Nursing Resources

Finding Articles

The UA Libraries license hundreds of general and specialized databases that can help you find scholarly articles and clinical information.

The major databases you will use are PubMed, CINAHL and Embase. All three can be found in the Top Resources link on the AHSL home page, along with a selected list of major biomedical and clinical databases.

If you need help obtaining articles off campus, try this short video:  https://vimeo.com/416440574

The sections below contain resources to help you get started with each of these databases; For additional help with any database searching, please contact Maribeth!

Searching the health sciences literature

If you need help getting started, here are three short captioned videos that provide a good introduction to searching health sciences databases like PubMed:

Starting a Literature Search: Part 1 (Background)  6:26
Starting a Literature Search: Part 2 (Searching in PubMed)  15:38
Starting a Literature Search: Part 3 (Using Search Results)  11:07
 

Hint: Use the Enter Fullscreen icon  to enlarge these videos. 
Each video has a table of contents and is fully captioned.
See below for videos about searching specific databases. 

PubMed

PubMed is typically the best place to start your health sciences literature search. 

• Introduction to PubMed (4:42)

• Using PubMed for Evidence-Based Practice (self paced)

• Searching for MeSH Terms (2:22)

• Using the PubMed Advanced Search Builder (3:11)

• Tips for Using NLM's PubMed (pdf)
   

CINAHL

CINAHL stands for the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL has a particular focus on nursing journals.  

• Basic Searching with CINAHL (3:20)

• Advanced Searching with CINAHL (3:53)

• Using CINAHL/MESH Headings in CINAHL (3:32)
   

Embase

Embase is broadly based with especially strong coverage of complementary therapies, drugs, and medical devices. Embase indexes many journals not covered by PubMed or CINAHL.

• Embase Quick Guide (PDF)

• Embase has a list of short video tutorials in the its Help section. I suggest:

  • ​Getting Started (3:00)

  • Refining Your Search (2:04)

  • Using PICO (2:06)

  • Disease and Drug Search (2:13)