Mexican & Mexican American History in the Borderlands

UA Libraries Special Collections

The materials found on this page can all be found at UA Libraries Special Collections located in Tucson, AZ. Here you can find congressional records, university materials, photographs, newspaper and journal articles, and scrapbooks that document Mexican and Mexican American life in the U.S./Mexico borderlands. This is not an exhaustive list of all materials related to Mexican & Mexican American history held at UA Libraries Special Collections and will continue to grow as collections are processed and made available.

Education

Rudolph Troike Bilingual Education collection (MS 473)

Contains the records of Rudolph C. Troike, a linguistics specialist and director of the English Language/Linguistics Program at the University of Arizona. The collection includes studies of Mexican American students and committee councils, journal articles on Mexico, and reports about Chicano education.

Adalberto Guerrero papers (MS 536)

Contains documents collected by Tucson educator and former UA Assistant Dean of Student Affairs, Adalberto “Beto” Guerrero, an advocate of bilingual and bicultural education. The collection includes various materials related to his efforts and to his testimony before Congress in support of the Bilingual Education Act of 1968.

Frank O. Sotomayor (MS 599)

Contains the materials of Frank O. Sotomayor, a journalist for the Arizona Daily Wildcat. This collection includes materials referencing Mexican American education and social conditions.

Elizabeth Roemer papers (MS 664)

Contains the materials of Elizabeth Roemer, an astronomer and Professor Emeritus of the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory, Department of Planetary Science and Steward Observatory. The collection includes correspondence with Dr. Arcadio Poveda Ricalde of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), and newspaper clippings about the closure of the Mexican-American Studies Research Center.

University of Arizona audiotapes (MS 699)

Contains audio recordings collected by the University of Arizona Radio and TV Bureau, the University of Arizona Audiovisual Services, and others. This collection includes recordings a recording of a Comparative Education Conference session about student perspectives of Mexican education.

Henry "Hank" Oyama papers (MS 448)

Contains the materials of Henry "Hank" Oyama, an educator and active figure in the bilingual education movement in Tucson.

Family Papers

Jacobs family papers (AZ 196)

Contains materials related to the the Jacobs family business that served mining camps and military establishment in Arizona during the 1870s. This collection includes information related to several Mexican and Mexican American business owners and ranchers, and politicians.

Hohstadt family papers (MS 150)

Contains materials related to John F. Hohstadt, and his brother, L.A. Hohstadt. This collection consists of correspondence and legal papers related to the Hohstadt's business ventures, including some materials relevant to Arizpe, the capital of Sonora and once-capital of the Interior Provinces under Spanish rule.

Aphold family papers (MS 372)

Contains materials related to the Apholds, a pioneer family and miners that resided in Tucson. This collection includes information about Miguel Martinez, the owner of American Bakery in Tucson during the mid-nineteenth century.

Ronstadt family collection (MS 407)

Contains materials to the Ronstadts, a prominent pioneer family of Tucson, AZ. This collection includes materials related to Federico Ronstadt and other Mexican and Mexican American residents.

Soza family papers (MS 436)

Contains materials for the Soza family that founded by Jose Maria Soza I in 1746, a cavalryman man in the Royal Spanish Army.

Lizarraga family papers (MS 544)

Contains Spanish-language legal documents related to land in Pitiquito, Sonora owned by the Lizarraga family.

Rosenda Gomez de Gomez Lamadrid collection (MS 466)

Contains the handwritten correspondence and financial records of the Gomez Lamadrid family, a entrepreneurial family of Sonora, Mexico.

Louis C. Bustamante family photographs (MS 595)

Contains photographs of the Bustamante family, a Mexican American family who resided in Tucson, Arizona throughout the 20th century.

Folklore & Cultural Expressions

Southwest Folklore Archive Folk Drama collection (MS 607)

Contains materials from Frances Gilmore, the first Chair of the UA Folklore Committee. Her interests in Mexican folklore and cultural anthropology are documented in the correspondence and folk-dramas of this collection.

University of Arizona Folklore Committee records (MS 608)

Contains the records of the University of Arizona Folklore Committee that was created to conserve folkloric materials within the state. U.S./Mexico border folklore is strongly represented in this collection.

Southwest Folklore Center Magdalena de Kino Painted Glass Collection (MS 609)

Contains paintings collected by the UA Southwest Folklore Center. All items of the collection were acquired in Magdalena de Kino, Sonora, Mexico during the annual festival honoring San Francisco.

Papers of L. Marguerite Collier (MS 611)

Contains the materials of Marguerite Collier, a teacher in Tucson, Arizona who started a Mexican folklore club at Carrillo School. This collection contains photographs, music books, plays, and articles about Mexican folklore.

Papers of Vicente S. Acosta (MS 612)

Contains materials from Vicente S. Acosta, a Spanish language teacher who served as the chair for the Spanish department at Santa Rita high School in Tucson, Arizona. This collection correspondence, essays, research, and audio tapes representing Acosta's interest in Mexican culture, Southwest folklore, and the Spanish language.

Southwest Folklore Center Pre-1980 sound disc collection (MS 613)

Contains the pre-1980 materials of the Southwest Folklore Center, including recordings of Mexican & Mexican American folk music.

Southwest Folklore Center sound disc collection (MS 614)

Contains the post-1980 materials of the Southwest Folklore Center, including recordings of Mexican American music.

Southwest Folklore Center cassette recordings collection (MS 615)

Contains the cassette collection of the Southwest Folklore Center, which includes recordings of Mexican American musicians.

Southwest Folklore Center video recordings collections (MS 616)

Contains the video recordings of the Southwest Folklore Center, which includes recordings of Mexican American music and oral histories about Tucson, Arizona.

Southwest Folklore Center field recordings collection (MS 617)

Contains reel tape recordings of the Southwest Folklore Center, which includes 12 master studio tape reels recorded by Mexican American singer Lydia Mendoza.

Records of the Tucson Meet Yourself Festival (MS 618)

Contains the materials of the Tucson Meet Yourself Festival, including recordings of Mexican & Mexican American music.

Southwest Folklore Center small manuscripts collection (MS 619)

Contains the materials of the Southwest Folklore Center, including manuscript materials and photographs on Mexican and Southwest folklore and music.

Southwest Folklore Center compact disc collection (MS 620)

Contains compact disc recordings of the Southwest Folklore Center, which includes recordings of Mexican American music.

University of Arizona Southwest Folklore Center records (MS 621)

Contains the materials of the Southwest Folklore Center, which includes information about folklore and folklife organizations and programs throughout the U.S./Mexico borderlands.

Carmen Celia Beltrán music (MS 681)

Contains the sheet music and programs of Carmen Celia Beltrán, a Mexican American writer of poetry, plays, essays and dramas.

Patricia Preciado-Martin papers (MS 697)

Contains the materials of prize-winning Arizona author Patricia Preciado Martin. This collection contains short stories and oral histories that document Mexican American folklore, culture, and history in the U.S./Mexico borderlands.

Teatro Libertad collection (MS 757)

Contains the materials of Teatro Libertad, a Chicano street theater group founded in 1975 in Tucson, Arizona. This collection contains plays, skits, scripts, and organizational records documenting the group's history.

Migration

Robin Hoover papers (MS 468)

Contains the materials of Revered Robin Hoover, a pastor who founded Human Borders, Inc. The collection includes VHS and DVD copies of broadcasts that discuss immigration and migrant workers.

Humane Borders records (MS 471)

Contains newsclippings and audiovisual materials related to Humane Borders, a non-profit, faith-based organization that works to reduce migrant deaths around the U.S./Mexico border.

Lawrence Gipe Operation Streamline sketches (MS 524)

Contains sketches done in pencil by Lawrence Gipe that document the trials of detainees accused of illegal immigration into the United States as part of the Operation Streamline program.

Jay Rochlin videocassettes (MS 673)

Contains videocassettes of Jay Rochlin, an editor for the UA Allumni Association magazine and radio and television broadcaster. Several videocassettes in the collection contain interviews with undocumented migrants.

Organizational Records

Articles of Agreement (AZ 091)

Contains materials from the Arizona Mining Company, a major company in the mining business that was located in Santa Cruz County, AZ. This collection includes materials related to the Arivaca Ranch, one of the many land grant ranches that were abandoned by their Mexican owners in the 1830s due to Apache raids

Papers of Charles H. Warren (AZ 120)

Contains the materials of Charles H. Warren, an attorney, and general manager of the Almo Ranch Company of Arizona. This collection includes materials related to Baboquivari Cattle Company, a prosperous company began by Jose Maria Ronstadt.

Records of the Arizona Copper Company (AZ 146)

Contains the materials of the Arizona Copper Company, a mining company of Edinburgh, Scotland, that operated in the Clifton-Morenci area of Arizona. This collection includes materials documenting the 1903 Clifton Mining Strike, where a large, violent protest was headed by Mexicans and Mexican Americans because of unequal pay scales for white men and those of Hispanic origins.

Records of the Twin Buttes Mining and Smelting Company (AZ 183)

Contains materials from the Twin Buttes Mining and Smelting Company, a mining operation in the Twin Buttes area of Pima County, AZ. This collection includes information about the the Southern Pacific Railroad, which first arrived in Tucson in 1880 and served as employer to many Mexicans and Mexican Americans in the area.

Records of the Empire Ranch (AZ 246)

Contains the materials of the Empire Ranch that was started by Walter Vail and became the largest ranching operation in Arizona. This collection includes information about Arivaca Ranch, one of the many land grant ranches that were abandoned by their Mexican owners in the 1830s due to Apache raids.

Papers of Charles M. Renaud (AZ 252)

Contains materials from Charles M. Renaud, an owner of mercantile stores in Arizona mining towns. This collection includes materials related to Ramon Soto, a rancher in the Sierritas that also owned a dairy farm.

New England and Clifton Copper Company of Arizona records (AZ 285)

Contains materials of the New England and Clifton Copper Company of Arizona that formed in 1903. This collection includes materials related to the 1903 Clifton Mining Strike.

San Juan de la Cruz Hacienda records (MS 086)

Contains materials related to the San Juan de la Cruz Hacienda located in the Jurisdiction of the Valle de San Bartolomé, Chihuahua, Mexico.

Financial Records of Tesoreria Nacional de Arispe (MS 094)

Contains materials related to the Tesoreria Nacional de Arispe, the National Treasury for the former capital of Sonora, Mexico.

Records of the Compañia Constructora Richardson, S. A. (MS 113)

Contains materials related to the Richardson Brothers Company, the Richardson Construction Company, and Compania Constructora Richardson, the California-based railroad companies directed by W.E. Richardson, Davis Richardon, and H.A. Sibbet. This collection includes information about the Southern Pacific Railroad.

Records of the Granja del Nińo Boys' School (MS 345)

Contains materials related to the Granja del Nińo Boys School, a charitable organization founded in 1923 by the Rotarios of Xochimilco, Mexico D.F.

Amazon Foundation papers (MS 425)

Contains materials related to the Amazon Foundation, a feminist organization that provided grants to promote social change. The collection includes award files related to the League of United Latin American Citizens.

Up With People archive (MS 491)

Contains materials related to Up With People, an international educational nonprofit organization that promotes global understanding through musical performance and community service. The collection includes materials regarding Up With People's activities in Mexico, Mexican and Mexican American cast members, and medleys of Mexican music.

Arnulfo D. Trejo papers (MS 515)

Contains materials from Arnulfo D. Trejo, a University of Arizona faculty member and the founder of REFORMA, the National Association for the Promotion of Library Services to the Spanish Speaking. The collection includes materials related to REFORMA and Trejo's participation in Los Tucsonense, an organization committed to preserving el Barrio Historico neighborhood and El Tiradito in Tucson, Arizona.

Mexican Journeys collection (MS 598)

Contains materials related to the Mexican Journeys travel group that gave tours in Mexico and South Americans from 1930 to 1950.

Alianza Hispano-Americana records (MS 663)

Contains materials related to Alianza Hispano-Americana, an organization that offered low-cost life insurance and various types of social services for Mexican and Mexican Americans. The collection includes photographs, scrapbooks, ledgers, and organizational records related to Alianza Hispano-Americana.

Sociedad Mutualista de Obreros Mexicanos (MS 742)

Contains materials related to the Sociedad Mutualista de Obreros Mexicanos (Mutual Aid Society of Mexican Workers), an organization founded in 1923 by Presciliano Rodriguez that was committed to fighting inequality and improving the rights of labor workers.

Tucson Civil Rights Coalition records (MS 746)

Contains materials from the Tucson Civil Rights Coalition, a volunteer-based group of community organizations dedicated to improving civil rights in Arizona. The collection includes materials related to the League of United Latin American Citizens.

Ralph Johnson Colwell papers (MS 748)

Contains materials from Ralph Johnson Colwell, one of the musical founders of Up With People. The collection includes materials regarding Up With People's activities in Mexico.

Empire Ranch Foundation records (MS 780)

Contains materials related to the Empire Ranch Foundation, a nonprofit organization that works with the Bureau of Lang Management to protect the Empire Ranch. The collection includes materials regarding Mexican American history.

Southwestern Mission Research Center (MS 443)

Contains the organizational records of the Southwestern Mission Research Center, a nonprofit organization that was originally dedicated to locating Father Kino's gravesite and upon finding it, focused on promoting research in the borderlands.

Wingspan LGBT Community Center records (MS 738)

Contains organizational records for Wingspan LGBT Community Center, a non-profit organization that supports LGBTQ communities in Southern Arizona. This collection contains information about the health and wellness of Hispanic communities in Arizona.

People, Places & Events

Papers of Andrew Ellicott Douglass (AZ 072)

Contains materials from Andrew Ellicott Douglass, an atronomer, educator, and founder of the science of dendrochronology. This collection includes materials related to Federico Ronstadt, a successful carriage businessman in Tucson with deep family ties to the area.

Documents Relating to Southwest History (AZ 207)

Contains letter and other documents that offer histories of the Southwest, including information related to Juan Bautista de Anza, an explorer and military commander in New Spain, and Jose Zuniga, a military officer and commander of the Tucson presidio at the end of the 18th century

Letter of Jose Romero (AZ 223)

Contains materials from Jose Romero, a Lieutenant Colonel in Sonora, Mexico who led several expeditions to create an inland route between Sonora and California.

Documents Relating to San Juan de la Boquillas y Nogales Land Grant (AZ 232)

Contains materials related to the San Juan de la Boquillas y Nogales land grant.

Lewis W. Douglas papers (AZ 290)

Contains the materials of Lewis W. Douglas, a businessman, Democratic politician, philanthropist, and diplomat. This collection includes materials related to the Southern Pacific Railroad, which first arrived in Tucson in 1880 and served as employer to many Mexicans and Mexican Americans in the area, and the U.S.-Mexican Boundary Commission, which surveyed the land for the border separating the United States from Mexico in the 1850s.

Papers of Francis Henry Hereford (AZ 311)

Contains materials from Francis Henry Hereford, an attorney in Tucson, AZ. This collection includes materials related to the the Baboquivari Cattle Company, a prosperous company began by Jose Maria Ronstadt, and the San Pedro land grant, the first land grant recognized by the U.S. government after the annexation of Arizona and California in 1856.

Autobiography of William Bladen Jett (AZ 312)

Contains an autobiographical manuscript from William Bladen Jett, a Methodist minister who served in the U.S. Army. This collection includes materials related to the San Pedro land grant, the first land grant recognized by the U.S. government after the annexation of Arizona and California in 1856.

Emilio Kosterlitzky papers (AZ 333)

Contains materials from Emilio Kosterlitzky who served as an officer for the Mexican Army, and as Special Agent for the U.S. Department of Justice. This collection includes correspondence between Porfirio Diaz and describes gun running along the border.

Selim Maurice Franklin papers (AZ 336)

Contains materials from Selim Maurice Franklin, an attorney in Tucson, Arizona. This collection includes correspondence and legal documents related to many Mexican and Mexican American Tucson residents.

Papers of William F. Witherell (AZ 430)

Contains the materials of William F. Witherell, a mining engineer and businessman. This collection includes information about the Arivaca mines, a mining locale in operation under Spanish and Mexican authority since the 1730s.

Photographs of David Lee Guss (AZ 505)

Contains materials from David Lee Guss, a freelance photographer from Tucson, AZ. This collection includes photographs of Tucson buildings, parades, people, Native Americans in Arizona, and scenes and people in U.S./Mexico border towns.

Eleazar Diaz Herraras oral interview / Conducted by Laurence O. "Pat" Henry (AZ 555)

Contains a transcript of an oral history interview with Eleazar Diaz Herraras, an architect and engineer famous for his knowledge of the building material adobe, that was conducted by Laurence O. "Pat" Henry. In the interview, Herraras reminisces on Tucson architecture and the restoration of historic buildings.

Reuben Augustine Wilbur papers (AZ 565)

Contains the materials of Dr. Reuben Augustine Wilbur, a Harvard Medical School graduate who established a medical practice and homesteaded ranch lands near Arivaca, AZ. This collection includes information related to Estevan Ochoa, a successful merchant and the only Mexican elected Mayor of Tucson following the Gadsden Purchase.

Puebla, Mexico records (MS 004)

Contains records for the city of Puebla located in the southeastern part of Mexico. This collection includes civil and military records, state and national government records, and Catholic Church records.

Jośe Maria Arana papers (MS 009)

Contains the materials of José Maria Arana, a prominent businessman and politiciain in Magdalena, Sonora, Mexico. This collection documents Arana's role as the leader of anti-Chinese campaigns in Sonora, Sinaloa, and Baja California.

Manuel Mascareñas papers (MS 014)

Contains the materials of Manuel Mascareñas, Sr., a cattle rancher and politician in Sonora, Mexico. This collection includes business and financial records of Mascarenas Sr., in addition to information about Teresa Urrea, known as the Santa de Cabora, a folk curer of Mexican and Mayo Indian descendant.

Frances Douglas papers (MS 037)

Contains the materials of Frances Douglas, an author and translator. This collection includes photographs that document travels through Mexico and Europe, correspondence, diaries, articles, memorabilia, and translations of primarily unpublished works of Spanish-language writers.

La voz de la sangre paisajes y leyendas del distrito (MS 069)

Contains the materials of Carmela Reyna de León, a Mexican author. This collection documents her experiences during the Mexican Revolution, and a compilation of legends and historic accounts told to Carmela Reyna de León by her family and friends in Sonora, Mexico.

Memorandum of Juan Rafael Ortiz, November 6, 1834 (MS 077)

Contains materials from Juan Rafael Ortiz, an official at the Governor's Office in Santa Fe, New Mexico during the same year that Santa Anna assumed dictatorial powers in Mexico.

Secretaría de Fomento, Colonización e Industria records (MS 085)

Contains materials related to land grants made to Juan Rochel and José Rico in Altar, Sonora, Mexico.

The Town of Jesús María records (MS 087)

Contains materials related to the mining town of Jesús Maria, located in the the Southeastern corner of the state of Chihuahua, Mexico. This collection contains correspondence, reports, and other documents related to the town.

Maximilia, Emperor of Mexico collection (MS 108)

Contains materials related to Ferdinand Maximilian Joseph, the archduke of Austria and emperor of Mexico. This collection includes information about 19th century Mexico and several prominent Mexican political and military leaders.

Acontecimientos notables (MS 131)

Contains materials related to the Mexican Emperor Agustin de Iturbide.

Instruccion reservada del Rño. de N. E.: que el Exmo. Sõr Conde de Revillagigedo dió à su subceso el Exmo. Sõr Marques de Branciforte (MS 139)

Contains materials related to Juan Vicente Guemez Pacheco de Padilla Horcasistas y Aguayo Revillagigedo, the Viceroy, and his correspondence with D. Rafael Bachiller y Mena, the Marquis of Branciforte.

Bill of Sale (MS 145)

Contains materials related to the Santa Barbara Ranch in Sonora, Mexico.

Act of Mexican Congress (MS 164)

Contains a two-page manuscript related to 19th century Mexican Congress.

New Mexican mining documents collection (MS 237)

Contains materials related to Edward Leland Bartlett, an attorney who was active in establishing the New Mexico Bar Association and was a member of the Knights Templars, Masons, and Lodge of Odd Fellows. This collection contains information about Estela Sosa Vigil, twentieth century Tucson resident.

Chihuahua, Mexico Photograph Album (MS 238)

Contains photographs taken in Chihuahua, Mexico, including photographs of mines, railroads, Tarahumara Indians and other local inhabitants, landscapes, street scenes, and mission churches

Cédula de Retiro (MS 240)

Contains materials related to Manuel Paredes, the first Provincial head of the Columa de Granaderos.

Papers of Everett E. Ellinwood (MS 303)

Contains correspondence and legal cases related to Everett E. Ellinwood, John Mason Ross, and their law firm Ellinwood & Ross. This collection includes materials about Arizpe, the capital of Sonora and once-capital of the Interior Provinces under Spanish rule.

Mines and Mining Companies in Arizona and the Southwest Collection (MS 307)

Contains materials related to Arizona mines and mining activity from 1855-1934. This collection includes information about Arizpe, the capital of Sonora and once-capital of the Interior Provinces under Spanish rule.

Records Relating to Cases Decided by the United States Court of Private Land Claims, Arizona District (MS 312)

Contains materials related to the Court of Private Land Claims for Arizona. This collection includes information about Arivaca Ranch and several Mexican and Mexican American Arizona residents.

Papers of Morris K. Udall (MS 325)

Contains the materials of Morris K. Udall, an attorney and member of the House of Representatives from 1961-1991. This collection includes information about Luis Acuna, early nineteenth century Tucson resident who defended Tucson against Apache raids, and Luis Maria Baca, one of the first Mexican land grant holders who received his property in 1821.

Broadsides from Mexico collection (MS 339)

Contains about 2,000 state and federal Mexican broadsides, publicly distributed documents, issued by various offices of the federal, state, municipal, and local governments during the 19th and early 20th-centuries. This collection also includes information about the Mexican American war.

Papers of Byrd Howell Granger (MS 340)

Contains materials from Byrd Howell Granger, a Southwest Folklore author and researcher. This collection contains information about El Tiradito, the wishing shrine in located in Tucson with several origins stories about the death of a sinner.

Clarence Jarvis Photography collection (MS 349)

Contains materials from Clarence Jarvis, a photographer presumed to be from the Tucson area. The photographs in this collection are of various locations in coastal Mexico, particularly Baja California, Alamos, Mazatlan, and Tepic. The photographs document seaside resorts, landscapes, cityscapes, and the local people in these areas during the 1950s.

Papers of Lawrence Clark Powell (MS 376)

Contains the materials of Lawrence Clark Powell, a noted writer and librarian. This collection includes information about Francisco Garces, a missionary who was a victim to the 1781 Yuma uprising that killed over 100 Spaniards.

Tom Miller papers (MS 377)

Contains materials related to Tom Miller, a noted writer of literature on the Southwest and Latin America. This collection includes information about Jesus Garcia, a pioneer Tucson teamster and Indian fighter.

Records of the Club Filarmónico Tucsonense (MS 385)

Contains materials related to Federico Ronstadt, a musician who formed the Club Filarmónico Tucsonense with fellow musicians. Ronstadt was the principal organizer and this collection includes his original arrangements and compositions.

Fred Rochlin collection (MS 401)

Contains materials related to Fred Rochlin, an architect and Tucson resident. This collection includes information about Enrique Levin, Tucson hotel proprietor of the Occidental in the 1890s, Federico Ronstadt, a successful carriage businessman in Tucson in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the Southern Pacific Railroad, Tubac, a town that was founded as a presidio in 1752, Tumacacori mission, founded by the Jesuits in 1757, and Magdalena, the destination of an annual pilgrimage celebrating St. Francis Xavier.

Jacome's Department Store records (MS 405)

Contains materials related to Jacome's Department Store, , a family- owned business in operation in Tucson, Arizona from 1896 to 1980. This collection includes information about Carlos Jacome, a Tucson shop owner, Genaro S. Manzo, Carlos Jacome’s partner and later employee at his store, and Alianza Hispano-Americana, the largest Mexican mutual aid society founded by Carlos Velasco, Pedro Pellon, Mariano Samaniego, and at least forty-six other prominent Hispanics in Tucson.

Raul H. Castro papers (MS 417)

Contains materials related to Raul H. Castro, a lawyer and former U.S. Ambassador to El Salvador and Bolivia. This collection documents his longstanding career in politics, including his time as the governor of Arizona.

A.E. (Gene) Magee photographs and papers (MS 573)

Contains the materials of A.E. (Gene) Magee, an engineer and co-founder of Western Ways Photographic Services. This collection includes images of Mexico city scenes.

Casas Adobes Rotary Club (MS 428)

Contains materials from the Casas Adobes Rotary Club, a Tucson-based club that participated in several fundraising projects for education and other charitable opportunities. This collection contains photograph of their sister club, the Rotary Club of Hermosillo-Pitic in Sonora, Mexico.

Jack Sheaffer photographic collection (MS 435)

Contains the personal and professional work of Arizona Daily Star photographer Jack Sheaffer. This collection contains many photographs documenting Mexican and Mexican American life in the borderlands.

Leo Goldschmidt photographic collection (MS 437)

Contains the photographic materials of Leo Goldschmidt, a businessman and amateur photographer. This collection contains glass plates documenting a wide range of people and locations in Arizona and Sonora, Mexico.

Kenneth Roby Mexican Documents collection (MS 449)

Contains materials assembled by Kenneth Roby that document the activities of federal, state, and local government officials in Mexico between the late 18th and early 20th century.

Tucson at the Millennium photograph collection (MS 458)

Contains photographs of Tucson citizens taken as part of a photographic celebration of Tucson sponsored by the Tucson Museum of Art.

Henry F. Dobyns papers (MS 461)

Contains the materials of anthropologist Henry F. Dobyns. This collection contains newsclippings, photographic negatives, and audiovisual materials related to Mexico.

Ray Manley photograph collection (MS 462)

Contains the photographic materials of well-known photographer Ray Manley, including several images of Mexican Consul members.

Joseph Perillo photograph collection (MS 477)

Contains the materials of photo journalist Joseph Perillo. Photographs of Mexican politicians can be found in this collection.

Mrs. A.S. Addis photograph collection (MS 480)

Contains the photographic material of Sarah Short Addis, who took photographs throughout the borderlands region with her husband Alfred Shea Addis.

Ken Wolfgang collection (MS 492)

Contains the materials of Ken Wolfgang, a travelogue filmmaker and photographer. Many images in this collection document people and locations in various regions of Mexico.

The Celeste Gonzalez de Bustamante and Jeannine E. Relly oral history collection (MS 533)

Contains oral history audios with journalists, activists, and dignitaries from the U.S. and Mexico that discuss the state of reporting and journalistic freedom in Mexico.

Las Posadas collection (MS 552)

Contains materials related to Carrillo Elementary School's long tradition of re-enacting Mary and Joseph's pilgrimage from Nazareth to Bethlehem, an event based on an old Mexican yuletide custom.

Robert Benitez Robles papers (MS 563)

Contains the materials of Robert Benitez Robles, a teacher, transport airman for the Navy, and insurance agent from Clifton, Arizona. This collection documents his service to the Mexican American community of Arizona.

Sam Levitz photographic collection (MS 570)

Contains the photographs of Sam Levitz, a photographer for the Arizona Daily Star. This collection contains images of Mexican students, children, and cultural events.

Sharon Reynolds Maxwell papers (MS 589)

Contains the materials of Sharon Reynold Maxwell, a cataloger, teacher, and librarian for Tucson Public Schools who later became involved in the Tucson Model Cities Program. This program was part of President Lyndon B. Johnson's Great Society and War on Poverty and sought to develop new antipoverty programs and alternative forms of municipal government. This collection contains information about programs related to Tucson's Hispanic communities.

Southern Exposure photographs (MS 591)

Contains photographs from four photographers, Mauro Altamura, Jerome Friar, Kathleen Hogan, and Lauren Piperno, who were part of the now closed photo agency Southern Exposure. This collection contains images of people and places in Mexico.

Edward Mathewson papers (MS 594)

Contains the materials of Edward Mathewson, a Canadian metallurgist. This collection includes images from Mathewson's travels through Mexico and a postcard featuring Mexican art.

Willis E. Lamb Jr. papers (MS 636)

Contains the personal and professional papers Willis E. Lamb Jr., a Nobel laureate. This collection contains information about a map exhibit focusing on the Mexican Inquisition.

Augusto Ortiz papers (MS 694)

Contains the materials of Dr. Augusto Ortiz, a family practitioner and educator who worked in both the Phoenix and Tucson areas. This collection contains information about migrant labor health and documents related to Dr. Ortiz's work with Arizona Hispanic communities.

PandemiDiarios (MS 725)

Contains the work of PandemiDiarios, a microgrant program funded by the Confluencenter for Creative Inquiry that seeks to support those creating works that reflect on the COVID-19 pandemic. This collection contains work from various people reflecting on their experiences during the pandemic, including marginalized racial and ethnic groups.

International Postcard collection (MS 739)

Contains postcards from various countries that depict art, images, and buildings across the world. This collection contains several postcards with art from Mexican artists.

Religious Activity

Marriage records (AZ 166)

Contains the materials of Father Pedro Font, a Franciscan missionary and chaplain of the Anza Expedition. This collection includes records of three marriages performed by Father Pedro Font and information related to San Xavier del Bac.

Historia de las misiones sonorenses y sus pueblos de visita (AZ 199)

Collection contains brief histories of missions and pueblos of Sonora, Mexico during the time of Jesuit influence.

Los Jesuitas en Sonora (AZ 200)

Contains biographical sketches of Jesuits in Sonora, Mexico.

Letter to Bishop Bernado del Espiritu Santo, 1820 Nov. 6 (AZ 231)

Contains materials related to Bishop Bernardo del Espiritu Santo and the Presidio of San Agustín of Tucson.

Reyes Report (AZ 261)

Contains a report written by Spanish Franciscan Antonio de los Reyes that documents conditions in the missions of Sonora.

Philip Segesser papers (AZ 320)

Contains materials from Philipp Segesser, a Jesuit missionary in Sonora, Mexico.

Pedro de Arriquibar letters (AZ 368)

Contains letters sent from Pedro Pedro de Arriquibar, chaplain of the Presidio de San Agustín del Tucson, to Bishop Fray Francisco Rouset de Jesus, Diocese of Sonora, Mexico that describe and inventory his church.

Diario, de las ultimas peregrinaciones del Padre Fr. Francisco Garcés, hasta la provincia del Moqui, y noticias de varias nuevas naciones exparcidas hasta el Rio Colorado en Califonia (AZ 416)

Contains the materials of Francisco Tomas Hermenegildo Garces, a Spanish Franciscan missionary, priest at San Xavier del Bac, and explorer of the Southwest.

Derrotero de los Padres Fray Francisco Atanacio Domínguez, and Fr. Silvestre Vélez, de Escalante, en sus exploraciónes, desde las missiones de Zuñy del Nuevo Mexico, hasta las ymmediaciones de Monte Rey de California (AZ 417)

Contains the diary of Vélez de Escalante, a Spanish Franciscan missionary, who went on an expedition to New Mexico with Dominguez, a Mexican Franciscan priest.

Jacob Sedelmayr letters and reports (AZ 437)

Contains the materials of Jacobo Sedelmayr, a Jesuit missionary. This collection includes information about San Xavier del Bac, the mission originally founded by Father Eusebio Kino in 1700 and Fronteras, the Sonoran presidio founded in 1692.

Report of an Exploration, Written at Mission Dolores (AZ 438)

Contains reports of an expedition made by Eusebio Francisco Kino, a Jesuit missionary, and Father Antonio Leal into southwestern Arizona, known at the time as Pimeria Alta, in 1699.

Forrest Shreve photographs (AZ 518)

Contains materials from Forrest Shreve, a botanist and desert plant ecologist. This collection includes photographs of Tubutama, a mission founded by Father Kino in the early eighteenth century.

Breve explicación de las Facultades concedidas por el Yllmõ. Señor á los Curas, y Vicarios de esta Diócesis: y resolución de las dificultades, que pueden ocurrir en la práctica (MS 129)

Contains materials related to priests and curates of the diocese in Mexico.

Custodia de San Carlos de Sonora (MS 143)

Contains materials related to Francisco Antonio Barbastro, a Franciscan Priest, Father President of the Sonoran Missions, and the head of the ecclessiastical counteroffensive to Bishop Antonio de los Reyes' plan for the San Carlos "custodia."

Caso sobre la certificacion que se pide cada año al Padre Provincial de la Compañía de Jesus, del numero de los religiosos que estan en sus missiones (MS 146)

Contains a two-page manuscript requesting the Padre Provincial to provide certification of the number of religious missions. This document was written in Mexico City in 1628 and endorsed by Juan de Ledesma, Diego Diaz de Pangua, Guillermo de Biris, and Francisco Calderon.

Libros de bautismos y casamientos de Nuestra Senora de la Concepción de Papigóchic (MS 175)

Contains photographs of parish registers related to a Jesuit mission in Mexico.

Libros de bautismos, entierros y casamientos de Santo Thomás y de San Miguel, desde 1 de Enero de 1727 (MS 176)

Contains photographs of parish registers related to Santo Tomás de Villanueva de Tojorare and its visita of San Miguel.

Libro de bautismos de San José de Teméychic desde 25 de Febrero de 1725, 1724-1778 (MS 177)

Contains photographs of parish registers related to a Jesuit mission in Mexico.

Libro de bautismos y libro de matrimonios desde 3 de Enero de 1693 (MS 178)

Contains photographs of parish registers related to a Jesuit mission in Mexico.

Documents relating to missions in Chihuahua and Sonora (Mexico) (MS 180)

Contains materials documenting missions in Mexico, with Spanish transcriptions and English translations by Campbell W. Pennington.

Inventorio de Ónavas, Sonora (MS 181)

Contains materials related to an Ignacio de Ónavas, one of the missions in the Pimería Baja, and its visitas, Tónichi, Pópule, and Soyopa.

Carta a Padre Provincial Francisco Zevallos, Temósachic 17 de Junio de 1765 (MS 182)

Contains materials related to Mission San Miguel de Temósachic.

Carta de Padre Carlos J. Rojas a Licenciado y Visitor General José Rafael Rodríquez Gallardo, 27 de Febrero de 1750 (MS 183)

Contains materials related to missions and missionaries in northwest Mexico, including the pueblos of Batuco, Ures, Móvas, Cucurpe, Mátape, Tecoripa, Morís, and Yécora.

Noticia a la Visita General de Padre Ignacio Lizasoain... (MS 185)

Contains materials related to missions throughout the provinces of California, Sonora, Tarahumara, Chinipas and Nayarit.

Informe de diez y seis misiones, 1786 (MS 186)

Contains a report on 16 missions in Mexico.

Informe del Obispo de Durango sobre las misiones, 1789 (MS 187)

Contains materials related to missions throughout the Durango bishopric.

Compendio de las noticias que Su Majestad por su Real orden de 20 de Octobre proximo pasado ordena que se puntualizen para el completo conocimiento de la geografia, fisica, antiguedades, mineralogia y metalurgia de este Reyno de Nueva España... (MS 188)

Contains materials related to missions in Mexico, including a transcribed Compendium and royally mandated Relaciones.

Deberes y obligaciones temporales de los misioneros en el norte de la Nueva España (MS 189)

Contains materials related to Francisco Antonio Barbastro, a Franciscan Father President of the northern missions, including information about duties and obligations of missionaries in northern New Spain.

Derrotero y jornada a las misiones (MS 191)

Contains materials related to missions throughout northern Mexico, including those in Sinaloa, Chihuahua, Nayarit, and Sonora.

Anua de 1626 en los misiones de San Ignació (MS 192)

Contains materials related to the missions of San Ignacío y sus pueblos de visitas at Mayo, Yaqui, Nebome, Chínipas, and Cicibotar

Carta edificante histórico-curiosa, escrita desde la misión de Santa María de Bacerac en los fines de Sonora..., (MS 193)

Contains materials related to Mission Santa María de Bacerac including information on baptisms, availablility of natural resources, food crops, livestock, and local flora and fauna.

Carta al Virrey Conde de Revillagigedo (MS 197)

Contains materials documenting conditions in Sonora, including the geography, missions and towns, temporal state, spiritual state, and Indian industries. The most substantial section follows and concerns the secularization of the missions.

Relación de este Pueblo y Misión de San Miguel de Sahuaripa y sus anexos (MS 198)

Contains materials related to the Mission San Miguel de Sahuaripa and its related visitas.

Cartas de los padres José Tardá, Tomás de Guadalajara y Visitador Bernabé Francisco Gutiérrez al Padre Francisco Ximenez Provinicial de la Compañia de Jesus de la Provincia de la Nueva España (MS 199)

Contains materials related to Jesuit Padre Tomás de Guadalajara and missionary activities at various Jesuit missions and visitas throughout the Tarahumara Alta.

Historia, cartas de los Padres Jesuites en Chihuahua (MS 200)

Contains letters letters written in Spanish and English of various Jesuits, the majority of which are directed to Provincial Andrés Garcí.

Cartas, informes y relaciónes de los padres José Neumann, Juan María Ratkay, Tomás de Guadalajara, José Tardá y otros (MS 201)

Contains letters, reports and relations of the missionaries who were active in the area of northern Mexico known as the Tarahumara Alta.

Relación de los misiones que la compania tiene en el Reyno y Provincias de la Nueva Vizcaya en la Nueva Espana (MS 202)

Contains materials related to Juan Ortiz Zapata, a Jesuit Visitador to the missions in northern Mexico in 1678. This collection includes documents of Zapata’s missions in Reyno and provinces of New Vizcaya in New Spain during 1678.

Informes desde Culiacán y Sinaloa (MS 203)

Contains materials related to Diego Martinez de Hurdaide, the Mexican-born captain of the presidio of San Felipe from 1598 to 1626.

Temporalidades (MS 204)

Patentes y comunicaciones que se refieren a la Tarahumara (Segunda Parte) (MS 206)

Contains materials related to missions in Mexico.

Inventory of secularized Jesuit churches in Tepehuana and Tarahumara in 1754 (MS 207)

Contains materials related to secularized Jesuit churches in Tepehuana and Tarahumara.

Reports from the missions of Sonora and Tarahumara (MS 208)

Contais materials related to missions of Sonora and Tarahumara with translations of reports and the original typescript table of contents

Letras anuas de la provincias de la Compania de Jesus en Mexico (MS 209)

Contains reports on various missions throughout the province of Sonora in the years 1646, 1653, 1662, and 1667

Cartas de Sonora del Archivo, Colegio Apostólico de la Santa Cruz de Querétaro (MS 210)

Contains materials related to missions in Mexico.

Visitación en 15 de Febrero 1715 a 6 de Febrero 1716 (MS 212)

Contains materials related to Pedro Tápiz and missions throughout the Durango bishopric, such as visitations, from February 15, 1715 to February 6, 1716.

Cartas a Garcia, Gera y Hesselmeir (MS 213)

Contains materials related to Glandorff , Jesuit missionary, who was assigned to the Missions of La Purísima Concepción de Tomóchic in Chihuahua, Mexico.

Account of the new entry of the Jesuit Fathers to the nations of the Chínipas, Varohios, Guazapari, Temori and many others (MS 214)

Contains materials related to Jesuit missions in Mexico.

Seleciónes del Archivo de Hidalgo del Parral (MS 215)

Contains materials related to related to administration, war, civil and criminal cases, mines and land claims in Hidalgo del Parral, Mexico

Franciscan reports (MS 216)

Contains materials related to Father Francisco Antonio Barbastro, the Father President of the Northern missions, and Sinaloan and Sonoran missions.

Sinaloa Jesuit reports (MS 217)

Contains materials related to Jesuit missions in Sinaloa, Mexico.

Informe de Sinoloa y Sonora, August 12, 1750 (MS 218)

Contains materials related to José Rafael Rodriguez Gallardo, including a report on conditions in Sonora and Sinaloa after his period there as acting governor.

Reales cédulas, cartas y informes (MS 219)

Contains materials related to Antonio de los Reyes, a Spanish Franciscan and the first Bishop of Sonora, Sinaloa, and the two Californias in 1782.

Asuntos de misiones de Sonora : gobierno eclesiastico, gobierno civil (MS 221)

Contains materials related to the political and religious interactions in the Pimería Alta, during the dissolution of the Franciscan mission system.

Noticia (MS 222)

Contains materials related to Tomás Ignacio Lizasoaín, a Spanish Jesuit who established the Guaymas mission. This collection includes information about missions in Baja California, Sonora, Tarahumara, Nayarit, and the former Chinipas, in addition to southern Arizona.

Papeles relativos a los Jesuitas en Baja California y otras regiones septentrionales de la Nueva España (MS 223)

Contains materials related to the geographical relation of the missions to towns and other missions, the priests who previously served at them, the building of the churches, the number of people in the area, and the number of people baptized.

Carta al Virrey Conde de Revillagigedo (MS 225)

Contains a letter report that Francisco Antonio Barbastro wrote to the Viceroy Count de Revillagigedo, from the Aconchi Mission, and completed on Dec. 1, 1793. This collection contains materials related to conditions in Sonora: the geography, the missions and towns, the temporal state, the spiritual state, and Indian industries.

Cartas y informes (MS 227)

Contains materials related to Antonio de los Reyes, a Spanish Franciscan who was assigned to the Cucurbe Mission in 1768 and consecrated as the first Bishop of Sonora, Sinaloa, and the two Californias in 1782.

Cartas y informes (MS 228)

Contains a series of letters written from Padre Jesús Manual Aguirre to Padre Provincial Francisco Ceballos that report on the period of time when Aguirre was serving as visitador and visitador general.

Cartas y informes (MS 229)

Contains materials related to Father Faustino Gonzáles, Father Antonio Flores, and Father José María Pérez Llera, and missions in Mexico.

Cartas y informes de Mariano Antonio de Buena y Alcalde (MS 230)

Contains materials related to Father Mariano Antonio de Buena y Alcalde, a Mexican priest selected in 1767 to be Father President of the 14 missionaries going from the Querétaro College north to the Sonoran province.

Cartas y informes (MS 231)

Contains letters and reports written by missionaries in Pimería Alta, Sonora, and Chihuahua, from 1768 to 1816.

Photographs of Laurence M. Huey (MS 241)

Contains materials related to Laurence M. Huey who was the Curator of Birds and Mammals for the San Diego Natural History Museum from 1922 to 1962. This collection includes information about the Tumacacori mission, founded by the Jesuits in 1757.

Collection of the Arizona Ecumenical Council, Truth Squad Committee records (MS 277)

Contains materials of the Truth Squad Committee that was instructed by the Arizona Ecumenical Council to investigate issues related to the then current crisis in farm labor relations. This collection includes background and supporting materials, and dissenting opinions dealing with farm labor issues, especially the unionization of the United Farm Workers.

Records of the Catholic Church, Diocese of Tucson (Ariz.) (MS 296)

Contains handwritten records from 1721-1957 of the Catholic Church, including baptismal, marriage, burial, and confirmation records of individual church members. Major geographical areas represented are Tubac, Calabasas, Tumacacori, Tucson, Yuma, Florence, Tombstone, Benson, and Solomonville. This collection includes information related to Saint Augustine Cathedral that was built in Tucson during the 1890s and served as the religious base to the Catholic majority of the Mexican and Mexican American population in the early twentieth century.

Juan Navarrete y Guerrero collection (MS 423)

Contains materials relating to Bishop Juan Navarrete y Guerrero of the diocese of Hermosillo, Sonora.

Paul M. Roca papers and photographs (MS 531)

Contains materials that document Jesuit churches throughout the Northern Mexico states of Sonora and Chihuahua.

Father Bonaventure Oblasser, O.F.M. collection (MS 543)

Contains materials related to the missionary work of Father Bonaventure Oblasser, O.F.M, including photographs of missions in Mexico.

Richard Wormser papers (MS 579)

Contains the materials of author Richard Wormser, including a short story about Mexico and a manuscript about Mormon colonies in Mexico.

Research Files

History of Mining in Arizona (AZ 198)

Contains materials from James Brand (J.B.) Tenney, an assistant geologist for the Arizona Bureau of Mines. This collection includes information related to the 1903 Clifton Mining Strike.

Power in the Old Pueblo: A Study of Decision Making in a Southwestern Community (AZ 395)

Contains a photocopy typescript of the Power in the Old Pueblo: A Study of Decision Making in a Southwestern Community that was conducted by James. E. Officer, an anthropology professor.

Papers of Paul Howard Ezell (MS 282)

Contains materials related to Paul Howard Exell, an archeologist. This collection includes documents related to the U.S.-Mexican Boundary Commission, which surveyed the land for the border separating the United States from Mexico in the 1850s.

Papers of William Neil Smith (MS 316)

Contains materials related to William Neil Smith, an anthropologist who worked with the Seri Indians of Tiburon Island and the northwest coast of Sonora, Mexico. This collection includes information about Buenos Aires Ranch, founded by Pedro Aguirre, in the mid-nineteenth century.

Bill Hoy Oral History Project collection (MS 369)

Contains audio recordings conducted by Bill Hoy of the National Park Service and Organ Pipe National Monument. This collection includes interviews with Arturo Quiroz, Jim McGrady, and Robert Binnion, who each reminisce about their experiences in different areas of Mexico and the Organ Pipe area.

Southwest Institute for Research on Women records (MS 518)

Contains the materials of the Southwest Institute for Research on Women, a research and resource center for women and girls. This collection contains several essays about Mexican American women.

Planned Parenthood Interviews by Mary Melcher (MS 583)

Contains oral history interviews conducted by Mary Melcher, a historian and co-founded of the Arizona Women's Heritage Trail. This collection contains an interview with Priscilla Robinson who discusses the racial aspects of Planned Parenthood clientele.

George C. Barker papers (MS 610)

Contains records of George Barker's anthropological research on Pachuco language and culture. The collection also includes photographs and negatives taken in Mexico.

Karl Ruppert diary and photographs (MS 637)

Contains the records of archeologist Karl Ruppert who worked and researched throughout Arizona and Mexico. This collection includes a small notebook with words and phrases translated into local dialects of central Mexico.

Rebecca Cramer papers (MS 652)

Contains the materials of Rebecca Cramer, a writer and educator. This collection includes Cramer's research on various Hispanic communities in the Southwest U.S.

Tecate (Mexico) Ethnographic Field Study files (MS 653)

Contains materials collected by George Roth, an anthropologist and ethnohistorian. This collection contains field notes documenting the history, economy, and cultural geography of Tecate, Mexico.

Curtis G. Benjamin papers (MS 658)

Contains the materials of Curtis G. Benjamin, a writer who worked with McGraw-Hill. This collection includes writing on U.S./Mexico relations.

Thomas W. Barrett papers (MS 712)

Contains the personal and professional materials of Thomas W. Barrett, a soil scientist. This collection includes several slide photographs of Mexico.

James Rodney Hastings papers (MS 716)

Contains the materials of James Rodney Hastings, a meteorologist and the first mayor of the town of Hayden. This collection contains Hastings' research on Sonora, Mexico.

George Chambers papers (MS 723)

Contains the materials of George Chambers, an amateur historian and business manager for several Tucson newspapers. This collection contains information about Arizona Silhouettes, a publishing company ran by Chambers that reprinted rare books documenting historical accounts from Arizona and Sonora. There is also information about Chambers' preservation efforts at El Archivo de Hidalgo del Parral.

Dr. Gregory S. Rodriguez Oral History Project for Trichloroethylene (TCE) collection (MS 755)

Contains the oral history project conducted by Dr. Gregory S. Rodriguez's Mexican American Studies class at the University of Arizona. This collection contains interviews, transcripts, and research files documenting the effect of TCE contamination in Tucson, Arizona.

Allan Radbourne papers (MS 765)

Contains the materials of writer and historian Allan Radbourne. This collection contains materials about Mexican-Apache groups.

Dr. Jack L. August Jr. papers (MS 774)

Contains the materials of Dr. Jack L. August Jr., an expert in Arizona water-related politics, senators, and other areas of history. This collection contains course materials on Mexican history and water rights.

Duane Spencer Hatch collection (MS 482)

Contains the materials of Duane Spencer Hatch, a pioneer in rural reconstruction and community development. This collection includes research files, photographs, and audio materials about rural conditions in Mexico.

Social & Political Movements

de la Torre Family papers (MS 420)

Contains materials documenting the de la Torre family's involvement in the Cristero Movement.

Francisco Vazquez-Gomez collection (MS 450)

Contains the materials of Francisco Vazquez-Gomez, a physician and significant political player in Mexico. The collection contains Vazquez-Gomez's research materials, correspondence, biographical information and other materials, the bulk of which focuses on the Mexican Revolution.

Emile Cyrus Houle collection (MS 478)

Contains the materials of Emily Cyrus Houle, a surgeon for the Mexico Railroad Company. Much of the materials here document Houle's perspective of the Mexican Revolution and his ventures as an amateur archeologist in the borderlands.

Jim Corbett collection (MS 502)

Contains the materials of James A. Corbett, a writer and humanitarian involved in the Sanctuary Movement. This collection contains Corbett's research on Mexico.

Broadsides by Jose Guadalupe Posada (MS 523)

Contains the broadsides of Jose Guadalupe Posada, a highly influential artist who worked with the publisher Vanegas Arroyo. This collection contains news sheets documenting different aspects of Mexican history, such as the Mexican Revolution

Denny Moran Oral History audio tapes (MS 696)

Contains oral history audio tapes recorded by Denny Moran, a worker for the American Oil Company. The tapes document Moran's memories of the Mexican Revolution.

UA History

University of Arizona Office of the President records, 1914-1937 (AZ 420)

Contains materials from the University of Arizona Office of the President, from 1914-1937. This collection includes information about the El Fuerte neighborhood, a well-known barrio in Tucson surrounding Fort Lowell.

University of Arizona Office of the President records, 1937-1947 (AZ 426)

Contains materials from the University of Arizona Office of the President, from 1937-1947. This collection contains information about the El Fuerte neighborhood, a well-known barrio in Tucson surrounding Fort Lowell.

University of Arizona Office of the President records, 1891-1905 (AZ 427)

Contains materials from the University of Arizona Office of the President, from 1891-1905. This collection includes information about Carlos Tully, a writer for Spanish-language newspapers, a school teacher, and the director of an elementary school, and the Southern Pacific Railroad, which first arrived in Tucson in 1880 and served as employer to many Mexicans and Mexican Americans in the area.

Accent: On University of Arizona (MS 641)

Contains materials from "Accent: on University of Arizona," a local radio program that hosted professors and public figures to discuss various topics. This collection includes an interview from a University of Arizona professor on Mexican oil.

Arizona Magazine interviews (MS 642)

Contains audiocassettes of interviews conducted by Arizona Magazine, including an interview from Nancy Yaley about University of Arizona outreach into Mexico.

Jay Rochlin Oral History Project audiocassettes (MS 671)

Contains audiocassettes of Jay Rochlin, an editor for the UA Allumni Association magazine and radio and television broadcaster. The collection includes oral histories conducted with Mexican American alumni from the University of Arizona.

Los Universitarios collection (MS 684)

Contains materials from Los Universitarios, a social club for Mexican American students at the University of Arizona.

University of Arizona audiotapes (MS 699)

Arizona Health Sciences Center Office of Public Affairs records (MS 703)

Contains photographs from the Office of Public Affairs at the Arizona Health Sciences Center, including a photograph of a hospital in Mexico.

Mexican American Studies collection (MS 732)

Contains materials from the Mexican American Studies department at the University of Arizona.

UA Presents records (MS 566)

Contains materials from UA Presents, the official performing arts presenter of the University of Arizona. The collection includes materials for events based in Mexican folklore.