Responding to COVID-19: Chat and email with us from 9am to 9pm, 7 days a week! We’re resuming limited services in the Main Library lobby, and the Health Sciences library is open to Health Sciences affiliates.Learn more about access during COVID-19..
The University of Arizona Library is committed to supporting open access to both scholarship globally and to the published work of the UA campus community. We do this through memberships, support of OA initiatives and projects, pre-arranged discounts to Article Processing Charges (APCs), and our support of the UA Open Access Policy.
Investments that Support UA Author Publication Costs
Investments in Memberships & Initiatives that Advance OA
UA Libraries have signed a transformative renewal agreement with the Biochemical Society covering publication in any of the Society’s seven (7) journals. As of January 1, 2020, the open access article process charges (APC) for any UA-affiliated corresponding author will be covered in full by our agreement. In order to receive the APC waiver, UA corresponding authors should indicate their institutional affiliation as UA during the submission process. We highly recommend that UA authors also use their UA email address, as use of the UA email domain (“arizona.edu”) also confirms the UA affiliation. If you have any questions, please contact Ellen Dubinsky at firstname.lastname@example.org.
UA Libraries are an institutional member which entitles UA authors to a 15% discount on APCs for BMC and SpringerOpen titles. Please see BMC’s “Submission Guidelines for Authors Requesting a Membership Discount” for exact directions when submitting your manuscript. The corresponding author must be affiliated with UA for the discount to apply. If you do not see the discount applied to your invoice or if you have questions, please contact Ellen Dubinsky at email@example.com.
UA Libraries are a member of COAR, an international association of libraries, universities, research institutions, government funders and others that works to support and advance the capacity, functionality, and future of open access repositories.
UA Libraries are an academic library member of the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), the community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
UA Libraries are an institutional member. UA-affiliated authors currently receive a 10% discount on their APCs. The discount will apply when the corresponding author or any co-author is affiliated with UA. If a University of Arizona-affiliated corresponding author submits their manuscript with an affiliated institutional email address domain, the discount will be automatically applied. If submission is done with another email domain, but the University of Arizona is indicated as the author’s affiliation, Frontiers will verify eligibility for the discount with the University of Arizona Libraries. If you do not see the discount applied to your invoice or if you have questions, please contact Ellen Dubinsky at firstname.lastname@example.org.
UA Libraries are a founding institutional member of LPC, a community-led association of academic and research libraries and library consortia engaged in scholarly publishing. These library publishers preference open access dissemination and embrace new forms of scholarly communication.
UA Libraries participate in MDPI’s Institutional Open Access Program (IOAP) through which UA-affiliated authors receive a 10% discount on their APCs. Authors are prompted in the last step of submission to determine if they are eligible for discounts under the MDPI IOAP program. If the institution provides the IP-range, then the IOAP is pre-selected if authors are submitting from within the network of the institution (IP range detection). If you do not see the discount applied or if you have questions, please contact Ellen Dubinsky at email@example.com.
OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. OAPEN provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
UA Libraries are a library member of Open Book Publishers (OBP), one of the largest independent open access academic publishers in the English-speaking world. Through our membership, all UA faculty, students, and staff have free access to the various formatted digital editions of every one of OBP’s titles.
UA Libraries have joined the Open Library of Humanities' Library Partnership Subsidy system. Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is an academic-led, gold open-access publisher with no author-facing charges -- the platform covers its costs by payments from an international library consortium, rather than any kind of author fee.
UA Libraries are an institutional member. The Library's “pre-payment account” covers the cost of a basic membership ($399) for each UA author; allowing authors to publish one article per year for free with PeerJ. Please visit the PeerJ-UA webpage for details about associating a PeerJ membership with UA. If you do not see the discount applied or if you have questions, please contact Ellen Dubinsky at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Reveal Digital uses a library crowd-funding model in which libraries pool funds to develop open access curated primary source collections. UA Libraries have contributed to the Understanding Hate in America collection.
UA Library is part of the international partnership of 3,000 libraries, funders, and research institutions working to convert journals in the field of high energy physics to open access at no cost for authors.
UA Libraries are a member of SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), an advocacy organization and international alliance of nearly 800 academic and research libraries working to create a more open system of scholarly communication.