LibGuides: Orientation to UA Libraries for Eller College of Management: Teaching resources

Literacies and student research projects

Reach out to your librarian to discuss ways to incorporate information literacy, data literacy, research skills, and critical thinking into your course. Some librarian services include:

Syllabus and assignment reviews
Learning objects (tutorials, research guides, D2L modules)
Classroom instruction (in-person or online)
Workshops (for students or faculty)

Review these resources for additional ideas:

Data-driven learning guides
Database of short modules/lesson plans created by the University of Michigan ICPSR. Note: These have not been updated since 2010 but do provide a good foundation for generating ideas on incorporating data literacy.
Research lessons and activities (from UA Libraries)
Integrate these guides and activities into your course to support students through the research process and promote critical thinking.
Learn with Tutorials (from UA Libraries)
Library tutorials span from basic search strategies and understanding resource types to critical thinking skills and ethical use of information. If you're an instructor, consider adding a few to your D2L course.
AI Literacy in the Age of ChatGPT
Created by UA Libraries, this guide for instructors covers the basics of generative AI and its applications to academia.

A CURE for everyone: A guide to implementing Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences by Jonathan J.-M. Calède
Publication Date: 05-03-2023

Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted. This book can be cloned and customized in the UA Presbook's publishing platform if desired.
Data Quality Literacy: A Guidebook by Grace Liu (Editor); Bobray Bordelon (Editor); Rashelle Nagar (Editor); Uyen Nguyen (Editor); Jordan Sarti (Editor); Jennifer Boettcher (Editor)
ISBN: 9798218417475

Publication Date: 2024-10-24

The book is an edited collection based on a seven-session national forum webinar series on data quality literacy. It covers topics including evaluating data quality: challenges & competencies, quality assurance in data creation, understanding & evaluating governmental data (U.S. & International), commercial data quality issues, data quality: reproducibility and preservation, data quality: evolving employer expectations, and librarians' role in cultivating data-literate citizens. This book is one of the deliverables of the Institute of Museum and Library Services funded project: Building Capacity of Academic Librarians in Understanding Quantitative Data, Data Quality Problems, and Evaluating Data Quality: A National Forum [RE-252357-OLS-22]. The project details and other deliverables including the national forum recordings and knowledge briefs are available on the project website: https://www.dataqualityliteracy.org.

Course content and teaching tools

Case studies

Business Case Journal
Available from 2006 to present.
HBR Case Studies
Limited availability to full-text case studies published to Harvard Business Review. This link should direct you to a search within HBR on Business Source Ultimate with search terms "case study".

O'Reilly Learning Platform (formerly Safari Books Online)
Find recorded case study presentations by clicking on Topics at the top menu, then selecting your desired topic (e.g., Business) or All Topics. Just above the search results you will see an option to filter by Formats. Choose Case Study. To log into O'Reilly, first enter your UA email and follow the prompts to choose Single Sign-On. Then log in with your UA NetID.

RMIT Strategic Management Case Studies
This eBook with CC BY-NC-ND license is a collection of business strategy case studies written for RMIT MBA strategy courses.

Sage Business Cases

Find business cases from over 100 countries focused on entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Sage Business Data Decisions

Find exercises, or "data challenges," to gain practical experience in applying business fundamentals and data analysis methods to real-world scenarios focused on entrepreneurship, international business, marketing, operations management, and strategic management.
WARC.com
WARC (World Advertising Research Centre) is a database primarily focusing on reviewing marketing campaigns and efforts. It contains marketing analyses, case studies, marketing strategy training, video content, and award information.

Activities, lessons, videos, and other teaching resources

Blue Ocean teaching materials
Includes business cases, books, and teaching guides for entrepreneurship, competitive strategy, and market analysis.

Business Education in Video

Find videos including executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, how-to features, and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment.

Alexander Street Video transcript and subtitle features
Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility Statement
Public performance rights: Viewing Alexander Street films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers (if not current UA students, staff or faculty, then they must be present on University property) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening, including selling snacks, asking for donations, etc.).
International Business Online

Find international business-related primary source documents, including corporate training videos, instructional films, case studies, textbook chapters, research reports, sample business documents, and self-assessments.

Alexander Street Accessibility Statement
Public performance rights: Viewing Alexander Street films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers (if not current UA students, staff or faculty, then they must be present on University property) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening, including selling snacks, asking for donations, etc.).

Inclusive, Culturally Relevant, and Culturally Responsive Teaching
This guide provides resources for creating a more culturally responsive curriculum and inclusive teaching practices.
The Economist - Videos (Alexander Street)
Short news clips and analysis published by The Economist, an international weekly newspaper that focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, and technology.
Federal Reserve Education (FRE.org)
Browse free teaching resources like lesson plans, interactive modules, and videos to bring economics to life in your classroom. FRE is a collaborative group of experienced educators from across the Federal Reserve System.
Page One Economics
Browse this publication of essays and accompanying classroom materials on timely economics and personal finance topics, created by education specialists at the St. Louis Federal Reserve.

Sage Business Data Decisions

Find exercises, or "data challenges," to gain practical experience in applying business fundamentals and data analysis methods to real-world scenarios focused on entrepreneurship, international business, marketing, operations management, and strategic management.
Sage Business Skills

Develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace. Access 10 modules with 1,600+ topics focused on practical skills that are applicable across all disciplines. Identify knowledge gaps and skill sets in need of development through multi-media content. Put knowledge into action with interactive application tools.

Free textbooks and Open Educational Resources (OER)

OER Support - Clone, Customize, Create

Pressbooks - UA Open Textbooks
UA's access to Pressbooks Publishing Platform allows you to clone, customize, or create open textbooks. Learn more about open pedagogy and how to find OER.

OER Digital Libraries

Search these databases to find OER relevant to your courses. Can't find what you need? Reach out to your librarian.

LibreTexts - Business
Provides collections/sequences of OER texts by course subject, available to customize or re-use directly.
OpenStax - Business
Simple to use, simple to adopt. Complete with free resources for educators (like LMS integration, lecture slides, instructor answer keys, and more), all OpenStax textbooks are fully customizable. OpenStax is part of Rice University, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit.
Open Textbooks - Business
Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution. This digital library is an initiative from the University of Minnesota's Center for Open Education.

Selected OER

In addition to being free to share, copy, and distribute, these texts have Creative Commons licenses that permit modification, transformation, and derivatives.