LibGuides: Statistics Resources: International Statistics

General

World Population Trends (United Nations)
Revisions include summaries, tables, and graphs displayed in 10 discrete sections on measures such as population estimates for every country in the world, projections of the global population to the year 2050, and fertility rates.

Statistical Yearbook (United Nations)
The Statistical Yearbook provides in a single volume a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, for an appropriate historical period. It is prepared by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, of the United Nations Secretariat.
Also available in print at: HA12.5 .U63 Info Commons Ref and Main Library dating from 1948 to 1992.

World Factbook (CIA)
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Demographic Yearbook (United Nations)
The Demographic Yearbook disseminates statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage, and divorce on an annual basis. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity, and language, among others.

International Statistics Agencies (U.S. Census)
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products.

UNData
Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search, and Glossaries are also provided to aid research. The numerous databases, tables, and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators

Agricultural statistics & data sources

Ag Data Commons
Created by the National Agricultural Library (USDA). "...provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research. We are a centralized registry for data already on the web, as well as a repository for new data being published for the first time."
more...less...
For more about Ag Data Commons, see https://data.nal.usda.gov/about-ag-data-commons,
Arizona Agricultural Statistics
Fact finders for Arizona agriculture from USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service.
Arizona Fact Sheets. Economic Research Service (USDA).
Information on farm & farm related jobs, top agriculture commodities, top agriculture counties, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators and more.
Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS)
Contains nearly 2,500 reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Most reports are text files that contain time-sensitive information. Most data sets are in spreadsheet format and include time-series data that are updated yearly.
FAOSTAT (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Statistics)
Provides access to more than 3 million time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture. FAOSTAT contains data for 200 countries and more than 200 primary products and inputs.
Find data sets
FAQs about finding data sets and a link to the UA Libraries' Data Cooperative resources for data sets.
HPIDB 3.0 (Host-Pathogen Interaction Database)
HPIDB 3.0 is a resource that helps annotate, predict and display host-pathogen interactions (HPI). HPI that underpin infectious diseases are critical for developing novel intervention strategies.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.
Nutrition Country Profiles
From the Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, the Nutrition Country Profiles are concise reviews describing the food and nutrition situation in individual countries, with background statistics on food-related factors such as agricultural production, as well as selected health, demographic, and economic indicators.
USDA Census of Agriculture
The leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.

Political, Economic, and Geographic

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data & Statistics
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, member countries, and the statistical community at large are also available.

OECD (Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development) Statistics
The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

World Bank Data
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. See also: Databank (World Bank)
DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on various topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

Industrial Statistics (United Nations Industrial Development Organization)
Statistics on world industry organized by ISIC code or by country.

League of Nations Statistical and Disarmament documents
Full text of 260 League of Nations documents (1919 to 1946).

Euromonitor's Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data for the last 15 years, and forecasts out to at least 5 years. Passport data is completely cross-country comparable.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Mergent Archives is an online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents, including annual reports, key business ratios, D&B Country Reports, Million Dollar Directory volumes, Hoover's handbooks, a patent archive, and more.

Health

Global Health Data Exchange
Locate global data related to health from the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME).

State of the World's Children (UNICEF)
Annual report. Includes key indicators for infant mortality and birthrate, in addition to nutrition, health, literacy, and economic indicators. See also: Childinfo

HealthMap
HealthMap brings together disparate data sources, including online news aggregators, eyewitness reports, expert-curated discussions and validated official reports, to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Through an automated process, updating 24/7/365, the system monitors, organizes, integrates, filters, visualizes and disseminates online information about emerging diseases in nine languages, facilitating early detection of global public health threats.

World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
Keyword searchable worldwide statistics on life expectancy, diseases, and other health-related information.

Social Indicators (United Nations Statistics Division)
Statistics by country on population, youth and elderly populations, human settlements, water supply and sanitation, housing, health, child-bearing, education, literacy, income and economic activity, and unemployment.

Measure DHS Demographic and Health Survey

NationMaster
Compiles statistics from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Gender Data

World Health Organization Global Health Observatory- Women’s Health Stats

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Statistics Resources

Let us know

General

Agricultural statistics & data sources

Political, Economic, and Geographic

Health

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Statistics Resources

General

Agricultural statistics & data sources

Political, Economic, and Geographic

Health

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect