Health and Pharmaceutical Outcomes: Writing Resources

Resources for graduate students and faculty in the Pharmaceutical Economics, Policy and Outcomes Program.

How to Create Posters

Creating a Poster in PowerPoint
This step-by-step guide shows you how to create posters in PowerPoint. It also includes information on how to print your poster.

RefWorks Tutorials

Basic Tutorial
Basic tutorial of Refworks and its features.

EndNote Tutorials

Endnote Training Videos

EndNote Web Help

Using EndNote Web

Grey Literature Resources

Grey Literature Resources

Copyright

UA Libraries Copyright Guide

Open Access

UA Libraries Open Access Guide

Predatory Publishers

UA Libraries Predaotry Publishers Guide

Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis Guidelines

The CONSORT Statement
Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials (CONSORT) Statement provides a minimum set of recommendations for reporting randomized controlled trials. It includes a checklist and flow diagram to provide guidance on the design, analysis, and participants through the trial.
The PRISMA Statement
Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis (PRISMA) provides guidelines for reporting research results and transparency.
Instutite of Medicine (IOM) Standards for Systematic Reviews
Provides standards for systematic reviews by the Institute of Medicine including initiating, locating individual studies, synthesizing evidence, and reporting. To see the complete report online for free use this link.
Systematic Reviews in Health care: Meta-Analysis in Context
An ebook by Matthias Egger, Gregory Davey Smith, and Douglas G. Altman.

Locating Previous Systematic Reviews

PubMed Clinical Queries
Uses a search filter to locate systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and reviews of clinical trials, in addition to a few more items. Allows you to search with a few keywords.
Embase
Use the EBM function to search for systematic reviews and meta-analysis.
PROSPERO
"An international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome." Search for ongoing and completed systematic reviews.

Citation Management Tools

Special software can help you to organize your research and easily create footnotes, citations, and formatted bibliographies. The four basic functions of citation management software are:

Save references from research databases, or create new references
Add value to references with notes and keywords
Insert citations into a document
Format a bibliography for that document in a selected style (for example, Chicago, APA, or a specific journal style)

EndNote
EndNote is bibliographic management software that you install on your computer. If you want to use EndNote, you or your department must purchase a license. Note: Some departments may already have licenses. The library does not license Endnote. Licenses may be purchased for individual use through the UA Bookstore.

Internet Source

Citing Medicine, 2nd edition
NLM style guide provides a list of references for publication, reference standards, and individuals for formatting bibliographies.

Health and Pharmaceutical Outcomes: Writing Resources

How to Create Posters

RefWorks Tutorials

EndNote Tutorials

EndNote Web Help

Grey Literature Resources

Copyright

Open Access

Predatory Publishers

Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis Guidelines

Locating Previous Systematic Reviews

Citation Management Tools

Internet Source

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Health and Pharmaceutical Outcomes: Writing Resources

How to Create Posters

RefWorks Tutorials

EndNote Tutorials

EndNote Web Help

Grey Literature Resources

Copyright

Open Access

Predatory Publishers

Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis Guidelines

Locating Previous Systematic Reviews

Citation Management Tools

Internet Source

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect