Microforms

This is an index of the library's 18th and 19th century U.S. history microfilms and microfiche. For location info, see using microforms.

Guides are usually on top of the cabinet above their respective microforms unless stated otherwise.

Abolition & Emancipation
Micro- film 7694

• Pt. 1: Papers of Thomas Clarkson, William Lloyd Garrison, Zachary Macaulay, Harriet Martineau, Harriet Beecher Stowe & William Wilberforce from the Huntington Library
• Pt. 2: Slavery collections from the Merseyside Maritime Museum, Liverpool
• Pt. 3: Slavery collections from the Merseyside Maritime Museum, Liverpool
• Pt. 4: The Granville Sharp papers from Gloucestershire Record Office

AFL and CIO pamphlets, 1889-December 1955, held in the AFL-CIO library
Micro- film 4730

Afro-American History Series
Micro- fiche 1401

• v. 1: Black thought in early America
• v. 2: Slave narratives
• v. 3: The black intellectual
• v. 4: Pioneer drama and poetry
• v. 5: Convention pamphlets
• v. 6: Black voices, nineteenth century
• v. 7-8: Slave narratives
• v. 9-10: Miscellaneous writings

American Culture Series, 1493-1875
Micro- film 3500
Guide: E 156 .A583

American Indian Correspondence: the Presbyterian Historical Society collection of missionaries' letters, 1833-1893 
Micro- film 6418
Guide E98M6A43 1992, Main Reference

The American Missionary, 1846-1934 
Micro- film 4954

The American Missionary Association Archives

• Alabama, 1850-1885: Micro- film 5063
• Georgia, 1860-1882: Micro- film 5064
• South Carolina, 1860-1880: Micro- film 5065
• South Dakota, 1872-1883: Micro- film 5065
• Tennessee, 1835-1905: Micro- film 5066 A

American Periodical Series, 1850-1900
Micro- film 2084
Index: Z6951 H65, Main Reference

A Birdseye View of Indian Policy: Historic and Contemporary
Micro- fiche 1516

Black Culture Collection from Atlanta University
Micro- film 7318
Guide: GN 645 .B42 1972, Main Reference

Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands. (United States) Records of the Assistant Commissioner for the State of:

• Alabama, 1865-1870: Micro-film 4608
• Arkansas, 1865-1870: Micro-film 6245
• Georgia, 1865-1870: Micro-film 4612
• Mississippi, 1865-1969: Micro-film 4610
• South Carolina: Micro-film 4611
• Tennessee (selected records from the field office): Micro-film 4609

Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1871. Records Of The Education Division 
Micro-film 4908

Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1870. Records Of The Education for the State of Alabama
Micro-film 4614

Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1870. Records Of The Education for the State of Georgia
Micro-film 4613

Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands. Registers and letters received by the Commissioner of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872
Micro-film 3532

C.I.S. Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909 
Index Z1223.Z7 C64 1990, Main Reference

C.I.S. Index to Unpublished U.S. House of Representatives Committee Hearings, 1833-1954 
KF40.C54 1992, Main Reference

Despatches from United States Consuls in: 
Note: All the guides listed are pamphlets.

• Acapulco, 1823-1906: Micro- film 472; Guide: GS 4.20:M143
• Aguascalientes, 1901-1906: Micro- film 1292; Guide GS 4.20:M285
• Algiers, 1785-1906: Micro- film 7387
• Camargo, 1870-1880: Micro- film 1290; Guide GS 4.20:M288
• Campeche, 1820-1880: Micro- film 1293; Guide GS 4.20:M286
• Chihuahua, 1826-1906: Micro- film 1282; Guide: GS 4.20:M289
• Ciudad del Carmen, 1830-1872: Micro- film 1300; Guide: GS 4.20:M308
• Ciudad Juarez (Paso del Norte), 1850-1906: Micro- film 1003
• Durango, 1886-1906: Micro- film 1298; Guide: GS 4.20:M290
• Ensenada, 1888-1906: Micro- film 1297; Guide: GS 4.20:M291
• Guaymas, 1832-1896: Micro- film 1001; Guide: GS 4.20:M284
• Guerrero, 1871-1888: Micro- film 1296; Guide: GS 4.20:M292
• Hermosillo, 1905-1906: Micro- film 1295; Guide: GS 4.20:M293
• Jalapa Enriquez, 1905-1906: Micro- film 1299; Guide: GS 4.20:M294
• La Paz, 1855-1906: Micro- film 1237; Guide: GS 4.20:M282
• Matamoros, 1826-1906: Micro- film 1002; Guide: 4.20:M281
• Mazatlan, 1826-1906: Micro- film 469; Guide: GS 4.20:M159
• Merida, 1843-1897: Micro- film 1281; Guide: GS 4.20:M287
• Mexico City, 1822-1906: Micro- film 1287; Guide: GS 4.20:M296
• Mier, 1870-1878: Micro- film 1276; Guide: GS 4.20:M297
• Minatitlan, 1853-1881: Micro- film 1277; Guide: GS 4.20:M298
• Monterey, 1834-1848: Micro- film 471
• Monterey, 1849-1906: Micro- film 468; Guide: GS 4.20:M165
• Nogales, 1889-1906: Micro- film 1236; Guide: GS 4.20:M283
• Nuevo Laredo, 1871-1906: Micro- film 470 Guide: GS 4.20:M 280
• Oaxaca, 1869-1878: Micro- film 1289; Guide: GS 4.20:M328
• Piedras Negras, 1868-1881: Micro- film 1278
• Saltillo, 1876-1906: Micro- film 1305; GS 4.20:M300
• San Blas, 1837-1892: Micro- film 1304; GS 4.20:M301
• San Dimas, 1871-1973: Micro- film 1288: Guide: GS 4.20:M442
• San Luis Potosi, 1869-1886: Micro- film 1303; Guide: GS 4.20:M302
• Santa Fe, 1830-1846: Micro- film 1291
• Tabasco, 1830-1874: Micro- film 1280; Guide: GS 4.20:M303
• Tampico, 1824-1906: Micro- film 1235; Guide: GS 4.20:M328 p
• Tehuantepec, 1850-1867: Micro- film 1302; Guide: GS 4.20:M305
• Tenerife, 1795-1906: Micro- film 7014
• Tetuan, 1877-1888: Micro- film 7380
• Tunis, 1797-1906: Micro- film 7386
• Tuxpan, 1879-1906: Micro- film 1294; Guide: GS 4.20:M306
• Veracruz, 1822-1906: Micro- film 467; Guide: GS 4.20:M183
• Zacatecas, 1860-1884: Micro- film 1301

Despatches from United States Ministers to:

• Colombia, 1820-1906: Micro- film 1466
• Liberia, 1863-1906: Micro- film 7452
• Mexico, 1823-1906: Micro- film 466; Guide: GS 4.20:M 197 (pamphlet)
• Morocco, 1905-1906: Micro- film 7384
• Russia, 1808-1906: Micro- film 7017

Detroit Copper Mining Company, May 1897 to August 1912 [Journals, payrolls, time records, and ore and freight records of a mining company operating in the Clifton-Morenci area of Arizona]
Micro- film 2957

Early American Periodicals Index to 1850
Micro- fiche 444

Great Britain. Foreign Office General Correspondence before 1906: United States of America, series 1, 1782-1795 
Micro- film 7087

Henry A. Wallace Papers at the University of Iowa, 1888-1965 
Micro- film 5098

Herald of Freedom (Wilmington, Ohio: 1851-1855)
Micro- film 7697

Heroes and Renegades of the West 
Micro- film 3980

Illustrations of the West in Congressional Documents, 1843-1863 
Micro- fiche 627

Indian, Pioneer Papers, 1860-1935
Micro- fiche 1169

Indian Rights Association. Papers, 1868-1968
Micro- film 7018
Guide: E93.I418, Main Reference

The John Muir Papers, 1838-1914

• Micro- film 7126
• Micro- fiche 1336, Science-Engineering Library

Journal of the Congress of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865
Micro- fiche 72

Lake Mohonk Conference on the Indian. Report. 1883-1916 
Micro- fiche 523

Letters sent, Benicia Arsenal, 1861-1866: Records of the Office of the Chief of Ordnance (California) 
Micro- film 6659

The Lowell Offering; A Repository of Original Articles, Written Exclusively by Females Actively Employed in the Mills, 1840-1842 (aka The Lowell Offering and Magazine, 1842-1843)

• Micro- fiche 209
• Micro- fiche 796
• Micro- film 3299 675

A Microfiche Inventory of the Papers of Grenville Clark, as preserved within the Library of Dartmouth College
Micro- fiche 273

The Native Americans Reference Collection: Documents collected by the Office of Indian Affairs
Micro- film 7413

• Pt. 1: 1840-1900
• Pt. 2: 1901-1948

Nineteenth Century Southern Political Leaders. Series A, Holdings of the Virginia Historical Society
Micro- film 7653

The Papers of Aaron Burr, 1756-1836
Micro- film 4721

The Papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D.: Including the Papers of Maria Keller Montezuma Moore and the Papers of Joseph W. Latimer
Micro- film 6709

The Papers of R.M.T. Hunter, 1817-1887 
Micro- film 2202

Philip Mazzei: The Comprehensive Microform Edition of His Papers, 1730-1816
Micro- film 7057

Pamphlets in American History (1820-1970)
Micro- fiche 621 
Guide: Z 1236.P27, Main and Main Reference

• Group I: Biography (General), Indians, Revolutionary War, Revolutionary War biography, Women
• Group II: Civil liberties, Tariffs, Labor

Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Board of Foreign Missions. Missions correspondence and reports: India
Micro- film 7110

Presidential Executive Orders, 1845-1907
Micro- film 7645, reel 1

Proceedings and speeches on the announcement of the death of Hon. William M. Cooke, of Missouri: in the House of Representatives of the Confederate States, on the 18th of April, 1863
Micro- fiche 621 B 494

Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1968
Micro- film 4806

Proceedings of the Republican National Convention, 1856-1968
Micro- film 4805

Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War 
Micro- film 7573

• Series C: Selections from Holdings of the Library of Congress
  • Pt. 1: Virginia
  • Pt. 2: Alabama
• Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library    
  • Pt. 1: The Deep South
  • Pt. 2: South Carolina and Georgia
  • Pt. 3: North Carolina, Maryland and Virginia
• Series G: Selections from the Barker Texas History Center, the University of Texas at Austin
  • Pt. 1: Texas and Louisiana Collection
  • Pt. 2: William Massie Collection
• Series H: Selections from the Howard-Tilton Library, Tulane University, and the Louisiana State Museum Archives

Records of the British Colonial Office, class 5
Micro- film 6744 and guide

• Pt. 1. Westwood [i.e. Westward] expansion, 1700-1783
• Pt. 2. The Board of Trade, 1660-1782
• Pt. 3. The French and Indian War, 1754-1763
• Pt. 4. Royal instructions and commissions to Colonial officials, 1702-1784
• Pt. 5. The American Revolution, 1772-1784

The Reminiscences of Henry Wallace
Micro- film 5099

Robert Goodloe Harper [papers]
Micro- fiche 621 B 968

Senate Executive Documents and Reports, 1818-1969 (15th Congress to 91st Congress)
Micro- fiche 1416

7th U.S. Cavalry muster rolls, Aug. 31, 1866 - Dec. 31, 1884
Micro- film 7651

• Roll 1 & 2: Field staff and band to Troop E
• Roll 3 & 4: Troop F to Troop K
• Roll 5 & 6: Troop L to Troop M. Muster rolls, 1876

Slavery in Ante-Bellum Southern Industries

• Series A, private papers and industry: Micro- film 7364
• Series B, social and economic conditions: Micro- film 7365
• Series C, mining & smelting: Micro- film 7482

Southern Historical Society Papers
Micro- film 2084, reels 309-313

Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century, papers and diaries. Series E, Holdings of the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley collections, Louisiana State University Libraries 
Micro- film 7656

Southern women and their families in the 19th Century, papers and diaries. Series F, Holdings of the Center for American History, the University of Texas at Austin
Micro- film 7557

State Constitutional Conventions, from Independence to the Completion of the Present Union, 1776-1959
Micro- fiche 147

• Series I: Conventions in the Thirteen Original States
• Series II: From Thirteen to Thirty-three; Admissions to the Union before the Civil War
• Series III: Completing the Present Union; The Seventeen Admissions, 1861-1959

Strike Files of the US Department of Justice. Part 1 Pullman Company Strike of 1894 - strikes began in 1920
Micro- film 7411

U.S. Army Infantry Division, 1st [Departmental orders, general order books, histories, letters, etc. of the 1st Infantry Regiment, U.S. Army, 1800s]
Micro- film 3983

The Vicksburg Daily Times (1866-1871)
Micro- film 3343

Calendar of Virginia State Papers and other Manuscripts...preserved in the Capital of Richmond...1652-1869
Micro- fiche 74

Wheeler Survey Views American West, 1871-1874 
Micro- film 7150

Witchcraft in Early New England
Micro- film 7498 and guide

Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College

• Series 1; Woman's suffrage: Micro- film 7406
• Series 2; Women in national politics: Micro- film 7407
• Series 3; Sexuality, sex education, and reproductive rights: Micro- film 7408