LibGuides: Entrepreneurship: Market and consumer research

Market and consumer behavior research

Market Share Reporter
Market Share Reporter is available in the Gale Business: Insights database, and features market share reports for brand-name products and companies. Use the "Search Within" option on the right-side of the search results to search by company, brand name, keyword, or NAICS code. Market share is shown as a percent of total industry or product sales for a specific period.

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Create lists of consumers by geographic and demographic characteristics.
Euromonitor's Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data for the last 15 years, and forecasts out to at least 5 years. Passport data is completely cross-country comparable.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Reports from several market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing and other markets and industries.
Mintel Academic Market Research This link opens in a new window
Under Category, choose your industry or sector. (You can choose multiple if needed). Then, use the Content Types results filter to find Reports. Mostly US markets. Limited new coverage of select UK, Canada and Latin American markets. Other international coverage is primarily pre-pandemic (2019 and older) travel and tourism reports. To download report content, first create a login with your UA email address.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find articles on the psychology and behavior of consumers. Try combining subject terms such as Marketing, Advertising, Consumer Behavior, Consumer Attitudes, Online Social Networks, or Mass Media.
Tutorial
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors.
Tutorial
WGSN Fashion Trend Forecasting & Analysis This link opens in a new window
WGSN's comprehensive research and analysis service provides for every stage of the product development life cycle. Trends are tracked and analysed from their earliest emergence right through to the products driving retail and e-tail today.

Demographic data and visualizations

Population Data & Visualizations (Maps, Tables, Charts)

These three interactive tools largely draw on data from the U.S. Bureau of Census. View this box for full Census data and surveys.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to current and historical U.S. Census data and surveys. Explore data layers like age, income, household structure, and more on the U.S. Map, or check out the Demographic Profiles section to explore population profiles by state, city, or zip code.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
U.S. national data, GIS mapping tool and analytics platform with data related to demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, federal income-eligible areas, money and income, lending activity, jobs and economy, education, health and more.
Data can be viewed by census block or tract in many cases, and city, county, zip code, state as well as congressional district, school district, state house and state senate districts. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports and unlimited address-based data can be uploaded for use in PolicyMap.

City-Data.com
Interactive data tool for demographics and state or city characteristics.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook
Collected by the United Nations Statistics Division.

Labor, Employment Data

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) - Current Population Survey
A monthly survey conducted by BLS and the Bureau of Census. Contains information on demographics, labor force characteristics, employment and unemployment, hours of work, and earnings.
Data USA
Visualizations, reports, and maps of publicly available US government data on topics relating to employment, job skills, and education. Joint venture by Deloitte and Datawheel.

Consumer Behavior, Demographics, Expenditure

MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
See the Demographics section of this database. UA users get free access to these reports, including Packaged Facts
Mintel Academic Market Research This link opens in a new window
Under the the Trends tab, see the Demographic drop-down menu. Under the Category Overview tab, also see Demographic. You'll need to set up a free account with your UA email address in order to download reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors. Browse Reports (select Market) or do a keyword search to find specific statistics and survey questions.
Tutorial

Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS.gov)
Data is collected by the U.S. Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics through an Interview Survey and Diary Survey.
Pew Research Center
Browse datasets and surveys, including Roper iPoll surveys, religious landscapes, political typology, and more.
American Satisfaction Consumer Index
The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.

Advanced Consumer Research Tools (Dashboards, Survey Cross-tabs)

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
BizMiner produces the most granular industry statistical reports in the market. The database provides industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Our market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
Note: Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Go to the Insights tab to access Consumer Insights. This module lets you analyze survey questions and demographics by creating cross tabs. Great for narrowing down your target market.
Simmons OneView This link opens in a new window
Simmons OneView is the primary platform for providing marketers with access to the entire Experian Simmons product suite. Simmons OneView combines the trusted syndicated and custom research from Experian Simmons with powerful analytic tools and reports to provide marketers with vivid consumer insights via an intuitive online platform.
NOTE: Limited to 10 simultaneous users.

Population data (U.S.)

The U.S. Census Bureau is a great source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Quick Facts website can be a useful tool to get you started. Here's some of the data available:

Census Data - Main Search
Explore U.S. Census data on the population, places (by country, state, county, city, zip, tract, etc.), and economies.
Census Business Builder
This new tool provides key demographic and economic data to help entrepreneurs start a new business or expand an existing one. See tips on how to use this database.

Specific Surveys and Programs

Population and Housing Unit Estimates (Census.gov)
Publishes estimated population totals for the previous year for cities and towns, metropolitan areas, counties, stations, and the nation. Datasets come out on a rolling basis throughout the year according to a set schedule, with state, US, and Puerto Rico Commonwealth estimates available in December of the given year followed by county and metropolitan data. Check Schedule to determine the most current available dataset for the data you need.
American Community Survey
This nationwide survey is designed to provide communities with a fresh look at how they're changing. The latest data available is from 2016.
Decennial Census
The survey that comes to mind most often when you hear about "The Census", the Decennial Census Survey collects data every 10 years about households, income, education, homeownership, and more for the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The latest data available is from 2020.

QuickFacts and Local Data

QuickFacts offer statistics on population, age, gender, ethnicity, homeownership, education, income, retail sales, and more.

Help with Census Data

Census Quick Facts Tutorial
Census Academy
Trainings, help guides, and webinars for how to best use Census.gov tools.
FAQs on the Census
Answers on the Census itself as well as the data tools available.

Arizona

Western Blue Chip Economic Forecast
Features economic forecasts for Arizona and 11 other Western states. Data include personal income, retail sales, wage and salary employment, population growth, and single-family housing permits. Individual forecasts and the consensus for the current year and the year ahead are updated monthly.
Arizona Regional Economic Analysis Project
This site's tools let you examine and assess changing economic conditions and trends of counties or regions within Arizona.
Greater Phoenix Blue Chip
Offers forecasts by a panel of experts who track construction and general economic trends for the Phoenix metro area. Forecast tables and the consensus outlook are updated quarterly. Forecasts for Phoenix income, population, employment, and retail sales are also available.
Interactive maps for Arizona and the Phoenix area
The Maricopa Association of Governments offer interactive maps of demographic, employer, land use, transportation, and socioeconomic data. Some maps (demographic and employer data) are available for the whole state of Arizona, while others are limited to Pinal and Maricopa counties.

Psychographic

Ebooks

The Psychology of Consumer Profiling in a Digital Age
Examines how "psychographics" has evolved, the different approaches to psychological segmentation of consumers, the different ways in which it has been applied in consumer marketing settings, and whether psychographics works.
Determinants of Private Label Attitude: Predicting Consumers’ Brand Preferences Using Psychographics
Focuses on various psychographic traits that most directly influence consumers' private label attitudes.
The Brain Sell: When Science Meets Shopping
Neuromarketing pioneer Dr. David Lewis goes behind the scenes of the "persuasion industry" to reveal the powerful tools and techniques, technologies and psychologies seeking to stimulate us all to buy more.
Brainfluence: 100 Ways to Persuade and Convince Customers with Neuromarketing
Practical techniques for applying neuroscience and behavior research to marketing, advertising, and sales efforts.
The Branded Mind: What Neuroscience Really Tells Us About the Puzzle of the Brain and the Brand
Explores how people think about brands. Topics include the nature of feelings, emotions and moods, personality, measuring the brain, consumer behavior and decision making and market segmentation.

Websites

How to Use Psychographics in Your Marketing: A Beginner's Guide

Demographics ebooks

Consumer Demographics and Behaviour: Markets are People
Presents a range of views on consumer behavior and how demographic perspectives enhance these.
Methods of Demographic Analysis
Provides an overview of demographic analysis and methods.
Demographic Change and Economic Growth
Explains 15 principles of demographic growth.
The Impact of Demographics on Health and Health Care
Focuses on differences in health and health care as linked to important social factors.
Best Customers by New Strategist Press Editors (Editor)
ISBN: 9781937737405
A unique look at who the best and biggest customers are for hundreds of individual products and services.

Use Library Search to find more ebooks on demographics.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Entrepreneurship

Market and consumer behavior research