Contact Us
Health Sciences Education Building (HSEB), 3rd Floor
435 N. 5th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(602) 827-2062
Monday - Friday
Front Desk Staffed 8am - 8pm
Extended Access 5:30am - midnight
Saturday - Sunday
Front Desk Staffed 10am - 4pm
Extended Access 7am - 10pm
To ensure the security of the library, the main entrance doors are locked mornings before 8:00am, after 5:00pm on weekdays and all day on weekends. At those times, entry is via PBC badge or CatCard. If you encounter difficulties with badge access, please contact the PBC Access Desk, 602-827-2758.
Make an Appointment
- Meet with COM-P LibrarianAppointments are available for UA COM-P medical students. Banner residents and clinical faculty please reach out to Banner Library
- Banner LibraryBanner Health Library Services staff are available to assist Banner providers, employees, fellows and residents.
NAU Students
The library is a joint-use facility located within the Health Sciences Education Building. The library is designed primarily for the needs of students, staff and faculty of the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Phoenix, UA Health Sciences, and Northern Arizona University College of Health and Human Services programs in Phoenix.
Library study space is available to students enrolled at the Phoenix Biomedical Campus during all building hours with CatCard or PBC Badge.
Search for Books and Journals
- HSL Library SearchEnter keywords or titles into the search box to search all of UA Libraries collections
Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFind articles in nursing and allied health, health care, and evidence-based care.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions - ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowFind journals, reference books, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information across a wide range of medical specialties, as well as search Clinical Overviews/First Consult and Procedures Consult.
Note: some book chapters require registering a personal account to download PDFs.
Clinical Key accessibility features - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowFind results of controlled trials in medical research including systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
To set up an optional personal account, please use this Registration link - DynaMed This link opens in a new windowFind answers to clinical questions in this evidence-based medical database, updated daily.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowFind biomedical articles from 1947 to the present covering topics such as pharmaceuticals, medical devices, and clinical medicine. Includes over 2,700 journals not indexed in MEDLINE/Pubmed.
Elsevier accessibility features - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowFind articles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions - PubMed (UA/HSL) This link opens in a new windowFind bibliographic citations with abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. PubMed includes MEDLINE and citations to NCBI Bookshelf items.
Tutorial
PubMed screen reader instructions - Scopus This link opens in a new windowFind peer-reviewed scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings across all disciplines.
Elsevier accessibility features - UpToDate This link opens in a new windowFind evidence-based recommendations for patient care and quality, as well as earn continuing education credits if you're a clinician.
Clinicians may opt to have their usage tracked for CME/CE purposes by creating an UpToDate Anywhere account.
Note: current NetID is required for access.
Use Banners UpToDate if youre a DCC.
For further information about accessing UpToDate, see our UpToDate information page. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Ebooks
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Find core medical textbooks, such as "Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine." Note: Create a personal MyAccess account for access to customized features, including Custom Curriculum, My Saved Images, and mobile view.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Find pharmacy and medical textbooks, such as "Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics." Note: Create a personal MyAccess account for access to customized features, including Custom Curriculum, My Saved Images, and mobile view.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Find surgical videos, animations, textbooks, board review, and clerkship resources. Note:Create a personal MyAccess account for access to customized features, including Custom Curriculum, My Saved Images, and mobile view.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Find journals, reference books, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information across a wide range of medical specialties, as well as search Clinical Overviews/First Consult and Procedures Consult. Note: some book chapters require registering a personal account to download PDFs. Clinical Key accessibility features
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window Find American Psychiatric Association (APA) journals, textbooks, practice guidelines, and titles related to the APA's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM).
- Access Case Files Collection Interactive clinical cases from basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases, all of which are based on McGraw-Hill's 23 Case Files® series books.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Find pediatrics education and training resources featuring leading pediatrics textbooks, multimedia, Q&A, algorithms, case studies, and more.
- Health Science Ebooks by Speciaty Quickly find current textbooks in various medical specialties