The Boundaryless Organization: Breaking the Chains of Organization Structure
Armstrong's Handbook of Management and Leadership
In order to make an effective contribution, HR specialists have to be good at management, leadership and developing themselves and others. However in addition, they need to be aware of the management and business considerations that affect their work. Armstrong's Handbook of Management and Leadership provides guidance on the processes of management and leadership with particular reference to what managers and aspiring managers need to know and do to make a difference. This new edition is the only book that covers in one volume the new Leading, Managing and Developing People and Developing Skills for Business Leadership modules, which are part of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development's Leadership and Management Standards. Online supporting resources for this book include lecture slides for each chapter, flashcards and case studies with exercises.
Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science
Handbook of Principles of Organizational Behavior
There is a strong movement today in management to encourage management practices based on research evidence. In the first volume of this handbook, I asked experts in 39 areas of management to identify a central principle that summarized and integrated the core findings from their specialty area and then to explain this principle and give real business examples of the principle in action. I asked them to write in non-technical terms, e.g., without a lot of statistics, and almost all did so. The previous handbook proved to be quite popular, so I was asked to edit a second edition. This new edition has been expanded to 33 topics, and there are some new authors for the previously included topics. The new edition also includes: updated case examples, updated references and practical exercises at the end of each chapter. It also includes a preface on evidence-based management. The principles for the first edition were intended to be relatively timeless, so it is no surprise that most of the principles are the same (though some chapter titles include more than one principle). This book could serve as a textbook in advanced undergraduate and in MBA courses. It could also be of use to practicing managers and not just those in Human Resource departments. Every practicing manager may not want to read the whole book, but I am willing to guarantee that every one will find at least one or more chapters that will be practically useful. In this time of economic crisis, the need for effective management practices is more acute than ever.
Legal and Regulatory Issues in Human Resources Management
This edited book is intended to address the need for an updated look at the HRM legal and regulatory environment. Contrary to existing books which address legal issues in HRM from a narrower focus or specific issue (like sexual harassment, performance appraisal or employment termination), this book provides a comprehensive and in-depth look at legal issues, regulations and laws which govern all aspects of human resource management-recruitment, selection, placement, performance management (i.e., employee training and development), benefits and compensation-and specific issues such as job analysis, sexual harassment, and the like. The contributors to this book offer their insight derived from their own research and practical experience with the HRM legal and regulatory environment/world of work. More specifically, the contributors examine, analyze and discuss challenges, issues and opportunities related to HRM legal and regulatory issues and the implications for employees and their organizations while emphasizing the importance of navigating such laws and regulations to the employment cycle and toward sustainable competitive advantage in today's and tomorrow's organizations.
Use library search to find more ebooks on management.
Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442
University Information Security and Privacy
© 2023 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona.
Text: 520-762-7271
Phone: 520-621-6442
Email: library@arizona.edu
Find Your Librarian
