As of January 1, 2021, the University no longer provides access to the Web of Science database.In its place, the Libraries subscribes to Scopus, as well as providing on-going access to a range of other supporting databases.
Web of Science and Scopus are competing citation indexes/tools that overlap significantly in the content and functionality they offer. Over the course of academic year 2019–2020, the Libraries analyzed several aspects related to the two databases and found Scopus to be the stronger alternative. Either tool provides full-text; they are indexes that facilitate discoverability of content as well as research and analysis using metadata from citations.
While many R1 institutions have subscribed to both tools for the last decade and they are not 100% duplicative, market research experts expect most libraries to move toward eliminating one or the other in the near future, primarily based on cost and preference, rather than on differences in content or functionality, as those differences are minor (STM Online Services 2019-2023).
During the fall 2019 and spring 2020 semesters, Library staff held informational meetings, conducted a survey of faculty and solicited other feedback to learn about faculty needs. We have developed ongoing outreach and training efforts to address these needs.
Details on the final elements of the cancellation and any access to various elements of the Web of Science platform are still under negotiation with the vendor. More information should be available in October 2020. Please check back.
We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples. Today, Arizona is home to 22 federally recognized tribes, with Tucson being
home to the O’odham and the Yaqui. Committed to diversity and inclusion, the University strives to build sustainable relationships with sovereign Native Nations and Indigenous
communities through education offerings, partnerships, and community service