Mexican & Mexican American History in the Borderlands
Research Databases
The databases listed on this page contain both Mexican & Mexican American centered databases and more general resources. Those listed under Mexican & Mexican American are specific databases that contain work from and about Mexican & Mexican American writers, artists, filmmakers, and more. The databases listed under Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More are more general databases that contain many resources about Mexican and Mexican American in the U.S./Mexico Borderlands and beyond. These databases are provided by the UA Libraries for the UA community. Check with your university or local library as they may have access to some of these databases.
Mexican and Mexican American-centered Databases | Databases for Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More
Mexican and Mexican American-centered databases
- ADHS Office of Border Health This link opens in a new windowFind information about public health program efforts regarding adverse health events in Arizona border communities, as well as cross-border public health collaboration with Sonora, Mexico.
- American West: The Graff Collection This link opens in a new windowExplore manuscripts, ephemera and rare printed sources digitized from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, a unique archival collection that provides rich information about Texas, Mexico and the South, as well as Native American culture.
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Find historical documents, including women's issues, health policy, film studies, the American Indian Movement, Mexican history, Afghanistan and the United States, records of the Persian Gulf War, and the U.S. Middle East Peace Policy.
- Arizona-Mexico Economic Indicators This link opens in a new windowFind economic indicators for the Arizona-Sonora Region, including Arizona trade, border crossings by port of entry, commodity flows by port of entry, foreign direct investment, and population. Created by the Economic and Business Research Center in the UA Eller College of Management.
- Arizona-Sonora Documents Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to digital images of archival collections relating to Sonora, Mexico dating from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Find historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times until 1960. The content is in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and is searchable in both languages. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Find manuscript, book, and newspaper content about Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women's rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
- Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Find a collection of texts, videos, images and historical documents that explores and provides historical context on many worldwide border areas, including the U.S. and Mexico.
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, book chapters, and newspapers about Mexican Americans/Chicanos in art, education, health, history, labor, literature, and politics.
- Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new windowFind multilingual, multinational streaming feature films and documentaries, the majority in Spanish and Portuguese with English subtitles, from Spain, other European countries, U.S., and Latin America (especially Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil).
- DRSW Database of Spanish Colonial Documents on Microfilm This link opens in a new windowProvides the research tools and finding aids to the written record that began with the arrival of the Spanish explorers and includes the diaries of explorers and reports of missionaries and soldiers, from 1530 to 1821.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses.
- Gran Enciclopedia Iberoamericana This link opens in a new windowFind articles, books and images in this Spanish-language encyclopedia covering topics related to Ibero-America (including Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America).
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Find citations to articles and book reviews from the social sciences and humanities about Central and South America, Mexico, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowFind hundreds of fully digitized Spanish-language and bilingual Spanish-English newspapers printed in the United States from 1808-1980. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" directed by Professor Nicolas Kanellos.
- Hispanic Life in America (Series 3, 2010 to present) This link opens in a new windowSeries 3 includes coverage of the Hispanic American experience from 2010 to today, sourced from American and global newspapers, including Hispanic American newspapers.
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press This link opens in a new windowFind articles from newspapers and magazines in this digital collection that documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
- HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) This link opens in a new windowFind citations and abstracts to books, book chapters, and journal articles about all aspects of Latin American studies, many of them published in Latin America, from 1935 to present.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFind over 1,000 newspapers from Mexicos pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929).
- Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Watch documentaries from Latin America about issues such as human rights, violence, immigration, literacy, popular culture, and political history.
- Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch fully digitized newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere, from 1805-1922.
- Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Find news from newspapers, newswires, and news sites from Latin American countries, 1998 to present.
- Latin American Social Medicine (LASM) This link opens in a new windowFind structured abstracts of seminal works in the area of Latin American social medicine available in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.
- Latin American Women Writers (LAWW) This link opens in a new window
Find fiction, poetry, essays about the feminist movement, and other works by women writers from Latin America, from colonial period to the present day.
- New Mexico Office of Border Health This link opens in a new windowFind border health-related publications and organizations.
- PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas) with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Find articles on the study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
- Texas Office of Border Public Health This link opens in a new windowFind Texas-Mexico border health information.
- United States-Mexico Public Health (CDC) This link opens in a new windowFind information on U.S.-Mexico border health.
Databases for Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Find citations to articles from alternative, radical, and left publications, 1991-present, covering racial and gender issues, gay and lesbian studies, labor, and more.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Find fully digitized early American newspapers, covering 1690-1922.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFind fully digitized U.S. historical newspapers from the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, exploring topics of cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses.
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Find video documentaries about race and gender studies, human rights, multiculturalism, global studies, environment, bioethics, health, political science, psychology, arts, and more.
- Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books and book chapters, and conference papers about gender & women's studies, LGBT and sexual diversity issues, from 1972-present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, and alternative and independent magazines in gender and women's studies, as well as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender research.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Watch documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and feature films related to LGBT topics.
- New Mexico Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFind full text and full page images of newspapers from cities around New Mexico published between 1844-1920.
- North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
Find plays, playbills, production photos, and other materials related to women playwrights, from colonial era to present day.
- Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family This link opens in a new window
Find handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
- Understanding Hate In America This link opens in a new windowFind local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations.
- Women's Magazine Archive, 1846-2005 This link opens in a new window
Find the foremost titles in this subject area, serving as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Subjects covered include parenting, education, health, psychology, family life, home economics, careers, fashion, and culture.
- Women and Social Movements International, 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Find texts by women activists, 1840-present.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Find primary and secondary materials about the history of women in social movements.