The contemporary million‐acre Hualapai reservation lies on a 150‐mile length of the Colorado River and Grand Canyon in northwestern Arizona. Several collections afford sources on Hualapai history and culture.
Synonymy
“Hualapai” or Walapai in anthropological literature derives from the Mohave huwa∙lyapay or “pine person” or “people of the tall pines”. The autonym is ɁpaɁ or “people”. See also McGuire and Goddard in Handbook of North American Indians, v. 10, p. 36.
Contains materials which Riggs, a student of the history of Mohave County, Arizona, prepared for publication. Includes events involving the Hualapai or Hualapai individuals, including “Wallapai Indians: Their History and Traditions.”
Includes a report on the Hualapai agency, and correspondence. Amongst the latter is a letter from Hualapai leadership through interpreter Fred A. Mahone, on the tribe’s legal conflict with the Santa Fe Railway, involvement with the Indian Rights Association, and funds for legal representation.
Include material covering Hualapai support for Bridge Canyon Dam, a controversial project on the Colorado River ultimately cancelled with the passing of the dam‐building era.
Includes materials bearing on several facets of tribal self‐government, including Hualapai wildlife management, as well as appropriations for such projects as solar aquaculture, a recreational park, and fisheries development and funding.
Includes black‐and‐white range photographs, negatives, and prints mounted on sleeves, with conditions and circumstances listed, verso, of rangelands, grasses, and notes on progress since a preceding burn on the reservation.
Includes an assortment of Hualapai‐related materials, including tribally‐produced brochures and planning reports, constitutions, and by‐laws. Fontana’s materials also include correspondence with various Havasupai, including George Roca, offering thanks to the tribal chair for his hospitality during a 1965 visit to Supai. This material appears under a joint Hualapai‐Havasupai heading. Fontana’s files also contain clippings and press releases covering resolution of Havasupai and Hualapai claims before the Indian Claims Commission (ICC) and disposition of its
awards.
Arizona Historical Society Materials
The materials located in this section can be found at the Arizona Historical Society Tucson location, an institution separate from the University of Arizona. There you can find manuscript materials, photographs, oral histories and books that highlight Indigenous life in the U.S./Mexico borderlands. This selection represents only a small fraction of the Arizona Historical Society's materials related to Indigenous life in the borderlands. Please contact their archivists for questions about additional materials.
