Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating Search Terms
PubMed Special Queries
Search specific subject areas and topics within PubMed.
PubMed Search Strategies
A blog created by a medical librarian has a whole range of search strategies and terms.
MedTerm Search Assist
A database of search terms for specialized topics from the Health Sciences Library System of the University of Pittsburgh.
Search Filter Resource
From the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, this source provides access to published and unpublished search filters and studies.
Link to Grey Literature Resources
Bibliographic (Journal) Databases
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 24 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides...
Ovid access to MEDLINE and other databases and various full text biomedical journals.
Comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Contains over 25 million records from 1947-present and current covers over 7,500 journals.
Web of Science (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
Index to the journal literature in 164 scientific disciplines including biomedicine, biotechnology, and basic sciences. Includes citations, abstracts, and cited references, from 1945-present.
Provides comprehensive business coverage including management, marketing, product development, and business conditions.
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL)
Provides information for nursing and allied health literature. Information includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative and complementary medicine and consumer health.
Provides information on a wide variety of topics, including medicine and health sciences information. Google Scholar includes articles, meeting abstracts, books, theses and links to online repositories.
Economic Evaluation Databases
Cost-Effectiveness Analysis (CEA) Registry
From the Tuft's Medical Center and the Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies, this database identifies sources that address cost utility analyses on diseases and treatments.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Wiley)
The National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database can be searched using Wiley. Information includes studies that identify economic evaluations and disseminate findings in the literature.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
Searches Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects (DARE), Economic Evaluation Database and Health Technology Assessment (HTA) for systematic reviews, economic evaluations and summaries of health technology assessments and Cochrane reviews and protocols.