Special Collections: Research Guides

We offer access to rare and unique materials for scholars, researchers, and the public.

Questions? Contact us.

See also How to find and use collections.

These guides are created by our staff specialists to help you with your research.

The Borderlands are both geographical and cultural spaces. This fluid space between worlds is a place of cultural wealth that hosts several communities.

Black History in the Borderlands

This libguide, one of many centered on the people of the Borderlands, looks at the experiences of Black people in the Borderlands, from Baja, California to Tamaulipas, Mexico.

Indigenous History in the Borderlands

This libguide, one of many centered on the people of the Borderlands, looks at the experiences of federally recognized Indigenous communities in the Borderlands, from California to Texas, and Baja California to Tamaulipas, Mexico.

Asian & Asian American History in the Borderlands

This libguide, one of many centered on the people of the Borderlands, looks at the experiences of Asian & Asian American people in the Borderlands, from California to Texas, and Baja California to Tamaulipas, Mexico.

Mexican & Mexican American History in the Borderlands

This libguide, one of many centered on the people of the Borderlands, looks at the experiences of Mexican & Mexican American people in the Borderlands, from California to Texas, and Baja California to Tamaulipas, Mexico. 

Primary Resources on Jewish History in Arizona and the Southwest

Until recently, little has been written documenting the pioneer Jewish experience. U. S. Southwestern history has traditionally focused on the contributions of Native Americans, and people whose ancestral roots are in Mexico and Europe. Jewish pioneers not only built Jewish communities, but that they also made significant contributions to the development of the U. S. Southwest.

OSIRUS REx: Primary resources of the mission

A NASA mission led by Primary Investigator, Dante Lauretta of the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory in collaboration with Goddard Space Flight Center and Lockheed Martin.

This is a born-digital collection with online access through the University of Arizona Libraries Campus Repository. This collection is ongoing. Included in the collection are mission notes and summaries from the OSIRIS-REx Mission.

Primary Sources on Performing Arts

Special Collections is home to a wide array of materials related to the performing arts, including archival collections, photographs, books, recordings, pamphlets and ephemera. Specific areas covered include theater, vaudeville, music, dance and film.

Sanctuary: Who Belongs Here? The Search for Homeland on the U.S.-Mexico Border

This guide accompanies the exhibition Sanctuary: Who Belongs Here? The Search for Homeland on the U.S.-Mexico Border, 1848-Today, held January 8 to August 9, 2024.

This exhibition looks at the borderlands through the lens of sanctuary. It asks who has historically been included, who has been excluded, and who has fought for their right and the rights of others to be here. 

University of Arizona History

Special Collections specializes in documenting the history of the university from its founding to 1958.