LibGuides: Health and Pharmaceutical Outcomes: Clinical Resources

Practice Guidelines

Guideline Search - Effective Health Care Program (AHRQ)
A program that provides research findings through the process of comparative effectiveness research, translation dissemination, and implementation.
ECRI
A non-profit organization that provides information on patient safety, evidence-based medicine, and technology decision support. Information includes guidelines, articles, and summaries, news, webinars, and product evaluation.

Comparative Effectiveness Resources

AHRQ - Effective Health Care Program
Contains research reviews to that will improve the quality of health care and promote evidence-based decisionmaking.
UA Comparative Effectiveness Research Group
The Comparative Effectiveness Research Group at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy.
Medication Related CER Documents
Links directly to reports on medication related CER documents from the AHRQ Effective Healthcare Program.

Patient Information

MedlinePlus
Selected links to Web resources with authoritative health information for patients. Dictionaries, directories, organizations, news sources. Guides to selected Web resources on over 400 health topics. Adam.com medical encyclopedia and drug information...
more...less...
...via the United States Pharmacopeia's Drug Information Volume II, "Advice for the Patient". Links to pre-formulated searches of the MEDLINE database.
Patient Education (via ClinicalKey)
Patient information on the use of prescription drugs, treatments and conditions. Available in multiple languages.
CDC Health Topics A-Z
Health Topics A to Z provides a listing of disease topics found on the CDC Web site. Links include general information, data, and prevention programs.
Clinical Trials
Clinical studies sponsored primarily by the National Institutes of Health. For each study, there is a summary outlining the purpose, the disease or condition, the particular drug or therapy under study, the phase of the trial, the recruiting status...
more...less...
...the eligibility criteria for patient participation, location of the trial, information on whether patients are currently being recruited, and specific contact information.

(NOTE: Not all NIH trials are yet in the database. Plans are to include additional studies from other Federal agencies and the pharmaceutical industry in the future.)

Clinical Resources

ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides point of care information for clinicians. Information sources includes online books, journals, guidelines and images. Patient information is also included.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Databases are the single most authoritative resource for evidence-based medicine.
UpToDate
An online clinical information resource with emphasis on internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, and family practice.

Drugs and Natural Medicine Resources

Micromedex
Micromedex is a drug database that includes monograph and dosing information.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
This database contains information on herbal and dietary supplements, including monographs giving synonyms, uses, safety, interactions, efficacy, mechanism of action, dosage and administration, cited references, and brand names.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Health and Pharmaceutical Outcomes: Clinical Resources