Editing Service (fee-based) provided by UA Writing Skills Improvement Program
Writing Case Reports by Clifford D. Packer; Somnath Mookherjee; Gabrielle N. BergerThis book provides medical students and physicians with a practical, step-by-step guide on how to write and publish a medical case report. The case report is the traditional way for physicians to describe their unique or unusual cases to a broad audience and it plays an important role in the discovery of new diseases or syndromes, unusual manifestations of disease, important adverse drug reactions, and the generation of hypotheses for further study. This book guides readers through the process from choosing a case to report on to finding a publisher and then comment on future directions and potential new uses of case reports, including expanded computer case databases to optimize care for individual patients and new applications in medical education. Interspersed throughout the text are example case reports, many written by the authors, with commentary on their experiences working with those reports to provide context and aid readers in creating clear, concise, and useful case reports.
Publication Date: 2016-11-16
Writing High-Quality Medical Publications by Stephen W. GutkinThe imperative to "publish and not perish" has never been more compelling. Yet millions of manuscripts are prepared each year without a clear path to publication by a peer-reviewed medical journal. Enter "The Gutkin Manual." Drawing from the author's distinguished, nearly 30-year career, this comprehensive and supportive guide helps to get your paper accepted--and by the journal of first choice. Elucidating pivotal principles of quality, and biostatistics, and informed by the belief that your writing can be engaging, elegant, and memorable--no matter how technical and complex the subject matter, this volume can be your trustworthy companion as you seek to enhance both the structure and substance of your manuscripts.
Publication Date: 2018-07-17
Mastering Scientific and Medical Writing by Silvia M. RogersThis self-help guide is intended for scientists and medical professionals and students who wish to improve their scientific writing skills. Exercises invite the reader to practice the most important aspects of scientific writing. Although the book addresses certain issues more troublesome to scientific communicators of a non-English language origin, the guide will be of equal benefit to those whose first language is English. If you want not only to write but to write well, this book is for you. This second edition takes into account new developments in the area of scientific communication. In particular, the importance of authenticity is addressed, drawing attention to the sensitive issue of plagiarism in scientific texts.
Writing a Biomedical Research Paper by Brian BudgellAll of us in biomedicine understand the urgency of getting experimental results into print as quickly as possible. Yet this critical step in the cascade from research conception to publication receives almost no attention in our formal training. It is as if we have been put to sea without a compass. Our collective failure to achieve widespread literacy in our own language - Biomedical Language - seriously impedes the important process of d- seminating new biomedical knowledge and thereby improving the human condition. It is also a significant personal concern for researchers and clinicians in the highly competitive, publish-or-perish environment of c- temporary academia. Of course, if we are clever or lucky enough to come up with that Nobel Prize-winning discovery, great science will carry the day and we are likely to get published even if our writing is fairly horrid. But most of us who publish are "bread-and-butter" scientists. We compete for space in journals which may only accept 10% or 20% of the submissions that they receive each year. For us, convincing, engaging writing will make the difference between being published or rejected, or at least it will make the difference between being published on ? rst submission or having to go through a number of revisions (or journals). None of this is to propose that good writing can make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. Scienti? c content is the sine qua non of biomedical writing.
There are many styles which are formatting criteria for citations and writing that are popular in the health sciences such as Vancouver and AMA. The style you format your references and paper in depends on where you are submitting it to. Journals will often have a required style which is entitled the name of the journal, but sometimes they are modifications of a style. Using a reference manager will help streamline the citation formatting.
Key considerations for literature that you identify and wish to use and cite:
Ensure you review any erratum/corrigendum associated with the publication
Be familiar with the source the publication is published in and ensure that it is credible
Contact authors for missing information if reviewing a truncated report such as a meeting abstract
Guidance for Reporting Research
Reporting guidelines may enhance reproducibility of your research.
Note, some journals may require that the manuscript report follows reporting guidelines for the relevant study type. For example, see Guidelines for Specific Study Types found in the PLOS ONE Submission Guidelines.
Find guidelines for how to report your research when you embark on writing a report or manuscript. This resource is a portal that allows you to search or browse by major study type to find reporting guidelines and their extensions. For example, CONSORT for randomized controlled trials, CARE for case reports, or PRISMA for systematic reviews.
Preparing Scientific Illustrations by Mary H. BriscoeEvery graduate student, postdoc and scientist knows that images and illustrations can make or break their lecture, poster presentation, and journal or book article. Graphics software and laser printers have placed professional-quality graphics within the reach of everyone. But in the end, whether your audience sees clear, understandable images or not depends on whether you followed the principles presented here. Learn the strengths and weaknesses of different forms of visual presentations. Understand when to use a figure, and how much information can be represented in one. See examples of bad, good, and better graphs and tables. The author also presents information on presenting DNA sequences, protein structures, and other molecular graphics. '
Publication Date: 2012-12-06
Creating Effective Conference Abstracts and Posters in Biomedicine by Jane Fraser; Louise Fuller; Georgina HutberFor most biomedical researchers and academics, preparing conference abstracts and posters is an important part of professional life. With good preparation and practice, all scientists can produce abstracts that act as effective ambassadors for their research. A well designed poster can help you to enhance your professional reputation in addition to communicating your data. This book aims to help you achieve these objectives. This book is designed for you to use when you are actually preparing a conference abstract or poster. It is intended to answer the most frequent questions, and to help you avoid the most common problems and pitfalls. Just dip into any chapter and you will find a range of tips relevant to the abstract or poster you are preparing right now. As a researcher and academic, you need to be able to disseminate and communicate your research work and findings. While many will view writing for peer-reviewed journals as the pinnacle of the academic communication hierarchy, being able to write and present conference abstracts and posters is also extremely important. Taking your work to conferences allows you to meet experts from all around the world, to exchange ideas in person and to network with potential employers and collaborators. 'This book is a gem of useful, practical tips covering the entire process - from reading the abstract submission guidelines, through to writing and laying out your poster and creating e-posters. If you are a novice this is the ideal book to guide you through every step. And, even if you consider yourself an expert, there is bound to be some useful information you can glean from the 500 or so tips. By reading this book, in sequence, or by dipping into relevant chapters, you will have all the necessary help with preparing abstracts and posters right at your fingertips' - Catherine Dunbar in her Foreword.
PubMed, which includes MEDLINE, is freely available worldwide. It would be helpful to ensure that the journal you select is indexed in MEDLINE for wider access. The following resources may be used to determine indexing for a journal:
The journal's website may contain this information
Journal Author Name Estimator (Jane)- Paste the tite/abstract in the search box and Jane will compare terms in your title/abstract with those from documents in PubMed and retrieve best matching journals.
Predatory Publishers guide- Learn more about what predatory publishers are, why you should avoid them, and how to check if the journal you plan to submit to is a suspect predatory publisher.
Writing- PubMed RSS Feed
UA Libraries has memberships to select publishers that may provide discounts for open access publishing. Visit this Open Access guide for more information.