LibGuides: Business: Demographic and economic data

Business patterns and workforce data

Bizminer

Access granular industry statistical reports. Includes industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.

Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) - Current Population Survey
A monthly survey conducted by BLS and the Bureau of Census. Contains information on demographics, labor force characteristics, employment and unemployment, hours of work, and earnings.
Business Trends and Outlook Survey (BTOS)
Find key data and trends on current and future economic and business conditions at state and major metropolitan areas for sectors and sub-sectors (2-3-digit NAICS codes). New data released every 2 weeks. Includes visualizations, data downloads, and API access. Survey now includes questions on the business impact of extreme weather events.
Census Business Builder
This new tool provides key demographic and economic data to help entrepreneurs start a new business or expand an existing one. See tips on how to use this database.
County Business Patterns (Census.gov)
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for establishments with paid employees by industry and employment size.
Economic Census
Released every 5 years (years ending in 2 and 7). Find data by industry, including # of establishments, employee and payroll statistics, and total sales.
Nonemployer (sole proprietor) Statistics by Demographics (NES-D)
Part of the Annual Business Survey (ABS) Program, these tables provide demographic information of nonemployer businesses, or businesses with no paid employees (sole proprietor).

Population data

The U.S. Census Bureau is a great source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Their Quick Facts might provide what you need, but you can also access specific Census surveys, databases that pull Census data, or additional sources of demographic data.

Census Data - Main Search
Explore Census data on the U.S. population, places (by country, state, county, city, zip, tract, etc.), and economies. Topics include housing, poverty, education, and more.
U.S. Census QuickFacts
Ready-made data table with quick statistics about the U.S. population, businesses, and geographies. Narrow your search to a state, county, city, town, or zip-code, too. Data available for places with a population of at least 5,000.
Data USA
Visualizations, reports, and maps of publicly available US government data on topics relating to employment, job skills, and education. Joint venture by Deloitte and Datawheel.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook
Collected by the United Nations Statistics Division.

PolicyMap

U.S. national data, GIS mapping tool and analytics platform with data related to demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, federal income-eligible areas, money and income, lending activity, jobs and economy, education, health and more. Now includes Claritas Prizm market segmentation data - find under Curated Collections.

Data can be viewed by census block or tract in many cases, and city, county, zip code, state as well as congressional district, school district, state house and state senate districts.
PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts, and reports. Unlimited address-based data can be uploaded for use in PolicyMap.
Social Explorer
Provides easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information for the United States. Explore data layers like age, income, household structure, and more on the U.S. Map, or check out the Demographic Profiles section to explore population profiles by state, city, or zip code.
Mergent Intellect
Below the main search box, find and open the Demographics portal for reports and data at the zip-code, city, and county levels. Content includes household income, average house value, and population facts and trends. To download demographic reports and data: From the results table, select the file icons (they will be highlighted with a box after selection) and enter your email. You will be emailed links to the selected documents.

Specific Census Surveys and Programs

American Community Survey
This nationwide survey is designed to provide communities with a fresh look at how they're changing. The latest data available is from 2016.
Decennial Census
The survey that comes to mind most often when you hear about "The Census", the Decennial Census Survey collects data every 10 years about households, income, education, homeownership, and more for the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The latest data available is from 2020.
Population and Housing Unit Estimates (Census.gov)
Publishes estimated population totals for the previous year for cities and towns, metropolitan areas, counties, stations, and the nation. Datasets come out on a rolling basis throughout the year according to a set schedule, with state, US, and Puerto Rico Commonwealth estimates available in December of the given year followed by county and metropolitan data. Check Schedule to determine the most current available dataset for the data you need.

Help with Census data

Which Census survey should I use?
Use the Census Survey Explorer tool to browse surveys or censuses by topic, geography, and frequency (year).
Census Academy
Trainings, help guides, and webinars for how to best use Census.gov tools.
FAQs on the Census
Answers on the Census itself as well as the data tools available.

Arizona economic and census data

Arizona Census Profile
Arizona Regional Economic Analysis Project
This site's tools let you examine and assess changing economic conditions and trends of counties or regions within Arizona.
Greater Phoenix Blue Chip
Offers forecasts by a panel of experts who track construction and general economic trends for the Phoenix metro area. Forecast tables and the consensus outlook are updated quarterly. Forecasts for Phoenix income, population, employment, and retail sales are also available.
Interactive maps for Arizona and the Phoenix area
The Maricopa Association of Governments offer interactive maps of demographic, employer, land use, transportation, and socioeconomic data. Some maps (demographic and employer data) are available for the whole state of Arizona, while others are limited to Pinal and Maricopa counties.
Western Blue Chip Economic Forecast
Features economic forecasts for Arizona and 11 other Western states. Data include personal income, retail sales, wage and salary employment, population growth, and single-family housing permits. Individual forecasts and the consensus for the current year and the year ahead are updated monthly.

Census QuickFacts

QuickFacts offer statistics on population, age, gender, ethnicity, homeownership, education, income, retail sales, and more.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Business: Demographic and economic data

Business patterns and workforce data

Population data

Specific Census Surveys and Programs

Help with Census data

Arizona economic and census data

Census QuickFacts

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Business: Demographic and economic data

Business patterns and workforce data

Population data

Specific Census Surveys and Programs

Help with Census data

Arizona economic and census data

Census QuickFacts

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect