Black History in the Borderlands
Research Databases
The databases listed on this page contain both Black-centered and more general resources. Those listed under African and African American are Black-specific databases that contain work from and about Black writers, artists, filmmakers, and more. The databases listed under Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More are more general databases that contain many resources about Black life in the U.S./Mexico Borderlands and beyond. These databases are provided by the UA Libraries for the UA community. Check with your university or local library as they may have access to some of these databases.
African and African American Databases | Databases for Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More
African and African American Databases
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Search or browse over 160 books on all aspects of African American music.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowFind fully digitized African American newspapers from more than 35 states.
- Black Drama—1850 to Present, 3rd Edition This link opens in a new window
Find plays by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries from 1850-present.
- Black Life in America (Series 3, 1976 to present) This link opens in a new windowSeries 3 includes coverage of the African American experience from 1976 to today, sourced from American and global newspapers, including African American newspapers.
- Black Short Fiction This link opens in a new window
Full text African and African-Diaspora short stories, folktales, and selected literary magazines.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from major black newspapers, scholarly essays, and literary works, from the early 1800s onward. Includes Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, and Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Find acclaimed documentaries, archival footage, and interviews chronicling the evolution of black culture in the United States.
Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility StatementPublic performance rights: Viewing Alexander Street films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers (if not current UA students, staff or faculty, then they must be present on University property) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening, including selling snacks, asking for donations, etc.).
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Find full text of non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, interviews, journal articles, and other material of 20th century topics, including politics, religion, history, and sports.
- Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Find fiction, poetry, and other works by women from Africa and the African Diaspora.
- Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Online content of the Chicago Defender which became the most influential black newspaper in the US within its first 10 years begins in 1909 and goes through 2010. Includes full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this newspaper.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought This link opens in a new windowFrom St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anticolonialist movements of Pan Africanism and Negritude, The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements. The encyclopedia is a nice complement to our other well-regarded reference works in African and African American history and culture. It provides background into the intellectual traditions that have shaped this history and culture.
- Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience This link opens in a new windowExplore the experience of peoples of African descent throughout the Americas via in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines, research articles, images, and film clips.
Databases for Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Find citations to articles from alternative, radical, and left publications, 1991-present, covering racial and gender issues, gay and lesbian studies, labor, and more.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Find fully digitized early American newspapers, covering 1690-1922.
Includes:
- Historical newspapers from Arizona and New Mexico
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Content from the 20th Century American Newspapers series includes:
- The Times-Picayune (New Orleans), 1923-1988
- The Plain Dealer (Cleveland), 1923-1991
- The Oregonian, 1923-1987
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, exploring topics of cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses.
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowFind video documentaries about race and gender studies, human rights, multiculturalism, global studies, environment, bioethics, health, political science, psychology, arts, and more. Click "more" for performance rights.
Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility StatementPublic performance rights: Viewing Alexander Street films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers (if not current UA students, staff or faculty, then they must be present on University property) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening, including selling snacks, asking for donations, etc.).
- Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books and book chapters, and conference papers about gender & women's studies, LGBT and sexual diversity issues, from 1972-present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, and alternative and independent magazines in gender and women's studies, as well as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender research.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Watch documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and feature films related to LGBT topics.
Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility StatementPublic performance rights: Viewing Alexander Street films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers (if not current UA students, staff or faculty, then they must be present on University property) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening, including selling snacks, asking for donations, etc.).
- North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
Find plays, playbills, production photos, and other materials related to women playwrights, from colonial era to present day.
- Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family This link opens in a new window
Find handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
- Understanding Hate In America This link opens in a new windowFind local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations.
- Women's Magazine Archive, 1846-2005 This link opens in a new window
Find the foremost titles in this subject area, serving as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Subjects covered include parenting, education, health, psychology, family life, home economics, careers, fashion, and culture.
- Women and Social Movements International, 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Find texts by women activists, 1840-present.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Find primary and secondary materials about the history of women in social movements.
- Last Updated: Dec 24, 2024 2:54 PM
- URL: https://libguides.library.arizona.edu/black-history-borderlands
- Print Page