Section 4 - Financial Plan - AREC 315 - Agribusiness Economics and Management

Connection to assignment

These strategies and resources may help you answer the following questions within your financial plan:

What financial investments and (or) resources are needed to accomplish your business plan?
Include one pro forma Balance Sheet as of December 1st, 2024, or the planned opening date of the business, AND one pro forma monthly income statement for the month ending December 31st, 2024, or the first month of the new business. [Ch.11]
How will you finance your business (or these changes to your business), e.g., the amount, timing, type and use of funds required for the venture? [Ch.11]

Search strategies and example

This page recommends library databases that specialize in financial information so you can benchmark your business idea against similar businesses to estimate your finances. Additionally, you can find resources on estimating costs, seeking funding, and developing financial plans.

Each library database will require different kinds of searching to find what you need. Bizminer might be the best resource, so here is an example for navigating that database's financial portal:

Example: Bizminer

Choose the Industry Financial Profile panel
Type in a keyword (like pet stores, pet supplies) or the NAICS code (459910)
Select Pet and Pet Supplies Stores from the list
Market Area - select Arizona
Sales Class - select small
Select the Access Now button to review the report (click Access Now a second time to access the report)

Recommended resources

These databases might help you gather comparable financial information on similar companies or the market itself to use as a baseline for your own business.

Bizminer

Access granular industry statistical reports. Includes industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.

Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Data Axle Reference Solutions can help users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people. This database has access to millions of US and Canadian businesses, consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. new homeowners.
Historical ReferenceUSA data is available in ReDATA.
PitchBook

Find data, research, and technology covering the private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Please note: On June 30, 2025, all UA Pitchbook users will be disabled by the vendor - to access the PitchBook Platform again, users will need to create a new account while on-campus/at Tech Launch. See Additional Info for access instructions and links.
You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database.
On June 30, 2025, all UA Pitchbook users will be disabled by the vendor - to access the PitchBook Platform again, users will need to create a new account while on-campus/at Tech Launch.
URL for on-campus/at Tech Launch: https://arizona.pitchbook.com/ Once your new account is created, you should be able to access Pitchbook while off-campus too using the off-campus link: https://ezproxy.library.arizona.edu/login?url=https://arizona.pitchbook.com
==
URL for off-campus access: https://ezproxy.library.arizona.edu/login?url=https://arizona.pitchbook.com
URL for on-campus/at Tech Launch: https://arizona.pitchbook.com/
==
For problems logging in or resetting your password, contact PitchBook Support: support@pitchbook.com

Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
- Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
- Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
- University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.

Selected resources for creating a financial plan / budget

Small Business Administration (SBA.gov) - Costs and Funding
Use this guide to help identify startup costs and research funding sources.
Business Plan Templates for Startups
Find templates for every facet of developing a business, from general business planning and business model canvas to financial projections and statements and marketing plans.

Costs

General costs and planning tools

Toolbox for Startups - UA Tech Launch Arizona
General resource recommendations to help you launch an idea, from understanding the market to creating a pitch.
Calculate your startup costs - Small Business Administration (SBA.gov)
Explore this startup cost calculation tool as well as other information on financial planning and funding.

Manufacturing costs

National Association of Manufacturers
Useful for seeing what big policy issues exist in major manufacturing areas, which can help in scenario planning. Almost every industry and industry segment has its own association, so look for one related to your idea. These associations can not only be excellent sources of industry data, but useful for getting a handle on competition, locating suppliers, and even as a source of contacts for asking about the industry.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST.gov)
Great for technology research and finding potential manufacturing partners.

For China, try Global Sources and Alibaba.com.

uTest: provides free testing resources for apps.

Overall financial landscape - market and competition

Bizminer
BizMiner produces very detailed industry statistical reports. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the ZIP code. Under "Industry Financial Analysis," see Industry Financial Reports (best for valuation, business plans, and corporate benchmarking: include industry financial ratios, balance sheet ,and detailed Profit & Loss statements) and Micro-Firm Profit-Loss Reports. Under "Industry Market Analysis," see market research trends, enterprise-specific and commercial site market analysis, Competitive Market Analyzer, and Sales per Square Foot Report.

Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.

Funding

Databases

PitchBook

Find data, research, and technology covering the private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Please note: On June 30, 2025, all UA Pitchbook users will be disabled by the vendor - to access the PitchBook Platform again, users will need to create a new account while on-campus/at Tech Launch. See Additional Info for access instructions and links.
You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database.
On June 30, 2025, all UA Pitchbook users will be disabled by the vendor - to access the PitchBook Platform again, users will need to create a new account while on-campus/at Tech Launch.
URL for on-campus/at Tech Launch: https://arizona.pitchbook.com/ Once your new account is created, you should be able to access Pitchbook while off-campus too using the off-campus link: https://ezproxy.library.arizona.edu/login?url=https://arizona.pitchbook.com
==
URL for off-campus access: https://ezproxy.library.arizona.edu/login?url=https://arizona.pitchbook.com
URL for on-campus/at Tech Launch: https://arizona.pitchbook.com/
==
For problems logging in or resetting your password, contact PitchBook Support: support@pitchbook.com

Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
- Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
- Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
- University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.

Ebooks

See information in the ebooks found at The business plan tab.

Banker's Guide to Small Business Finance
Covers how small businesses are funded; capital market disruptions; the paradigm shift created by Google, Amazon, and Facebook; private equity in search of ROI; lenders, funders, and places to find money; digital lenders; non-traditional funding; digital capital brokers; and more.
Crowdfunding: A Guide to Raising Capital on the Internet
Looks at the current marketplace, overview of important data, and legitimate concerns.
The Crowdfunding Handbook
Explains the JOBS Act and translates the regulations into a clear set of do's and don'ts for entrepreneurs.
Get Your Business Funded
Explore the many options available to get the money you need for your business.
The Oxford Handbook of Entrepreneurial Finance
Covers financing, risks, entrepreneurial capital structure, business planning, and funding sources.

Marketing & advertising costs

Databases

SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service
Find advertising options and rates for various types of media (direct marketing, websites, radio, TV, newspapers, and more).

Websites

HubSpot Inbound Marketing

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

AREC 315 - Agribusiness Economics and Management

Ask Us!

Social Sciences Cohort

Connection to assignment

Search strategies and example

Recommended resources

Selected resources for creating a financial plan / budget