Indigenous History in the Borderlands
Research Databases
The databases listed on this page contain both Indigenous-centered and more general resources. Those listed under Indigenous-focused are databases that specifically contain work by and about Indigenous writers, artists, filmmakers, and more. The databases listed under Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More are more general databases that contain many resources about Indigenous life in the U.S./Mexico Borderlands and beyond. These databases are provided by the UA Libraries for the UA community. Check with your university or local library as they may have access to some of these databases.
Indigenous-focused Databases | Databases for Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More
Indigenous-focused Databases
- Adam Matthew AM Explorer This link opens in a new windowFind primary source materials from UAL's purchased digital collections on American Indians, the American West, China, the Middle East, Latin America, gender studies, early modern women writers, Virginia Company and more, published by Adam Matthew Digital.
- Indigenous Histories and Culture in North America This link opens in a new windowLocate archival materials covering North America and Central America from the 17th to mid-20th century. Includes archival materials from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library.
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new window
Find digitized FBI files on the American Indian Movement (AIM), from 1968-1979.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowSearch and browse fully-digitized American Indian newspapers covering 1828-2016.
- American West: The Graff Collection This link opens in a new windowExplore manuscripts, ephemera and rare printed sources digitized from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, a unique archival collection that provides rich information about Texas, Mexico and the South, as well as Native American culture.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Find citations to books, articles, and government documents about indigenous peoples of North America, covering the 1500s to the present.
- Encyclopedia of American Indian History This link opens in a new windowIllustrated encyclopedia of the the events and issues of American Indian History.
- Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new window
Find unique compiled docket histories with compiled Native Nation's histories with all content related to each Indian claim. The compilation includes court documents, treaty citations, congressional publications, and maps.
- Indigenous Peoples: North America (Parts I and II) This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources and other collections from Canadian and American institutions, covering the cultural, political, and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century.
Includes manuscripts; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations; and materials such as Bibles, dictionaries, and primers in Indigenous languages.
- North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new window
Find plays, articles, photographs, and interviews related to American Indian, First Nation, and Pacific Islanders playwrights of the 20th century.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Find biographies, autobiographies, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on indigenous peoples of North America.
Databases for Gender, Cultural Studies, Film, and More
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Find citations to articles from alternative, radical, and left publications, 1991-present, covering racial and gender issues, gay and lesbian studies, labor, and more.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Find fully digitized early American newspapers, covering 1690-1922.
Includes:
- Historical newspapers from Arizona and New Mexico
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Content from the 20th Century American Newspapers series includes:
- The Times-Picayune (New Orleans), 1923-1988
- The Plain Dealer (Cleveland), 1923-1991
- The Oregonian, 1923-1987
- American West: The Graff Collection This link opens in a new windowExplore manuscripts, ephemera and rare printed sources digitized from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, a unique archival collection that provides rich information about Texas, Mexico and the South, as well as Native American culture.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, exploring topics of cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Find streaming online videos of classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from anthropologists and ethnographers, field recordings, select feature films, and indigenous media.
Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility StatementPublic performance rights: Viewing Alexander Street films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers (if not current UA students, staff or faculty, then they must be present on University property) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening, including selling snacks, asking for donations, etc.).
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Find video documentaries about race and gender studies, human rights, multiculturalism, global studies, environment, bioethics, health, political science, psychology, arts, and more.
Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility StatementPublic performance rights: Viewing Alexander Street films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers (if not current UA students, staff or faculty, then they must be present on University property) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening, including selling snacks, asking for donations, etc.).
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple digitized primary source collections, including: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, Archives Unbound, Associated Press Collections Online, The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2014, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Financial Times Historical Archive, Indigenous Peoples: North America, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Smithsonian Collections Online, The Times and the Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, U.S. Declassified Documents Online.
- Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books and book chapters, and conference papers about gender & women's studies, LGBT and sexual diversity issues, from 1972-present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, and alternative and independent magazines in gender and women's studies, as well as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender research.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Watch documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and feature films related to LGBT topics.
Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility StatementPublic performance rights: Viewing Alexander Street films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers (if not current UA students, staff or faculty, then they must be present on University property) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening, including selling snacks, asking for donations, etc.).
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Find books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the 20th century and to the present day.
- North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
Find plays, playbills, production photos, and other materials related to women playwrights, from colonial era to present day.
- Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family This link opens in a new window
Find handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
- Understanding Hate In America This link opens in a new windowFind local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations.
- Women's Magazine Archive, 1846-2005 This link opens in a new window
Find the foremost titles in this subject area, serving as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Subjects covered include parenting, education, health, psychology, family life, home economics, careers, fashion, and culture.
- Women and Social Movements International, 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Find texts by women activists, 1840-present.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Find primary and secondary materials about the history of women in social movements.
- Last Updated: Dec 24, 2024 2:54 PM
- URL: https://libguides.library.arizona.edu/indigenous-history-borderlands
- Print Page