Sanctuary: Who Belongs Here? The Search for Homeland on the U.S.-Mexico Border, 1848-Today

Bruce Cole Papers, 1976-2008 (MS759)

The Bruce Cole papers is primarily composed of papers, letters, news articles, photos, and newspaper clippings about Richard Heakin, a 21-year-old gay man who, in 1976, was beaten to death outside a gay bar in Tucson. This collection is part of the Arizona Queer Archives (AQA), a community focused archive through the Institute for LGBTQ+ Studies at the UA. 

Gay Liberation Papers, 1970-1978 (AZ349)

Gay Liberation Arizona Desert (GLAD II) was local affiliation of the national Gay Liberation Front. This collection includes correspondence, clippings, tapes, periodicals, and other material concerning the gay liberation movement in Arizona and the West Coast.

Southern Arizona Gender Alliance Records, 2001-2016 (MS766)

This collection is primarily comprised of records of the Southern Arizona Gender Alliance related to the 2006 and 2007 Trans Awareness Week in Tucson. This collection is part of the Arizona Queer Archives (AQA), a community focused archive through the Institute for LGBTQ+ Studies at the UA. 

Tucson Commission on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered Issues Collection, 1999-2009 (MS501)

Originated in 1998 as a mayoral task force in response to a hate crime in Tucson, the force evolved into a Commission of its own in 1999. The commission deals with a number of GLBT-related issues in the community, including HIV awareness and advocating for the gay community.

Wingspan LGBT Community Center Records, 1967 to 2019 (MS738)

The Wingspan LGBT Community Center records consist of materials related to over 25 years as a non-profit supporting LGBTQI communities.