Sanctuary: Who Belongs Here? The Search for Homeland on the U.S.-Mexico Border, 1848-Today
Librarian
UA Archival Collections
Defenders of Wildlife Records, 2000-2012 (MS568)
Founded in 1947, Defenders of Wildlife is a national organization focused on wildlife conservation. In 2007 the Defenders of Wildlife brought forward a lawsuit to stop construction of a wall on the US-Mexico border due to concern it might damage wildlife habitat. The collection contains materials including environmental assessment reports, books, CD/ROMs and ephemera.
James Kolbe Papers, 1958-2006 (MS539)
This collection contains the political papers of Republican Congressman James Kolbe that document his 22 year career as a member of the United States House of Representatives in Arizona’s 5th congressional district. Kolbe represented Arizona's 5th congressional district from 1985 to 2003, which at the time included the U.S.-Mexico border region in southeastern Arizona. The collection includes campaign materials, legislative files, committee records and material on trade, especially the North American Trade Agreement. Materials relating to the border environment include: Environment Cooperation Commission (box 43, folder 9), Mexico-Border-Environment 1992-1996 (box 47, folder 12), Border-Environment Cooperation Commission, 1999-2001 (Box 76, folder 8), and Environmental concerns and issues along the Arizona-Sonora border, August 10, 1990 (Box 114, folder 68).
Nature Conservancy Records , 1884-1999 (MS408)
This collection documents the activities of the Arizona Chapter of The Nature Conservancy, an international non-profit conservation organization dedicated to protecting rare plants and animals and the land and water they need to survive.
Save the Scenic Santa Ritas Records, 1996-2018 (MS719)
Save the Scenic Santa Ritas is a non-profit whose volunteers aim to "protect the scenic, aesthetic, recreational, environmental and wildlife values of the Santa Rita Mountains, Patagonia Mountains, Canelo Hills and San Rafael Valley" by educating citizens, outreach programs, and protection of these areas from mining. This collection includes meeting agendas, minutes, press releases, news stories, informational bulletins and event announcements.
