Library Support for Shifting to Online Teaching

Fine Arts liaison Rachel Castro has created separate library guides for art, dance, drama & theater arts, film & TV, and music. Each guide lists a wealth of library resources available to UA courses.

Art

See library resources for images and best practices for image use.

• Google Arts & Culture has partnered with thousands of museums and galleries around the world to provide free virtual tours. Here's a sample:
  • The Art Institute of Chicago features more than 50,000 public domain images. Select a work of art, zoom in, and view it in high resolution. The site also features writings, research guides, and educator resources.
  • Europeana (Europe's digital library) has online collections for art, photography, and much more.
  • The Smithsonian's Image Gallery offers online collections for photography, decorative arts, visual arts, and much more. Also see their online exhibitions.
• The Library of Congress has a range of online collections, including drawings, photographs, art & architecture, sculpture, and many other subjects.
• In Color Our Collections, libraries, archives, and other cultural institutions around the world share free coloring sheets and books based on materials in their collections.
• See TED Talks on topics like art, arts, painting, photography, and museums. Please note the TED Talks Usage Policy, which doesn't allow TED Talks to be edited. If you only want your students to watch a portion of a talk, link to the entire video and say which portion you want students to view (e.g., watch from minutes 1:12 to 2:54).
• Free PBS shows about art include Art in the Twenty-First Century, ARTEFFECTS, The Art Assignment, and the documentary “State of the Art."
• Open Culture lists a variety of Free Art & Art History Courses and Free Design Courses.

Dance

• PBS offers a number of different free dance programs, including If Cities Could Dance and the specials "Dancing on the Shoulders of Giants" and "Designers of the Dance."
• The Dance Heritage Coalition features 100 Dance Treasures, including Alvin Ailey, Martha Graham, and Twyla Tharp.
• The website Contemporary Dance offers resources on techniques, choreography, theory, history, and much more.
• American Ballet Theatre has a free dictionary of ballet terms.
• The Dance Notation Bureau features a range of free resources.
• See TED Talks on dance. Please note the TED Talks Usage Policy, which doesn't allow TED Talks to be edited. If you only want your students to watch a portion of a talk, link to the entire video and say which portion you want students to view (e.g., watch from minutes 1:12 to 2:54).
• YouTube has many videos you can link to for course use. A few caveats: Don't link to obviously pirated material and be aware that YouTube content can disappear. With a CC Search tool, you can find YouTube videos that are openly licensed and can be freely edited.

Music

• The Internet Archive features a free Live Music Archive, Netlabels (freely downloadable/streamable catalogs of "virtual record labels"), the Great 78 Project! (78 rpm records, cylinder recordings, and other recordings from the early 20th century), and music collections for bands like the Grateful Dead.
• PBS offers a range of free shows about music, including Sound Field (exploring music theory, production, history, and culture), Latin Music USA, and the Nuestra Música concert (featuring some of New Mexico’s most renowned musicians).
• The Metropolitan Opera will stream encore presentations from its "Live in HD" series during the coronavirus closure. All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” will begin at 7:30 pm Eastern and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours.
• While concerts are closed due to the coronavirus, the Seattle Symphony will offer live broadcasts. They can be streamed through the symphony’s YouTube and Facebook.
• The International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) / Petrucci Music Library shares the world's public domain music and includes more than 155,000 works.
• Musopen provides recordings, sheet music, and textbooks for free, without copyright restrictions. You can browse by composer, performer, instrument, time period, length and even mood.
• The Public Domain Song Anthology is is free to use, adapt, remix, and share.
• Europeana has a free online collection for music.
• The Library of Congress features online collections of songs and scores, plus song recordings and notated music.
• See TED Talks on topics like music and vocals. Please note the TED Talks Usage Policy, which doesn't allow TED Talks to be edited. If you only want your students to watch a portion of a talk, link to the entire video and say which portion you want students to view (e.g., watch from minutes 1:12 to 2:54).
• James Kibbie's Bach Organ Works features the complete organ works of Johann Sebastian Bach, recorded by Dr. Kibbie on original baroque organs in Germany. You can also watch a video on How a Bach Canon Works. Brilliant.
• All of Bach is a project of the Netherlands Bach Society. It's working to perform and record all 1,080 of Bach's compositions and share them online.
• Visit ccMixter for free music for videos, apps, games, or podcasts. You can also collaborate with other musicians.
• With a CC Search tool, you can find music on Jamendo that's openly licensed.
• YouTube has many videos you can link to for course use. A few caveats: Don't link to obviously pirated material and be aware that YouTube content can disappear. With a CC Search tool, you can find YouTube videos that are openly licensed and can be freely edited.
• While all Pima County Public Library locations are closed, PCPL cardholders can access extensive online resources. (If you don't have a PCPL card, you can now get one by email or phone.) Music resources include Freegal Music and Qello Concerts.

Theatre, Film, & Television

• PBS offers free shows including Crash Course Theater, Theater Talk, and Theater of the Mind Radio Drama.

• See 1,150 Free Movies Online: Great Classics, Indies, Noir, Westerns, etc. (Open Culture)

• The Library of Congress has an online collection of performing arts.
• The Internet Archive features a free Old Time Radio collection.
• Project Gutenberg has a collection of one-act plays in the public domain.
• See TED Talks on topics like film, movies, television, and theater. Please note the TED Talks Usage Policy, which doesn't allow TED Talks to be edited. If you only want your students to watch a portion of a talk, link to the entire video and say which portion you want students to view (e.g., watch from minutes 1:12 to 2:54).
• YouTube has many videos you can link to for course use. A few caveats: Don't link to obviously pirated material and be aware that YouTube content can disappear. With a CC Search tool, you can find YouTube videos that are openly licensed and can be freely edited.
• While all Pima County Public Library locations are closed, PCPL cardholders can access extensive online resources. (If you don't have a PCPL card, you can now get one by email or phone.) Streaming video resources include Acorn TV, IndieFlix Movies and TV, Kanopy Streaming Video (which sometimes has content the UA Libraries' Kanopy subscription doesn't), Library of Congress National Screening Room, OverDrive Movies, and Pongalo Streaming Film (Spanish).