About the Collection
The nineteenth and early twentieth centuries were a tumultuous time in Mexico’s history. Wars with Spain, France and the United States taxed the country’s resources and reshaped its territory, while economic depression, regional political movements and increased government repression led to the Mexican Revolution and subsequent regional and inter-regional uprisings. Political, economic and social uncertainty reigned supreme during this critical period as Mexico struggled to define itself and its relations with the world.
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising nearly 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.
more...Most of the titles in the Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection are from the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, a research library at the University of Texas at Austin for area studies on Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and the Latino presence in the United States. The Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection is regarded by many as the preeminent Latin American library in the United States and is particularly rich in out-of-the-ordinary materials issued in small print runs, many difficult to acquire when first published and impossible to acquire today.
Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.
Less…On this Date in History
(random selections)
