LibGuides: Eller MBA: Industry research

NAICS codes

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is used to describe and delineate U.S. industries by sector in order to gather, analyze and report industry statistics.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) search (.gov)
NAICS is the classification system used to describe and delineate U.S. industries by sector. Industry codes are useful to know when researching a specific industry, market, or company. NAICS is used by federal agencies (Bureau of Census, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Securities and Exchange Commission, etc.) to gather, analyze, and report industry statistics.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Manual 2022
Publication Date: 2022

NAICS (pronounced "nakes") is used by federal agencies (Bureau of Census, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Securities and Exchange Commission, etc.) as well as publishers and analysts reporting on industries.

Industry codes are useful to know when researching a specific industry, market, or company and can be used in databases as a replacement for or in addition to keywords.

An industry can have more than one NAICS code. The longer the code, the more specific it is. For example:

72 — Accommodation and food services
722 — Food services and drinking places
7225 — Restaurants and other eating place
722513 — Fast-food restaurants

NAICS categories don't distinguish between small and large business, or between for-profit and non-profit.

While NAICS is recognized by US, Mexico, and Canada, it is not a global classification system. Other national and international systems exist, such as SIC (also US), SIC (UK - distinct from US SIC), NACE (EU), and ISIC (maintained by the UN and is the closest to a global international standard).

Industry research databases

Not sure which database to choose? Read the descriptions to learn about the database's focus. You can also browse the following tutorial to find suggested databases based on the type of industry you are researching.

Choosing the right business database
Not sure which database to search? Use this interactive guide to find the right database for your needs.

Databases

Business Insights: Global
On the right side of the main ribbon, click on Browse, then Industries. Navigate and expand the NAICS structure to locate your industry's profile page, where you can find links to relevant research reports, company profiles, and news.

Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Business Source Ultimate
For industry reports, search with keywords and/or NAICS codes (5-6 digits; consider adding * at end of 2-4 digit codes to get results). Then use the Document Type filter to select Industry Report. You can also use the Industry Reports module on the homepage to browse by country or sector, and then enter more specific keywords.
For news, try a keyword search without the Source Type filter.
EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders:
- Saved citations or saved searches in the My Folder area will sync into the new interface.
- What does not sync into the new interface includes: Search Alerts and Journal Alerts and anything in the My Custom areas.
- If you had custom folders, you may download a list of items in those folders: EBSCO Help Page This functionality will be available until December 31, 2025.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Frost & Sullivan Industry Research
Research and trends for industrial markets, including aerospace, automotive, energy, medical devices, technology, etc. Use filters to narrow by industry, region, and publication year. Provides global and country-specific markets, so pay attention to the geographical focus of each report.
IbisWorld
Extensive coverage of industry research from the United States, with limited coverage of Mexico and Canada. Search by keywords or NAICS code.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Reports from several market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing and other markets and industries.
Mergent Intellect
Scroll past the search box and click on the First Research portal. Search by industry NAICS code/keyword, or click on Browse Report Categories to find the industry research by sector.
Mintel Academic Market Research
Find market research reports on consumer products, services, and lifestyles. Under Category, choose your industry or sector. (Choose multiple if needed). Then use the Content Types results filter to select Reports. Mostly US markets with limited new coverage of select UK, Canada and Latin American markets.
Nexis Uni
Use the Market Insights tab to find industry reports and news, plus country market reports. On the Market Insights page, click the option for "All Industry Reports" to narrow your search to industry research, then use keywords.

Note: May require users to log in with their NetID even on campus.

There is a known bug affecting Nexis Uni profile creation. Off-campus users interested in creating a Nexis Uni profile should use this link.

Nexis Uni instructions for screen reader and keyboard only users
Statista
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors.
Value Line Research Center
Select Browse Research from the main ribbon. Under Value Line Featured Lists in the middle of the page, find the Industry Screens drop-down menu and select your industry. Click on the Industry Analysis link at the top right, or on any PDF icon under the Industry Analysis column on this page. These analyses are less in-depth than other reports, but are frequently updated.

Specialized tools

Economic Census
Released every 5 years (years ending in 2 and 7). Find data by industry, including # of establishments, employee and payroll statistics, and total sales.

Bizminer
Find or select your industry, geography/market (US; state and local levels vary), and firm size (for financial module).
Use the Industry Financial module for financial highlights: industry ratios, income statement, balance sheet, valuation multiples, etc. Use the Industry Market module for market share, volume, penetration, demographics, and trends, plus data on startups, cessation rates, sales classes, and ownership trends. Note: If prompted, click on "Academic Library Detected..." above login fields to enter the site.

Click on "Academic Library Detected..." to enter the site.
Euromonitor's Passport GMID
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. Detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data for the last 15 years, and forecasts out to at least 5 years. Passport data is completely cross-country comparable.
WGSN Fashion Trend Forecasting & Analysis
Find research and analysis on the fashion design industry, including emerging trends, forecasts, reports, and images. Search by market, season, product type, and more. WGSN also provides design resources like 2D & 3D CAD files and a Coloro color system library.

Use UA's proxied link above to browse WGSN and access content within UA's subscription.
Interested in creating a WGSN account? Use this proxied link to create a WGSN account.
Once a WGSN account is created, log in via an unproxied link directly at: https://www.wgsn.com/mywgsn

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Eller MBA

NAICS codes

Industry research databases

Databases

Specialized tools

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Eller MBA

NAICS codes

Industry research databases

Databases

Specialized tools

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect