Sanctuary: Who Belongs Here? The Search for Homeland on the U.S.-Mexico Border, 1848-Today

Sam Levitz Photographic Collection, 1941-1955 (MS570)

This collection is comprised of 47,330 negatives and printed materials pertaining to Arizona photographer Sam Levitz. The majority of the collection are professional photographs taken by Levitz, Jack Sheaffer, and other associates who worked with them at the Arizona Daily Star  newspaper. Most of the photographs were taken from 1941-1955.

Jack Sheaffer Photographic Collection, 1945-1999 (MS435)

Jack Sheaffer was born in southern Arizona in 1929. He worked for Sam Levitz who was the head photographer for the Arizona Daily Star. Sheaffer freelanced widely, taking portraits of individuals and families, visiting celebrities, civic events, tragic accidents, and life in a small city. 

Tucson Council for Civic Unity Records, 1948-1966 (MS317)

The Tucson Council for Civic Unity (TCCU) was founded in 1948 "to foster and promote better understanding and relations among people of various racial, religious, social and national backgrounds in Arizona[.]" The TCCU contributed to several achievements including the desegregation of Tucson public schools, 1948-1951, and repeal of school segregation laws in Arizona; the passage of the Equal Employment Opportunity bill, 1955; and the creation of the Human Relations Commission, also 1955. TCCU's longest struggle was for the passage of the Public Accommodations legislation in the Arizona State Legislature. The effort lasted from 1949-1965, when the Civil Rights bill was finally enacted. The collection includes a June, 1960, telegram from then-Congressman Stewart Udall in support of the proposed Public Accommodations law. 

Records of the Arizona Civil Liberties Union (ACLU of Arizona), 1958-1968 (AZ182)

Formed in 1958, the American Civil Liberties Union of Arizona works to protect and defend individual rights and civil liberties. This collection includes Correspondence, financial reports, minutes of meetings, executive director records, publications, clippings, photographs, audio tape recordings of radio broadcasts, video recordings of speeches, protests, and ACLU Follies performances, and material on various local cases and projects.

Mary Jeffries Bruce and the Sunday Evening Forum Collection, 1940-1980 (MS472)

The collection consists of personal scrapbooks created by Mary Jeffries Bruce, director of the community discussion group Sunday Evening Forum in Tucson, Arizona, from 1942-1976. The 21 scrapbooks contain photographs, correspondence and newspaper articles chronicling the nationally and internationally prominent people who spoke at the Forum, including two visits by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.