Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

My NCBI Tools & the NIH Biosketch: Step 2 My Bibliography

Instructions for investigators to create a new NIH Biosketch

What is NCBI?

 

The National Center for Biotechnology Information provides access to NLM databases and supports customized services from MyNCBI, including My Bibliography & SciENcv.

To log in, go to PubMed from the AHSL website

  • Click on My NCBI in the upper right corner 
  • Sign in with your eRA Commons username & password 
  • If no eRA Commons account, register/sign in with NCBI login
  • If applicable, add delegate(s) to the account. Delegates should use their NCBI login

Step 2 Build My Bibliography

 

How to build My Bibliography

My Bibliography is designed to store & manage citations of your scholarly work.
Start to b
uild My Bibliography by clicking on "Add Citation" to:

  1. search PubMed & import citations with the "Send to" function
  2. manually input non-PubMed citations using structured formats

What scholarly works can be added to My Bibliography?

  • Journal articles
    • from PubMed
    • from journals not indexed in PubMed
  • Citations not yet appearing in PubMed
  • Manuscripts submitted to NIHMS
  • Book chapters
  • Talks / Presentations / Grand Rounds
  • Patents
  • Other materials

How do I find my articles in PubMed?

  • In My Bibliography, click on "Add Citation"
  • Default is to search PubMed--click on "Go to PubMed"
  • Click on "Advanced Search," then change search field from keyword to author
  • Type in last name with one or two initials (full names will only search back to 2001)
  • Review search results and click in the boxes next to citations for your articles
  • Click on "Send to" and select My Bibliography, then save

What can My Bibliography do?

  • Provide citations for use within SciENcv & the biosketch
  • Link citations to PubMed & full text
  • Share a public link to all your published work 
  • Assist in managing compliance with NIH Public Access Policy
  • Generate an Award Compliance Report for RPPRs
  • Begin the submission process of manuscripts to PubMed Central