Sanctuary: Who Belongs Here? The Search for Homeland on the U.S.-Mexico Border, 1848-Today
Librarian
UA Archival Collections
Alexander S. Henderson Papers (AZ27)
Alexander S. Henderson (1859-1944) was a merchant in Patagonia, Arizona. The collection includes personal and business activities of Chinese merchants in Patagonia and contains holograph notebooks and letters in Chinese, printed items concerned with fortune-telling, literature, philosophy, and medicine.
The Behan family were a prominent pioneer Arizona family in public service and law enforcement. John Behan (1845-1912) served as Sheriff in several Arizona counties, as well as a Chinese Inspector from 1896-97. The collection includes John Behan's diary in which he recorded activities and expenses related to his work as a Chinese Inspection Agent.
Chinese Document Collection (AZ 376)
This collection contains personal papers, business records, and related materials from a Chinese community, the Ying On Merchants and Labor Benevolent Association of Tucson, Arizona.
Papers of José Maria Arana, 1904-1921 (MS009)
Arana was a prominent businessman and politician in Magdalena, Sonora, Mexico. He was also the leader of anti-Chinese campaigns in Sonora, Sinaloa, and Baja California. The materials consist mainly of letters to Arana from supporters and opponents of the anti-Chinese campaign.
Books, Theses, Dissertations and Articles
Chinese on the American Frontier by Call Number: E184.C5 C496 2001 LOCATEISBN: 9780847685325Publication Date: 2001
The Chinese of Early Tucson by Call Number: F819.T99 C55 1989 Special CollectionsISBN: 9780816533916
Making the Chinese Mexican by Call Number: F1392.C45 D45 2012ISBN: 9780804778145Publication Date: 2012
Li Yang. In search of homeland: Lai Ngan, a pioneer Chinese woman and her family on the U.S.-Mexico border. Journal of Arizona History, Winter 2001, 52(4), pp. 337-54