Global market research - FIN 480 - Finance for New Ventures

Doing business internationally

Export Solutions - International Trade Administration (Trade.gov)
The ITA is a bureau within the U.S. Department of Commerce and provides trade statistics and research on foreign markets. The Export Solutions hub focuses on toolkits and resources for U.S. businesses interested in (or already part of) the exporting process.

Winmo This link opens in a new window
Search the Creative Library for advertising campaigns in select countries.

Country and global market research and statistics

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
In Advanced Search, enter country name in search box, then use the Publication Type filter to select Country Report. Pay attention to publication dates. Includes reports from BMI (Fitch Solutions), CountryWatch, MarketLine, Political Risk Yearbooks (PRS Group), and S&P Global (IHS Markit).
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions

Economist Intelligence Unit: Country ViewsWire
Provides analysis on the latest country developments and industry trends. Use the Search Within Publication search box to search by country name. Available through Gale OneFile, 1992-present.

Euromonitor's Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data for the last 15 years, and forecasts out to at least 5 years. Passport data is completely cross-country comparable.

Export Solutions - International Trade Administration (Trade.gov)
The ITA is a bureau within the U.S. Department of Commerce and provides trade statistics and research on foreign markets. The Export Solutions hub focuses on toolkits and resources for U.S. businesses interested in (or already part of) the exporting process.
International Debt Statistics
From the World Bank, these statistics focus on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to the present, for most reporting countries.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Use the Countries & Regions tab to browse reports, papers, and datasets by country. Published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development.

OECD-UNSD Multinational Enterprise Information Platform
The Multinational Enterprise (MNE) Information Platform is a joint initiative of OECD and UN Statistics Division (UNSD) to provide an understanding of the structure of MNEs and related material. Published as a dashboard, it provides publicly-sourced data on the 500 MNEs with the largest market capitalization. Scroll down page to view dashboards (Global Register, Digital Register, and Media Monitor).

Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Click on Country in the top menu to find annual Dun & Bradstreet Country Risk Profiles and monthly RiskLine snapshot reports. Coverage is global and goes back to 2001 for many countries. These documents are useful for identifying emerging challenges, risks, and opportunities in global markets.

Research Center - International Trade Administration (Trade.gov)
Explore data for national and state exports/imports as well as global travel and tourism, plus industry and market research by country.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors.

World Development Indicators
From the World Bank, data include national, regional, and global estimates.
The World Factbook
The World Factbook provides encyclopedic, geographic, socioeconomic, political, environmental, and cultural facts on over 262 world entities, countries, regions, and oceans. Includes photos, maps, and flags. You can browse by region, search a specific country, or compare countries. Maintained by the Central Intelligence Agency.

International news

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find articles from local (Arizona Daily Star), national, and international newspapers, and news transcripts and video clips; date coverage varies by news source.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Find news from international, national, and regional newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites, with various coverage from 1980s-current.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
Keesing's World News Archive This link opens in a new window
Find summarized news reports from 1931-present on world events in the monthly digest of articles compiled by Keesings editorial staff. Events covered are elections and changes of government; wars, treaties, and diplomacy; terrorism and security; legislation; international agreements; actions by the UN and other international organizations; natural disasters, environmental issues, and scientific discoveries.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Find news from newspapers, newswires, and news sites from Latin American countries, 1998 to present.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

FIN 480 - Finance for New Ventures