LibGuides: Business: Articles and news

What kind of article do I need?

Articles from newspapers, magazines and trade publications as well as press releases from newswires and company headquarters can help bring to light current and forthcoming trends such as product launches, new patents, mergers and acquisitions, and other impactful events.

Scholarly articles from academic journals are useful for exploring deeper analyses of the business and economic landscape that require a peer-review process before existing in the information universe. Scholarly research may help you understand an industry or company's current and historical context as well as economic, social, environmental, and political impacts and drivers.

Article Search Strategies

1. Rely more on keywords and phrases relating to your industry or a top company. When using business databases like Business Source Ultimate or Business Insights Global, you may still incorporate NAICS codes and stock tickers into your search strategy, but these will likely not be successful in interdisciplinary databases like Access World News, ProQuest, and ScienceDirect.

2. For scholarly articles, check to see if the database has an option to filter for Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed sources. Additionally, find a publication or source type filter and select Journals.

Article databases by publication type

News and trade publications
Scholarly journals

Access Business News This link opens in a new window
Access to business and law journals, local and regional business news weeklies and other news sources across North America. 1980-present
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find articles from local (Arizona Daily Star), national, and international newspapers, and news transcripts and video clips; date coverage varies by news source.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Company and industry profiles, company brand information, business rankings, investment reports, and articles from business periodicals; coverage starts 1976 (varies by publication)
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find articles from academic journals and business magazines, as well as company profiles, market research, and industry reports.

EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find news from U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, and legal research.
Note: There is a known bug affecting Nexis Uni profile creation. Off-campus users interested in creating a Nexis Uni profile should use this link. Nexis Uni instructions for screen reader and keyboard only users
Note: May require users to log in with their NetID even on campus.

There is a known bug affecting Nexis Uni profile creation. Off-campus users interested in creating a Nexis Uni profile should use this link.

Nexis Uni instructions for screen reader and keyboard only users
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Includes global and US newsstreams from 1980-present. Access also includes historical and current articles in major US newspapers like The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Note: Does not include Ebook Central, Congressional, or other databases not on search.proquest.com platform.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Find business news and articles from major U.S. metropolitan areas, 1990-present.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
ABI/INFORM Archive This link opens in a new window
Find archival coverage for articles, summaries, and citations in business, management, and marketing, from 1905-1985. ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions

ABI/INFORM Archive This link opens in a new window
Find archival coverage for articles, summaries, and citations in business, management, and marketing, from 1905-1985.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find articles from academic journals and business magazines, as well as company profiles, market research, and industry reports.

EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Find citations and abstracts of economics literature from journals, essays, proceedings, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
INFORMS PubsOnline This link opens in a new window
Articles published by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences focus on the use of information technology and the analysis of systems. UA has access to selected journals, from 1998- present
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search over a hundred ProQuest databases, including journal and magazine collections, current and historical newspapers, dissertations and theses, primary source materials and other databases on the search.proquest.com platform.
Note: Does not include Ebook Central, Congressional, or other databases not on search.proquest.com platform.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find articles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find articles and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Elsevier accessibility features
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Find articles on social sciences, humanities, arts, sciences, business and education.
UA does not subscribe to all content in Taylor & Francis Online.

Magazines and trade publications

Accounting Today
Full-text articles from 1991 to present. Articles published to the web edition of Accounting Today are available from 2002 to present.
Bloomberg.com (full-text PDFs)
Full-text articles from the online version of Businessweek (Bloomberg.com) from 2001 to present. Does not provide access to the website itself, only PDF articles.
Bloomberg Businessweek
Full-text articles from print edition of Businessweek, from 1996 to present.
The Economist
Full-text coverage is from 1988 to present.
Entrepreneur
Full-text coverage from 2003 to present.
Fast Company
Full-text coverage from Nov. 2000 to present.
Forbes
Full-text article coverage from 1990 to present.
Fortune
Access includes archive and full-text coverage from 1930 to present, including digital magazine view (Flipster) from 2014 to present.
Harvard Business Review
Full-text articles from 1922 to present.
Inc.
Full-text coverage from 1990 to present.
Wired
Full-text coverage from 2008 to present.

Daily newspapers

How do I evaluate news articles?

News Literacy: Resources for Evaluating News Sources
Review this guide for strategies on evaluating information and disinformation in the news.

List of selected daily newspapers (A to Z)

Financial Times (London)

Financial Times (London)
Full-text articles from 1999 to 1 month ago, plus historical digitized pages from 1888 to 2010 through Gale Primary Sources Financial Times Historical Archive.
FT.com (full-text PDFs)
Full-text coverage of articles from FT.com from 2001 to 1 month ago. Does not provide access to the website itself, only PDF articles.

The New York Times

Start here to access current articles directly on NYT.com:

New York Times (website) This link opens in a new window
Set up your free account to find current and past articles and most digital content on the NYT website back to 1851.
To set up your free account, type in "University of Arizona" as the institution and follow instructions based on your status. You must use your "@arizona.edu" email address.
If you already have a paid personal account, and you'd like to change it to a free UA-sponsored account, you'll need to cancel your personal account before you can claim your free account. To cancel an existing account, please contact New York Times Customer Care:
Phone: 800-698-4637
Live chat
For problems setting up accounts, email edu@nytimes.com
Students will have access through the end of their graduation year.
Faculty and staff will have access for four years.
Crossword puzzles aren't included.

Look here for full-text PDFs and images of current and historical NYT.com and NYT print articles through library databases:

The New York Times (full-text PDFs)
Includes full-text articles published to print NYT (1980 to present), NYT.com (1996 to present), and NYT Magazine (1997 to present). Also includes book reviews (1988 to present) and The Daily podcast (2019 to present). Does not generally include photos, graphics, etc. that may have accompanied original article.
The New York Times (digitized print edition)
Full-color, digitized copies of NYT print issues from 2008 to 3 months ago. Fully text searchable. Includes images, graphics, etc.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and digitized pages of NYT print issues from 1851 to 2019. Includes articles, advertisements, classified ads, editorial cartoons, announcements, photos, and more.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions

The Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal (full-text PDFs)
Includes full-text articles published to print publication (1985 to present) and WSJ.com (2008 to present). Does not include photos, graphics, etc. that may have accompanied original article.
The Wall Street Journal (digitized print edition)
Full-color, digitized copies of WSJ print issues from 2008 to present. Fully text searchable. Includes images, graphics, etc.

The Washington Post

ProQuest Recent Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Find full page images of articles and other content from the Washington Post from 2008 to 3 months ago.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this major newspaper from the Nation's capital. Provides a unique perspective of US politics and government.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Business

Your Librarian

What kind of article do I need?

What kind of article do I need?

Article Search Strategies

Article databases by publication type

Magazines and trade publications

Daily newspapers

How do I evaluate news articles?

List of selected daily newspapers (A to Z)

Financial Times (London)

The New York Times

The Wall Street Journal

The Washington Post

Looking for another publication?

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Business

What kind of article do I need?

What kind of article do I need?

Article Search Strategies

Article databases by publication type

Magazines and trade publications

Daily newspapers

How do I evaluate news articles?

List of selected daily newspapers (A to Z)

Financial Times (London)

The New York Times

The Wall Street Journal

The Washington Post

Looking for another publication?

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect