Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Responding to COVID-19: You can chat and email with us daily! Mon-Thu 7am-7pm, Fri 7am-6pm, Sat 11am-6pm, and Sun 1pm-6pm. But due to COVID-19, all University Libraries buildings are currently closed, and we're not accepting any new hold/pickup or scanning requests for physical items. See details on library changes and support.

SciENcv

How to use SciENcv to create your NIH or NSF Biosketch

Delegate Access

Any My NCBI account holder can set up one or more delegates for their My NCBI account. Once a delegate has accepted their invitation, they will then have the ability to view, edit, and create profiles in the original account holder’s SciENcv, as well as editing the account holder’s My Bibliography. 

If you would like to send a delegate request:

1. Login to your My NCBI account

2. Select your username in the upper right corner of the screen to access your Account Settings page

3. Under "Delegates," select "Add a delegate"

Add delegate to NCBI account

4. Enter your delegate's email address and select OK.

Add delegate email address

If you would like to accept a delegate request:

1. Check you email for the delegate request. If you haven't received the request email, be sure to check your spam folder -- the email comes from myncbi@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

2. Login to your My NCBI account. If you do not have a My NCBI account, you will be invited to register

3. Use the link in the delegate request email to accept and confirm the delegation

If you would like to see if a delegate has accepted your request:

1. Login to your My NCBI account

2. Select your username in the upper right corner of the screen to access your Account Settings page

3. If you have sent one or more delegate requests, you will see a table in the Delegates section

Unaccepted delegate request

The above delegation request has not been accepted – refer your delegate to the instructions on how to accept a delegate request.

Accepted delegate request

The above request has now been accepted.

To control what your delegate has access to:

1. Login to your My NCBI account

2. Select your username in the upper right corner of the screen to access your Account Settings page

3. Use the table in the delegates section to control what your delegates have access to.

4. If you have checked the “My Bibliography” box, your delegate will have the ability to view and make changes to your My Bibliography and Other Citations collections. If you have checked the “SciENcv” box, your delegate will be able to create, view, and change your SciENcv products.

Choose delegate access options

Please note: The Public or Private settings on your My Bibliography or SciENcv have no effect on your delegate’s ability to view and make changes to these resources. Should you wish to remove a delegate, use the red “X”. Should you wish to give a delegate access to only one resource, use the appropriate check-boxes.

To access your delegator's SciENcv:

1. Login to your My NCBI account

2. If you have been granted access to your delegator’s My Bibliography and Other Citations collections, you will see those collections listed in the Collections section of your My NCBI account landing page:

Access to delegator's collections

3. If you have been granted access to your delegator’s SciENcv, you will be able to access it from your SciENcv portal:

Access to delegator's SciENcv biosketch