Skip to Main Content

Statistics Resources

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Jason Dewland

General

Census Quick Facts - provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.  Use the side-by-side tutorial to quickly get started.

Data.Census.Gov - is one of the most popular ways to pull Census data.  The Census collects and disseminates data about business and economy, employment, government, health, housing, income, poverty, and population.  The Census Academy has tutorials on how to use their products.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention's data and statistics page is a collection of data about a wide variety of health topics. 

Arizona's Economic Indicators from Eller College of Management's Economic and Business Research Center (EBRC).

Arizona-Mexico Economic Indicators - Arizona-Mexico Economic Indicators: Arizona’s Trade & Competitiveness in the U.S.-Mexico Region focuses on Arizona’s trade with Mexico, assessment of the role of Arizona’s border ports of entry (BPOE) in the U.S.-Mexico border region, and monitoring key indicators of Mexico’s economy. 

Political, Economic, and Geographic

Stateline (Pew Charitable Trusts)
Statistical data tables for budget and taxes, crime and prisons, environment, highways and transportation, income and poverty, and population for all 50 states.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Gross Domestic Product, International Balance of Payments, as well as state and local data, in some cases, going as far back as 1929.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
All aspects of labor and employment.

County Business Patterns
Provides economic data by industry, which is useful for market research. Find out numbers of establishments, employment figures, and payroll numbers. Can search by state, community, or ZIP code.

Economic Research and Statistics (U.S. Small Business Administration)
Small business economic indicators, minorities in business, firm size data by location and industry, etc.

Standard and Poor's Statistical Service
General economic statistics, stock price, and trade and securities indexes.

State and County QuickFacts
U.S. Census data on people, business, and geography. QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.

Food and Agricultural

Census of Agriculture 
National, state and county data for 1992, 1997, 2002, 2007, and 2012. Also includes web maps.

Agricultural Research Service Image Gallery
High-quality digital photographs of animals, crops, food, natural resources, etc. available from the USDA's Agricultural Research Service.

Crops: Images from USDA ARS
Photos of crops provided by the USDA's Agricultural Research Service.

AgBase
AgBase is a curated resource created at Mississippi State University for functional analysis of agricultural plant and animal gene products including Gene Oncology annotations.

Ag Data Commons
Created by the National Agricultural Library (USDA). "...provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research. We are a centralized registry for data already on the web, as well as a repository for new data being published for the first time."

National Agricultural Statistics Service
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.

USDA Census of Agriculture
The leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.

Social Sciences, Law & Humanities

Guttmacher Institute
Reproductive issues, sexual behavior, family formation, law & public policy, and related socioeconomic issues. See the Data Center tab.

American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) Resources
Data from the Census Bureau.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Statistics on crimes and victims, criminal offenders, and the justice system.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
All aspects of labor and employment.

Child Abuse Statistics (Childhelp)
Includes basic statistics and links to other resources.

Childstats.gov (Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics)
America's Children report features annual federal and state statistics on children and families, including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.

GSS General Social Survey | NORC
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spendi​ng priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.

Hunger in America (Feeding America)
Summary of the most comprehensive study about domestic hunger ever conducted. Done every 4 years.

Kids Count (Annie E. Casey Foundation)
Provides data on the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children.

Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
Resource for the U.S., regions, coastal regions, states, counties, metropolitan areas, and places from 1790-2000. 

Rape and Sexual Assault Statistics (RAINN)
National statistics on sexual assault, rape reports by state and county, characteristics of victims and rapists.

Uniform Crime Reports for the United States (Federal Bureau of Investigation)
Crime statistics for the country as a whole and regions, states, counties, cities, and colleges and universities.

Educational

Digest of Education Statistics (National Center for Education Statistics)
Statistics on U.S. education from prekindergarten though graduate school.

National Center for Education Statistics (U.S. Department of Education)
Official education statistics. See Data & Tools.

Measuring Up 2008 (National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education)
Grades states on their performance in higher education.

The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System
IPEDS is the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System. It is a system of interrelated surveys conducted annually by the U.S. Department of Education’s National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). IPEDS gathers information from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs. The Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, requires that institutions that participate in federal student aid programs report data on enrollments, program completions, graduation rates, faculty and staff, finances, institutional prices, and student financial aid. These data are made available to students and parents through the College Navigator college search Web site and to researchers and others through the IPEDS Data Center.

Health

National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
Data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle, exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.

State Health Facts (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation)
Comparisons and individual state data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.

AHRQ Medical Expendure Panel Survey
From AHRQ, this database provides information on health care cost, health care use and health insurance information.

AHRQ - HCUP Statistical Briefs-Women’s Health

AHRQ - United States Health Information Knowledgebase (USHIK)

CDC (US Data) Women’s Health FastStats

CDC – Health Data Set

dbGap DataSet Authorization Request

FedStats- Federal Government Stats Aggregator

HealthData.gov

HRSA - Women's Health Data and Statistics

HRSA - Women’s Health 2012

Easy-to-use collection of current and historical data on some of the most pressing health challenges facing women, their families, and their communities. Just released, this year's edition includes new features, including charts and data for download.

Kaiser Family Foundation- Health Insurance Coverage of Women, State Estimates

Kaiser Family Foundation- State Health Facts- Women's Health Indicators

Kinsey Institute- Advancing Sexual Health & Knowledge Worldwide

National Heart Lung Blood Institute List

NLM Finding and Using Health Statistics Course

PhPartners Health Data & Statistics

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)

State QuickFacts (U.S. Census Bureau)

Study of Women's Health Across the Nation (SWAN) Repository

USA.gov Statistics- State and Local Level

WomensHealth.gov Statistics

Pan American Health Organization Data (PAHO)
Health data and statistics for countries of the Americas.

OpenELIS
The OpenELIS Foundation recognizes that the Laboratory Information System is a key infrastructure component necessary to track samples and specimens of public health interest from receipt through final test results. The final test results are often critical to proper treatment of patients and for surveillance activities to track the extent of, and response to public health risks.

OpenHIE
The OpenHIE community supports interoperability by creating a reusable architectural framework that introduces a service oriented approach, maximally leverages health information standards, enables flexible implementation by country partners, and supports interchangeability of individual components.

OpenMRS 
Is a software platform and a reference application which enables design of a customized medical records system with no programming knowledge (although medical and systems analysis knowledge is required). It is a common platform upon which medical informatics efforts in developing countries can be built. The system is based on a conceptual database structure which is not dependent on the actual types of medical information required to be collected or on particular data collection forms and so can be customized for different uses