The materials located on this page contain resources external to the University of Arizona. The repositories listed include both digital and physical collections that explore Black life in the U.S./Mexico borderlands and beyond. You can find additional sources in the Africana Studies libguide.
A digital archive committed to preserving and sharing materials related to Black history, culture, and experiences in Texas.
A museum dedicated to gathering, sharing, and preserving materials about Black life in Southern Arizona.
A project supported by the Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records division of the Secretary of State that works to provide access to primary sources of many Arizona archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural institutions.
An online library committed to sharing Black literature in an effort to celebrate Black language and support communal learning.
An online resource devoted to capturing the history of Black beauty culture through the preservation and sharing of beauty advertisements, tools, cosmetics, and oral histories.
A digital archive and biannual publication created by artist Zoë Pulley that contains crowd-sourced images of Black life and joy.
An online resource offering encyclopedic information about the history of Black communities in the United States and other regions of the world.
A digital archive dedicated to identifying and offering accurate information about anti-Black violence in the Southern United States.
A social art project taking form as a library that collects and celebrates the literature of Black women and Black non-binary people.
A museum dedicated to sharing the history, culture, and art of Black communities in Phoenix, Arizona.
A crowd-sourced digital archive dedicated to preserving and sharing materials related to the protests that began after the death of Freddie Gray and other anti-Black violence.
An online resource dedicated to assisting researchers, archivists, and student activists in locating materials about the histories of student organizing, specifically for historically underdocumented student populations.
An archive and museum committed to collecting, preserving, and sharing the cultural heritage of Black communities in San Antonio, Texas.
As one of The New York Public Library's research libraries, this institution is dedicated to the research, preservation, and accessibility of materials focused on Black communities in the United States and throughout the diaspora.
An online resource offering research materials and teaching resources about the history and culture of many Southern Arizona ethnic groups.