articles.

The New York Times

Start here to access current articles directly on NYT.com:

New York Times (website) This link opens in a new window
Set up your free account to find current and past articles and most digital content on the NYT website back to 1851.
Note: To set up your free account, type in "University of Arizona" as the institution and follow instructions based on your status. You must use your "@arizona.edu" email address.
If you already have a paid personal account...
If you have a paid personal account, and you'd like to change it to a free UA-sponsored account, you'll need to cancel your personal account before you can claim your free account.
To cancel an existing account, please contact New York Times Customer Care:
Phone: 800-698-4637
Live chat
For problems setting up accounts, email edu@nytimes.com.
Students will have access through the end of their graduation year.
Faculty and staff will have access for four years.
Crossword puzzles aren't included.

Look here for full-text PDFs and images of current and historical NYT.com and NYT print articles through library databases:

The New York Times (full-text PDFs)
Includes full-text articles published to print NYT (1980 to present), NYT.com (1996 to present), and NYT Magazine (1997 to present). Also includes book reviews (1988 to present) and The Daily podcast (2019 to present). Does not generally include photos, graphics, etc. that may have accompanied original article.
The New York Times (digitized print edition)
Full-color, digitized copies of NYT print issues from 2008 to 3 months ago. Fully text searchable. Includes images, graphics, etc.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and digitized pages of NYT print issues from 1851 to 2019. Includes articles, advertisements, classified ads, editorial cartoons, announcements, photos, and more.

The Wall Street Journal

Start here to access current articles directly on WSJ.com:

Wall Street Journal (WSJ website) This link opens in a new window
Find articles and other content from the Wall Street Journal website back to 1997.
Note: registration is required to access this content. (See "More" below for instructions.) Available to UA students and employees only.
Register by clicking on the title above and do the following:
1. Enter your first and last name.
2. Select an account type (student, professor or staff) from the dropdown menu.
3. Enter your arizona.edu email address and create a password.
4. Click "Create" to complete your registration.
The subscription includes access to articles dating back to 1997 as well as WSJ mobile and tablet apps and an optional newsletter of curated content sent to your inbox every month. Your subscription will last one year from your activation date. Memberships will be free for three years, but will need to be renewed each year.
This is made available through a donation to the Eller College of Management until October 2024.

Look here for full-text PDFs and images of current and historical WSJ.com and WSJ print articles through library databases:

The Wall Street Journal (full-text PDFs)
Includes full-text articles published to print publication (1985 to present) and WSJ.com (2008 to present). Does not include photos, graphics, etc. that may have accompanied original article.
The Wall Street Journal (digitized print edition)
Full-color, digitized copies of WSJ print issues from 2008 to present. Fully text searchable. Includes images, graphics, etc.

The Washington Post

ProQuest Recent Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Find full page images of articles and other content from the Washington Post from 2008 to 3 months ago.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this major newspaper from the Nation's capital. Provides a unique perspective of US politics and government.

Trade publications and popular magazines

Businessweek (Bloomberg)

Bloomberg.com (full-text PDFs)
Full-text articles from the online version of Businessweek (Bloomberg.com) from 2001 to present. Does not provide access to the website itself, only PDF articles.
Bloomberg Businessweek
Full-text articles from print edition of Businessweek, from 1996 to present.

The Economist

The Economist
Full-text coverage is from 1988 to present.

Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Find full page images of The Economist from its inception in 1843 to 2020.

Entrepreneur

Entrepreneur
Full-text coverage from 2003 to present.

Fast Company

Fast Company
Full-text coverage from Nov. 2000 to present.

Forbes

Forbes
Full-text article coverage from 1990 to present.

Fortune

Fortune
Access includes archive and full-text coverage from 1930 to present, including digital magazine view (Flipster) from 2014 to present.

Harvard Business Review

Harvard Business Review
Full-text articles from 1922 to present.

Inc.

Inc.
Full-text coverage from 1990 to present.

Wired

Wired
Full-text coverage from 2008 to present.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

FIN 480/536 - Finance for New Ventures

Getting started with news sources

Search databases

Daily newspapers

How do I evaluate news articles?

Financial Times (London)

The New York Times

The Wall Street Journal

The Washington Post

Trade publications and popular magazines

Businessweek (Bloomberg)

The Economist

Entrepreneur

Fast Company

Forbes

Fortune

Harvard Business Review

Inc.

Wired

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

FIN 480/536 - Finance for New Ventures

Getting started with news sources

Search databases

Daily newspapers

How do I evaluate news articles?

Financial Times (London)

The New York Times

The Wall Street Journal

The Washington Post

Trade publications and popular magazines

Businessweek (Bloomberg)

The Economist

Entrepreneur

Fast Company

Forbes

Fortune

Harvard Business Review

Inc.

Wired

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect