Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Introduction to AHSL Resources for Nursing Students

Guide for finding and using library resources for College of Nursing students.

Why use journal articles?

Articles in scholarly journals are how researchers communicate their research findings. These articles are usually peer-reviewed--reviewed by other scholars in the field--to ensure accuracy and reliability. They are also the most up-to-date information on nursing-related topics.

Why use library databases?

The UA Libraries license hundreds of general and specialized databases that can help you find scholarly articles and clinical information. The major databases you will use include PubMed and CINAHL. 

Contact Maribeth for help using these databases or when you have questions about finding articles in their full text form.

Searching PubMed

If you need help getting started with PubMed, a tutorial called PubMed for Nurses will give you a great introduction in about 15 minutes. You can also call Maribeth for individual help!

Please do not start your PubMed search at pubmed.gov; instead use the link to PubMed on the AHSL home page under the Top Resources link at the top of the page. Save the URL from starting here as a bookmark or favorite. Starting here gives you instant access to all the full text articles we subscribe to, and will save you lots of time and effort!

Searching CINAHL

CINAHL is an acronym for the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. All you need to remember is that it has a large collection of nursing journals, so it's a great place to search the nursing literature. You can link to CINAHL from the AHSL home page under the Top Resources tab. 

For help using CINAHL, please contact Maribeth directly. 

What about Google Scholar?

Use Google Scholar from the AHSL website and your searches will automatically link to articles in the library's licensed journals. Use this tutorial to find out how to configure your browser at home to do the same thing.

If your search results need more focus, try using a recommended database like PubMed, CINAHL or Embase.

Associate Librarian

Maribeth Slebodnik's picture
Maribeth Slebodnik
Contact:
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ
College of Nursing, Room 321
520.626.7431
Skype Contact: maribeth.slebodnik