Web of Science

Web of Science provides access to a collection of databases. The major resources for subject searching are:​

• Web of Science 

  Incorporates citation indexes which include details of scholarly journal articles from all academic subject areas, details of conference proceedings from science and technology conferences and details of book chapter references from selected science, social science and humanities books.

• BIOSIS Citation Index

  Combines the databases Biological Abstracts (journal articles) and Biological Abstracts Reports, Reviews and Meetings (other material such as patents, meetings, technical reports, books and conferences), covering pre-clinical and experimental research in the life sciences. Other topics covered include biochemistry, pharmacology, nutrition, genetics and public health. References are from 1969 onwards.

There are a number of other specialized indices, including ones for data, preprints, and dissertations.

Web of Science also includes Journal Citation Reports (JCR), InCites, and Essential Science Indicators, through the InCites platform. These are resources for identifying journal impact factors and institutional performance rankings. 

Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.  

Note: Our institution's entitlement to the Web of Science platform may not include all these databases.

There are databases with a subject focus like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, and Zoological Record; databases with a document type focus like Derwent Innovations Index (patents) and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies); and databases highlighting content from regions around the world.

Web of Science Core Collection is the premier resource on the platform and includes over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 205,000 conference proceedings; and over 104,000 editorially selected books.

Search across all databases on the platform to find content spanning multiple disciplines, document types, and formats. Discover the citation connections between these diverse content sets. Explore the more than one billion searchable cited references in Web of Science.