Pharmacy

This resource is published by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and contains information on all FDA approved drug products. The online version is searchable by active ingredient, applicant holder, proprietary name, application number and patent. Product exclusivity and patent expirations are provided. It is updated annually and also provides therapeutic equivalents for drugs when there are multiple sources available. This resource is available online here: https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book and in print at QV77 A652.

Contains full color illustrations and coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, new drugs and includes case studies.

This resource includes more than 1,400 common drugs prescribed during pregnancy and lactation. Information provided includes drug monographs, risk factors, pregnancy and breastfeeding recommendations and breastfeeding summaries. It also includes list of drugs contraindicated in pregnancy and breastfeeding women and drugs that affect human development.

This four volume encyclopedia set covers a broad range of toxicology subjects including key concepts, individual chemicals and classes of chemicals including some history, laws, regulation, education, organizations and databases. Entries include exposure routes and pathways, toxicokinetics, mechanism of toxicity, acute, short-term and chronic toxicity, clinical management, environmental fate, ecotoxicology, other hazards, exposure standards and guidelines, further reading, and relevant websites. In print at QV 13 E56 2005.

This 'gold standard' text explains the chemical basis of drug action, emphasizing the structure-activity relationships, physicochemical-pharmacokinetic properties, and metabolic profiles of the most commonly used drugs. Available in print at the 'Ask-Us' Desk at the UA Health Sciences Library QV 744 F7962 2020.

This text presents medical toxicology based on case studies and includes a general approach to, fundamental principles of, and the clinical basis of medical toxicology. This book is available online as an eBook (11th edition) and in print at QV 600 T755M 2006 (10th edition).

This comprehensive textbook is considered the gold standard of pharmacology reference works. It includes all drug classes, organ systems, and diseases in diagnosis and treatment as well as illustrations, history, peer reviewed data, and current literature references. This resource is available online as an eBook and in print at QV 4 G653P 2011.

Harrison's is intended for learners throughout their careers. For students, Part 1, Chapter 1 begins with an overview of “The Practice of Medicine.” In this introductory chapter, the editors continue the tradition of orienting clinicians to the science and the art of medicine, emphasizing the values of our profession while incorporating new advances in technology, science, and clinical care. Part 2, “Cardinal Manifestations and Presentation of Diseases” is a signature feature of Harrison's.

The book explores drugs work at the molecular level (pharmacodynamics), and the processes involved in ensuring a drug meets its target (pharmacokinetics). Available in print at the 'Ask-Us' Desk at the UA Health Sciences Library QV 744 P314i 2017.

This introductory textbook covers drug response and dosing and is directed at both students and practitioners of pharmacy and medicine. This source focuses on dosage amount, frequency of administration and duration of treatment. In print at QV 38 T757I 2006.

This resource provides encyclopedic facts about drugs and medicines including 5,500 monographs organized alphabetically by drug class, information on supplementary drugs and other substances, preparations, and a directory of manufacturers. The aim of the publisher is to provide unbiased and evaluated information about drugs and medicines worldwide. In print at QV 738 FA1 M384EF 2009.

This resource is a worldwide yearly survey of new data and tends in adverse drug reactions and interactions. It contains articles on various drug topics as well as a directory of national centers participating in the WHO Drug Monitoring Programme, an index of drugs and an index of adverse effects. This book is available online as an eBook and in print at QV 38 M614A V. 29 2007.

This resource is a worldwide yearly survey of new data and tends in adverse drug reactions and interactions. It contains articles on various drug topics as well as a directory of national centers participating in the WHO Drug Monitoring Programme, an index of drugs and an index of adverse effects. This book is available online as an eBook and in print at QV 38 M614A V. 29 2007.

The publishers of this resource report it to be a compilation of current, complete and unbiased information on prescription pharmaceuticals. It includes a keyword and international brand name index for ease of use. Each entry is based on FDA-approved labeling for each drug and is supplemented from pharmacology texts and peer reviewed journals. Information included: category, drug class, brand name, off-label use, cost of therapy, and prescribing information, product listings, pricing and supplier profiles. This resource is available in print at QV 772 P581I 2007.

This Physician's Desk Reference covers non-prescription drugs, dietary supplements and herbal medicine. It provides labeling information from the manufacturer as wells as indices of manufacturers, product names, product categories, active ingredients, companion drugs, and a full-color and size product identification guide. Available in print at QV 772 P575 2011.

This PDR is updated annually and contains indices on interactions, food-drug interactions, side effects, contraindications, international drug names, generic availability guide, and an imprint identification guide. In print at QV 772 P579D 2010.

Provides and overview of diseases and treatment options in pharmacy practice, clinical pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics, pharmacoecnomics and evidence-based medicine. Includes the latest information in new drugs and new drug approaches to treatment and disease management. Available in print at WB 330 P536 2011.

Pharmacotherapy Principles & Practice includes treatment of disease states including covering epidemiology, etiology, and pathophysiology. It provides and evidence-based approach to pharmacotherapy of a disease and therapeutic recommendations for drug dosing and selection.

The PDR contains FDA approved drug labeling and prescription information provided by manufacturers and edited and approved by the manufacturer's medical department for drugs and some dietary supplements. This resource is updated annually and also contains manufacturer and drug indices, product identification guide, diagnostic product information, directories, and drug related reporting forms. Available in print at the 'Ask-Us' Desk at the UA Health Sciences Library QV 772 P579 2017.

This resource includes a directory of emergency information contacts and forms, clinical reference guide, herbal medicine guide, practice management and professional development information, pharmacy and healthcare organizations, drug reimbursement information, manufacturer/wholesaler information, color product identification guide, interaction tables, Rx product listings, wholesale pricing, and OTC/Non-drug product listings. Available in print at QV 772 R312 2010.

This is a comprehensive reference source that includes pharmacy history, ethics, industrial pharmacy, pharmacy practice, a drug monograph, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, pharmaceutical chemistry, testing, analysis, control, and manufacturing. Available in print at QV 704 R358R 2013.

This text covers many fundamental of pharmacology in section 1 including drug interactions, racial, ethnic and sex differences in response to drugs, adverse drug reactions and drug-induced diseases. The rest of the book is organized by system disorders including drug therapy for each. Available in print at WB 330 T355 2006.

The United States Pharmacopeia - National Formulary (USP-NF) contains authoritative standards and information for medicines, health care technologies and practices. It contains 4,100 monographs and over 200 General Tests and Assays. Available in print at QV 738 AA1 U58 2010.