Microforms

This is an index to the library's newspapers published in Arizona.

Microforms and current newspaper issues are on the Main Library's third floor. Newspapers on microfilm without a specific call number are in alphabetical order in the newspaper microfilm cabinets. 

See the Library of Congress's Chronicling America for more U.S. newspapers.

MF= Microfilm; MFC=Microfiche

Ajo

Ajo Centennial: 1854-1954
L9791 A31 A3, Special Collections

Ajo Copper News: 1854-1954
L9791 A31 A3, Special Collections

Benson

San Pedro Valley News-Sun: 1971-72
L9791 B474 S19, Special Collections Oversize

Bisbee

Bisbee Daily Review: 1901-15, 1923-25, 1927-28, 1932, 1935, 1940, 1948-49
MF 4528

Casa Grande

Casa Grande Dispatch: 1914-70
MF 4854

Casa Grande Valley Dispatch: 1914-18
MF 4854

Clifton

Copper Era

• 1901-1905: MF 4505

Douglas

Daily Dispatch: September 1998-present
Available online at newspaper's website

Daily International - American: 1904-08
MF 4916

Douglas Daily Dispatch: 1903-39
MF 4917

Douglas Daily International: 1909-15
MF 4916

Douglas Dispatch: 1902-03, 1965-66
MF 4917

Douglas Weekly International: 1918-19
MF 4916

Eloy

Eloy Enterprise: 1947-70
MF 4482

Flagstaff

Arizona Daily Sun

• 1946-present: MF

Globe

Arizona Silver Belt: 1878-1930, 1933-35, 1945, 1947, 1949-60
MF 4484

Jerome

Arizona Mining News: 1897
MF 1198

Jerome Chamber of Commerce News Bulletin: 1935-36
MF 1198

Jerome Chronicle: 1965-93
F819.J4 N38, Special Collections

Jerome Daily News: 1898
MF 1198

Jerome Mining News: 1897-1906
MF 1198

Jerome News: 1914-18
MF 1198

Jerome News and Copper Belt: 1912-14
MF 1198

Jerome News (Mining): 1906-12
MF 1198

Jerome Reporter: 1899-1901
MF 1198

Jerome Sun: 1916-18
MF 1198

Verde Copper News: 1917-34
MF 1198

Verde District Shopping News: 1938, 1940, 1942
MF 1198

Kingman

Kingman Daily Miner: 1974-83, 1990-present
MF

Mesa

Mesa Tribune
(Note: Renamed East Valley Tribune in 2000. Formed from The Mesa Tribune, the Tempe Daily News, the Scottsdale Progress, and the Chandler Arizonan.)

• 1898-1978 (front pages only): PN4899.M355 M4, Main Oversize
• 1898-1978 (front pages only): L9791 M57 F935, Special Collections Oversize
• 2001-present: Available online at newspaper's website

Miami

Arizona Silver Belt: 1878-1909, 1933-35, 1945, 1947, 1949-60
MF 4484

Daily Arizona Silver Belt: 1878-1930, 1933-35, 1947, 1949-60
MF 4484

Nogales

Nogales International: 1925-81, 1985, 1989-present
MF

Oasis: 1893-1914
MF 4485

Phoenix

Arizona Capitol Times: 1983 -1998
MF 6642

Arizona Gazette: 1880-1928
MF

Arizona Informant: v.4-6, 1972-1973; 11-25, 1979-1993
E185.5 .A75, Special Collections

Arizona Labor Journal: 1925-1945
MF 4486

Arizona Republic: 1930-2010
MF

Arizona Republican: 1890-1930
MF

Daily Enterprise: 1898-1906
MF 6501

The Enterprise: 1898
MF 6501

Phoenix Enterprise: 1898-1906
MF 6501

Phoenix Gazette: 1880-1996
Other title: Phoenix Evening Gazette
MF 

Territorial Expositor: 1879
MF 79

Poston (Japanese Internment Camp Papers)

Official Daily Press Bulletin: 1942
MF 4720

Official Information Bulletin: 1942
MF 4720

Poston Chronicle: 1942-45
MF 4720

Poston Official Daily Press Bulletin: 1942
MF 4720

Poston Official Information Bulletin: 1942
MF 4720

Prescott

Arizona Daily Miner: 1866-75, 1878-81
MF 4491

Arizona Journal Miner: 1881-1912
MF 4491

Arizona Miner: 1864-68
MF 4633

Arizona Weekly Journal-Miner: 1864-1912
MF 4633

Arizona Weekly Miner: 1874-77
MF 4633

Prescott Evening Courier: 1965-68
MF 4490

Prescott Journal Miner: 1912
MF 4491

Prescott Weekly Courier: 1897-1906
MF 4630

Weekly Arizona Journal-Miner: 1864-1912
MF 4633

Weekly Journal-Miner: 1908-12
MF 4633

Westward (Prescott Courier): v.1-10, 1974-83
HC9791 Y35 P929, Special Coll Oversize

Rivers (News Office, Gila River Relocation Center, 1942-45)

Gila Bulletin: v.1-4, 1942-45
WP9791 G463, Special Collections Oversize

Gila News Courier: v.1-4, 1942-45
WP9791 G463, Special Collections Oversize

Safford

Arizona Bulletin: 1889-1918
MF 4631

Eastern Arizona Courier
Current issues

San Manuel

San Manuel Miner: 1953-1970
MF 4487

Scottsdale

Scottsdale Progress Tribune
see Mesa Tribune

St. John

St. John's Herald: 1885-1902, 1906-12
MF 2773

Tempe

Tempe Daily News Tribune
see Mesa Tribune

Tombstone

Arizona Kicker: 1898
MF 4492

The Daily Nugget: 1880, 1882
MF 3374

Daily Record-Epitaph: 1885
MF 4492

Daily Tombstone: 1885
MF 4492

Daily Tombstone Epitaph: 1885-87
MF 4492

The Tombstone: 1885
MF 4492

Tombstone Daily Epitaph: 1882, 1884, 1887, 1889-90
MF 4492

Tombstone Daily Nugget: 1881-82
MF 3374 & 4492

Tombstone Daily Prospector: 1914-1924
MF 4492

Tombstone Epitaph: 1880-1924
MF 4492

Tombstone Prospector: 1914-1924
MF 4492

Tombstone Weekly Epitaph: 1882
MF 4492

The Weekly Nugget

• 1879: MF 4492
• 1880: MF 3375

Tubac

Weekly Arizonian: 1859-1871
MF 800

Tucson

Arizona Citizen: 1870-1880
MF 4488

Arizona Daily Citizen: 1884-1901
See Tucson Citizen

Arizona Daily Star

• 1879-80, 1882-present: MF
• 1991-present: Available online at Access World News
• Current issues

Arizona Daily Star - Special Tabloid Editions: 1935-1947
MF 35

Arizona Daily Wildcat

• 1911-1982: MF
• 1965-1987: MFC 1343, Main Library & Special Collections
• v.56-79, 1965-1986: MF 1343, Special Collections
• 1994-present: Available online at The Daily Wildcat
• Current issues

Arizona Gay News: 1977-1982
MF 6502

Arizona Life: 1913-1915
MFC 1343

Arizona Post: 1946-1981

• MF 6315 
• R9791 T89 A719, Special Collections Oversize

Arizona Star: 1877-1899
MF 4489

Arizona Weekly Citizen: 1880-1910
MF 4488

Arizona Weekly Life: 1911-1912
MFC 1343

Arizona Weekly Star

• 1877-88, 1891-99: MF 4489
• 1877-1882: Available online in America's Historical Newspapers

Arizona Wildcat: 1915-1965
MFC 1343

Daily Arizona Citizen: 1879-1880
See Tucson Citizen

El Fronterizo: 1926-1929
MF 2838

El Independiente: 1976-2010
Earlier title: South Tucson's El Independiente
AN1 .I53, Special Collections

El Mosquito: 1919-23, 1925
MF 3366

Tucson Citizen: 1901-2009
MF

El Tucsonense: 1915-1957
MF 2863
1915-1957, 1959: F819.T9 T836, Special Collections Oversize

Tucson Weekly: 1984-current

• F819.T9 T825, Special Collections Oversize
• Available online at Tucson Weekly

University Life: 1912-1913
MFC 1343

Weekly Arizonan: 1859-1871
MF 800

Willcox

Arizona Range News
Current issues

Window Rock

Navajo Times: 1959-1984, 1987-present
MF 6457

Navajo Times Today: 1984-1987
MF 6457

Winslow

Hopi Action News: 1966-1972
MF 6949