LibGuides: Business: Nonprofits

Websites

Nonprofit Explorer
Use ProPublica's database to search tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as executive compensation, revenue, and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access over 9.6 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.

GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on thousands of IRS-registered nonprofits. GuideStar provides information on the organization's mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, governance, and more. Find different organizations' financial statements, executives' salaries, and other key financial information. Note: You will need to create a free basic account using your arizona.edu email.

The Bridgespan Group
Thought leadership for non-profit sector. Check out the Insights section for articles, reports, non-profit management toolkits, interviews, and a podcast series on equity and justice topics.
Cause IQ
Robust directory for non-profits. Link goes to page specific to Tucson metro area, but directories are available for the whole U.S. You can also search by category/sector.
Charity Navigator
Uses a numbers-based rating system to assess over 8,000 of America's best-known and some lesser known, but worthy, charities.
Giving USA
This data visualization tool provides high-level data on charitable giving in the United States by source (company, individual, etc.) and recipient (type of industry, affiliation). You can filter by year as well as compare contributions to previous years. Other Giving USA resources are restricted to subscribers.
IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search
Search this database with either the EIN or name of the non-profit you are researching to confirm their tax exempt status and eligibility letter. You can also review all filings under the bulk data downloads link. Check the index .csv for each year first to confirm the non-profit is within the bulk filings.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
Provides tools for researching charities and nonprofits.
Nonprofit Insights by Stanford Business
Stanford's Graduate School of Business has research and reports about what's new and trending in the nonprofit world.
Nonprofit Quarterly
Resources from the Institute for Nonprofit News.
The NonProfit Times
Offers resources for nonprofit management.

Library databases

Try using Li brary Search on the library homepage. A tip for using Library Search and other databases: If the nonprofit has more than one word in its title, put it in quotation marks (e.g., "Red Cross") so that the database searches for that exact phrase.

Also try searching databases recommended for researching private companies on the Company Research tab.

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Data Axle Reference Solutions can help users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people. This database has access to millions of US and Canadian businesses, consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. new homeowners.
Historical ReferenceUSA data is available in ReDATA.
IbisWorld This link opens in a new window
Find industry market research from the United States and other countries, including industry reports by NAICS code and specialty reports.
Pivot This link opens in a new window
Find funding opportunities from public agencies and private foundations.
Pivot Accessibility Statement

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Business

Websites

Library databases

Nonprofit Financials

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Business

Websites

Library databases

Nonprofit Financials

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect