Scopus Training Module 1: Topical Search, Alerts and Analysis

Scopus is a huge multidisciplinary database with citations and abstracts from peer-reviewed journal literature, trade journals, books, patent records, and conference publications.  It provides tools for tracking, analyzing, and visualizing search results.

• Over 24,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
• Over 3,487 Active Gold Open Access journals indexed 
• Contains >75 million records, with the most thorough coverage from 1996 forward
• Includes over 6.4 million conference papers from proceedings and journals
• Provides 100% Medline coverage  (Medline comprises the majority of the content in PubMed.)
• Most EMBASE records
• Links to Rush licensed full text
• Updated daily

Titles on Scopus are classified under four broad clusters, which are further divided into 27 major subject areas and 300+ minor subject areas. 

What Scopus can do for you

• Find articles, conference proceedings, trade publications and more

• Track citations over time

• Set Citation Alerts

• View h-index for specific authors

• Assess trends in research results

• Analyze journal using SNIP, SJR, and Elsevier's Journal Analyzer

• Identify and match an organization with its research output

• Identify collaborators or subject experts

• Manage your impact with your ORCID ID

• Bulk retrieval in PDF format

Scopus is the world’s most curated, authoritative database of peer-reviewed research literature with: content is curated from more than 5,000 publishers