Black History in the Borderlands

The materials found on this page can all be found at UA Libraries Special Collections located in Tucson, AZ. Here you can find congressional records, university materials, photographs, newspaper and journal articles, and scrapbooks that document Black life in the U.S./Mexico borderlands. These materials primarily focus on Arizona but there are some records containing information about New Mexico and Texas. Together they offer an expansive look at an often overlooked history and work to highlight a strong Black presence in this region. 

Archival Collections | University of Arizona History Materials | Books, Theses, Dissertations, and Other Resources

Abraham Chanin Oral History audio cassettes (MS 675)

Includes audio cassette recordings of interviews and oral histories with prominent Black Arizona figures, including Hayzel Burton Daniels. Digitized content can be found on Aviary. Please contact Special Collections staff for questions regarding access and use of digitized audio/visual content. 

Ada Peirce McCormick papers (MS 327)

Contains social justice and human rights focused materials from active Tucson community member Ada Peirce McCormick. This collection includes Black newspapers, correspondence with prominent civil rights leaders, studies of Black life, and issues of McCormick's quarterly Letter, in which she promoted conversation on both national and international social issues. 

Amazon Foundation papers (MS 425)

Contains grant proposals, conference programs, and photographs of the feminist organization known as the Amazon Foundation. The foundation was dedicated to improving the lives of girls and women in Southern Arizona, and actively supported the Dunbar Coalition and the Black Women's Task Force. 

Arizona Alumni Forum videocassettes (MS 646)

Contains videocassette recordings of the Arizona Alumni Forum, a television program produced by the Arizona Alumni Association. This collection includes a recording of a professor discussing Freedom Summer. Digitized content can be found on Aviary. Please contact Special Collections staff for questions regarding access and use of digitized audio/visual content.

Arizona Health Sciences Center Office of Public Affairs records (MS 703)

Contains records of the University of Arizona Health Sciences Office of Public Affairs, including a photograph of prominent Black Tucson civil rights activist Betty Liggins. 

Arizona Magazine Interview audio cassettes (MS 642)

Includes audio cassette recordings conducted by the University of Arizona Alumni Association. This collection includes an interview with Dr. Jesse Hargrove who discussed the climate for Black students on the University of Arizona campus. Digitized content can be found on Aviary. Please contact Special Collections staff for questions regarding access and use of digitized audio/visual content.

Arizona, Southwestern, and Borderlands photographic collection (AzSwBPhoto)

Contains photographs of people, events, and places from the Arizona, New Mexico, and Mexico borderlands. This collection includes photographs of Buffalo soldiers and Dunbar students. 

Dennis DeConcini papers (MS 399)

Contains the records of Arizona politician Dennis DeConcini. These materials document his involvement with organizations like the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and the United Negro College Fund.

Dr. Charles "Chuck" Ford papers (MS 597)

Contains the political materials of Dr. Charles "Chuck" Ford who was the first Black person elected to the Tucson City Council. 

Henry "Hank" Oyama papers (MS 448)

Contains the materials of Henry "Hank" Oyama who was an active member in the bilingual education movement in Tucson. His collection includes correspondence, journal and newspaper articles, and reports about different communities of Tucson, including the Black community. 

Jack Sheaffer photographic collection (MS 435)

Contains the personal and professional work of Jack Sheaffer who was a photographer for the Arizona Daily Star. This collection includes many photographs documenting Black life and events in Southern Arizona. 

James Kolbe papers (MS 539)

Contains the political records of Arizona Congressman James Kolbe which includes his materials about different Black-centered organizations and events. 

Jay Rochlin Oral History Project audio cassettes (MS 671)

Includes audio cassette recordings of interviews and oral histories conducted by Jay Rochlin with 16 African-American alumni, including Elgie Mike Battteau, Felix Goodwin, Anna Jolivet, Robin Lemon and many others. Digitized content can be found on Aviary. Please contact Special Collections staff for questions regarding access and use of digitized audio/visual content. 

John Beecher papers (MS 161)

Contains clippings, photographs, brochures and other materials from American poet and civil rights activist John Beecher. This collection includes letters for a planned book detailing Black life in the South. 

John Robert Carter papers (MS 326)

Contains the personal and political papers of John Robert Carter who was a member of the African American Company C of the 25th Infantry. This collection documents his time in Southern Arizona. 

Leslie J. Yerman photographic collection (MS 736)

Contains the photographic artwork of Leslie J. Yerman. These photographs document Downtown Tucson after the George Floyd protests. 

Mary Jeffries Bruce and the Sunday Evening Forum collection (MS 472)

Contains the personal scrapbooks of Mary Jeffries Bruce who was a prominent Tucson citizen and chairman for the Sunday Evening Forum. This collection includes newspaper articles and photographs of several significant figures discussing issues related to Black Americans. 

Tucson Council for Civic Unity records (MS 317)

Contains the materials of the Tucson Council for Civic Unity, a group dedicated to improving the relations between different social groups and promoting better living conditions. This collection includes materials about segregation, civil rights, equal employment, and race relations in Tucson. 

Tucson Meet Yourself Festival records (MS 618)

Contains materials documenting the Tucson Meet Yourself Festival which includes recordings of African and African diasporic dance. 

United States Army, Military Division of the Missouri correspondence (MS 041)

Contains military correspondence and reports related to Captain Nicholas Nolan of the 10th Cavalry. This collection includes correspondence with Henry O. Flipper who was a Black American soldier and former enslaved person who lived in Arizona. 

Arizona, Southwestern, and Miscellaneous Vertical File (ASW VF)

Contains materials related to the land and people of Arizona, New Mexico, and Mexico. This collection includes printed materials about affirmative action, diversity action, and student protests at the University of Arizona. 

University of Arizona Office of the President Records (AZ 426)

Contains correspondence and financial records about the administration and management of the University of Arizona. This collection includes correspondence about Black Student Union demonstrations on campus and Black studies. 

University of Arizona Photographic Collection (UA Photo)

Contains photographs of university campus, students, and activities which includes photographs of student protests of the 1960s.