Skip to main content

Business

Databases for Industry Research

Great places to start

IBISWorld Find industry market research from the United States, including industry reports by NAICS code and specialty reports.
Orbis Search by NAICS or other industry classification.  Limit by country or region to see a list of companies that are active in the industry,  How do I use this database?  Tutorial
Business Insights: Essentials See the Industries tab for industry overviews and market share reports. You can search by NAICS code or industry name.
ABI/INFORM Collection Find articles, summaries, and citations in business, management, and marketing.
Business Source Ultimate Find articles from academic journals and business magazines, as well as company profiles, market research, and industry reports. How do I use this database?  BSU Tutorial
Mintel Academic Find market research reports on consumer products, services, and lifestyles. Each report describes the economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Reports cover consumer markets in the USA and Europe. How do I use this database?  Mintel Tutorial
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) Find newspaper articles, business profiles, patents, and legal research from across the globe.
CB Insights This market intelligence platform analyzes millions of data points on venture capital, startups, patents, partnerships, and news mentions to help you see tomorrow's opportunities, today. To use this database, you'll need to set up a free account with your UA email.
Value Line

Browse for industry analyses.

More focused searches

Frost & Sullivan If you're researching a high-tech industry, this is a great resource.
BCC Research This database focuses on industries related to science and technology, health care, food, the environment, and safety/security.

Advanced tools

See the Tutorials tab for quick lessons on how to use these powerful tools:

Euromonitor's Passport You'll need to accept the terms of use before searching (scroll down and select Accept). In the black bar at the top of the home page, select Industries. Research industry trends in the U.S. and worldwide.
BizMiner BizMiner is a great tool for making business projections. It provides industry financial profiles, micro firm profit-loss reports, industry market reports (down to the ZIP code), and a Competitive Market Analyzer (also down to the ZIP code).