LibGuides: Eller MBA: Market research & ad rates

Consumer and market research

American Satisfaction Consumer Index
The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Access granular industry statistical reports. Includes industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.

Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS.gov)
Data is collected by the U.S. Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics through an Interview Survey and Diary Survey.

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Create lists of consumers by geographic and demographic characteristics.
Euromonitor's Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data for the last 15 years, and forecasts out to at least 5 years. Passport data is completely cross-country comparable.

Market Share Reporter
Market Share Reporter is available in the Gale Business: Insights database, and features market share reports for brand-name products and companies. Use the "Search Within" option on the right-side of the search results to search by company, brand name, keyword, or NAICS code. Market share is shown as a percent of total industry or product sales for a specific period.

MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Reports from several market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing and other markets and industries.
Mintel Academic Market Research This link opens in a new window
For consumer behavior and market reports, use the search bar and filters found on the main page. Use the Category filter for selecting a specific product line, service, or sector. Use the Content Types results filter to find Reports (most comprehensive). Covers US markets with limited new coverage of select UK, Canada and Latin American markets. To download reports and charts, create a login with your UA email following the instructions in this guide.

Pew Research Center
Browse datasets and surveys, including Roper iPoll surveys, religious landscapes, political typology, and more.

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Explore data and research under the Market Analysis section, such as Emerging Spaces and Market Size Estimates. Note: You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database. For problems logging into an existing account, visit arizona.pitchbook.com, click on "Create an account" link, enter your arizona.edu email address, then click on the link in the email you receive and reset your password. Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database.

For problems logging into an existing account, visit arizona.pitchbook.com, click on "Create an account" link, enter your arizona.edu email address, then click on the link in the email you receive and reset your password.
Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find articles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors. Check out the Insights tab for Market and Consumer Insights.
WGSN Fashion Trend Forecasting & Analysis This link opens in a new window
WGSN's comprehensive research and analysis service provides for every stage of the product development life cycle. Trends are tracked and analysed from their earliest emergence right through to the products driving retail and e-tail today.
Use UA's proxied link above to browse WGSN and access content within UA's subscription.
Interested in creating a WGSN account? Use this proxied link to create a WGSN account.
Once a WGSN account is created, log in via an unproxied link directly at: https://www.wgsn.com/mywgsn

Campaigns and advertising tools

WARC.com This link opens in a new window
New! WARC (World Advertising Research Centre) is a database primarily focusing on reviewing marketing campaigns and efforts. It contains marketing analyses, case studies, marketing strategy training, video content, and award information.
Winmo This link opens in a new window
In addition to data on companies (ad spend, media types, brands) and advertising agencies, explore the Creative Library (off the main menu) to search an archive of brand and public ads in a variety of formats.
SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service This link opens in a new window
Useful tool for building a marketing mix strategy. Find ad rates for more than 100,000 U.S. and international media outlets (direct marketing, websites, newspapers, etc.). Try searching for a media outlet (e.g. Arizona Daily Star) to view the details on subscription counts and ad rates. You can also browse for media based on parameters. The DEI tab allows you to filter by target audience to better reach marginalized or underrepresented populations.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Can help with creating marketing plans, calculating market size, conducting competitive analysis, and raising funds. It also acts as a directory for businesses and consumers.

Market research ebooks

Handbook of Market Research by Christian Homburg; Martin Klarmann; Arnd Vomberg
ISBN: 9783319574134
Publication Date: 2022
Data-Driven Marketing Content by Lee Wilson
ISBN: 9781789738186
Publication Date: 2019-06-19
Data-Driven Marketing Content: A Practical Guide empowers businesses, regardless of industry, size, or competition level, to understand, identify and act on big-data opportunities.
A Concise Guide to Market Research
Publication Date: 2014
The Handbook of Mobile Market Research
Publication Date: 2014
Note: You will need to log in with UA NetID to access this ebook.
Market Research in Practice
Publication Date: 2013
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Market Research
Publication Date: 2012
The Rise of Marketing and Market Research
Publication Date: 2012
Note: You will need to log in with UA NetID to access this ebook.
Conducting Market Research for International Business
Publication Date: 2009

Use library search to find more ebooks on market research.

Pima County Public Library resources

The Pima County Public Library (PCPL) has a wealth of business-related information on its website. Some resources (like the useful Business Plans Handbooks) require a PCPL card for online access. To get a library card, visit any PCPL branch (the Joel Valdez Main Library and Himmel Park Library are closest to the UA campus).

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Eller MBA

Consumer and market research

Campaigns and advertising tools

Market research ebooks

Pima County Public Library resources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Eller MBA

Consumer and market research

Campaigns and advertising tools

Market research ebooks

Pima County Public Library resources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect