Contact Us
Health Sciences Education Building (HSEB), 3rd Floor
435 N. 5th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(602) 827-2062
Monday - Friday
Front Desk Staffed 8am - 8pm
Extended Access 5:30am - midnight
Saturday - Sunday
Front Desk Staffed 10am - 4pm
Extended Access 7am - 10pm
To ensure the security of the library, the main entrance doors are locked mornings before 8:00am, after 5:00pm on weekdays and all day on weekends. At those times, entry is via PBC badge or CatCard. If you encounter difficulties with badge access, please contact the PBC Access Desk, 602-827-2758.
Make an Appointment
-
Meet with COM-P LibrarianAppointments are available for UA COM-P medical students. Banner residents and clinical faculty please reach out to Banner Library
-
Banner LibraryBanner Health Library Services staff are available to assist Banner providers, employees, fellows and residents.
NAU Students
The library is a joint-use facility located within the Health Sciences Education Building. The library is designed primarily for the needs of students, staff and faculty of the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Phoenix, UA Health Sciences, and Northern Arizona University College of Health and Human Services programs in Phoenix.
Library study space is available to students enrolled at the Phoenix Biomedical Campus during all building hours with CatCard or PBC Badge.
Search for Books and Journals
- HSL Library SearchEnter keywords or titles into the search box to search all of UA Libraries collections
Databases
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Find articles in nursing and allied health, health care, and evidence-based care. Please Note: EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders. See Additional Info for details.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Find journals, reference books, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information across a wide range of medical specialties, as well as search Clinical Overviews/First Consult and Procedures Consult.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Find results of controlled trials in medical research including systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
-
DynaMed This link opens in a new windowFind answers to clinical questions in this evidence-based medical database, updated daily.
-
Embase This link opens in a new window
Find biomedical articles from 1947 to the present covering topics such as pharmaceuticals, medical devices, and clinical medicine. Includes over 2,700 journals not indexed in MEDLINE/Pubmed.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find articles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health. Please Note: EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders. See Additional Info for details.
-
PubMed (UA/HSL) This link opens in a new window
Find bibliographic citations with abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. PubMed includes MEDLINE and citations to NCBI Bookshelf items.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings across all disciplines.
-
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Find evidence-based recommendations for patient care and quality, as well as earn continuing education credits if you're a clinician.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Therapy Dogs at the Library
Aug. 14, Sept. 24, Nov. 12, Dec. 18
12-1 pm
3rd Floor of the Library
Take a time out from studying and pet some therapy dogs!
Therapy dogs will also be walking around campus Sept 5, 19, 26 & Oct 10, 24.
Introduction to PubMed
Tuesday, September 16 from 12-1pm
Library, A446 & Zoom
Learn more about the PubMed database from the National Library of Medicine. This workshop will focus on Medline indexing, MyNCBI, developing a search in PubMed, and searching with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Introduction to ORCID
Tuesday, October 14th from 12-1pm
Library, A446 & Zoom
Establish your scholarly identity by creating an ORCID ID. Required by the University of Arizona for investigators.
Introduction to Endnote
Tuesday, November 18th from 12-1pm
Library, A446 & Zoom
Learn how to collect and manage your citations with an introduction to Endnote.
Introduction to PIVOT
Tuesday, December 9th from 12-1pm
Library, A446 & Zoom
Learn how to set up a profile and search for funding opportunities in PIVOT.
MS1
MS2
Evidence Based Medicine (EBM)
Scholarly project resources
Suggested book list: pre-Clerkship
Suggested book list: clerkship
Public Health resources
Pharmacy
Community Health Initiative - Phoenix (CHIP)
Mobile apps
UA COM-P Faculty
Banner Residents and Fellows
COM Phoenix Internal Medicine
Citation Management
More Guides
Ebooks
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Find core medical textbooks, such as “Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.”
-
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Find pharmacy and medical textbooks, such as “Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics.”
-
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Find surgical videos, animations, textbooks, board review, and clerkship resources.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Find journals, reference books, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information across a wide range of medical specialties, as well as search Clinical Overviews/First Consult and Procedures Consult.
-
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window Find American Psychiatric Association (APA) journals, textbooks, practice guidelines, and titles related to the APA's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM).
-
Access Case Files Collection Interactive clinical cases from basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases, all of which are based on McGraw-Hill's 23 Case Files® series books.
-
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Find pediatrics education and training resources featuring leading pediatrics textbooks, multimedia, Q&A, algorithms, case studies, and more.
-
Health Science Ebooks by Speciaty Quickly find current textbooks in various medical specialties