NSC 260 - Nutrition Communication and Scientific Literacy

The American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN), an interdisciplinary society leading the science and practice of clinical nutrition, presents "The ASPEN Adult Nutrition Support Core Curriculum, 3rd edition. This comprehensive book addresses the principles of nutrition support and nutrition support recommendations for selected medical and surgical conditions. Professional and management issues, including home nutrition support, ethics, quality improvement, evidence-based practice, and guideline development, also are discussed."

Covers all aspects of food and nutrition science and provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. The book also includes nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.

Explains hundreds of terms commonly used in medicine, food science, metabolism, physiology, and nutrition.

A unique, easy-to-use source of information on over 1,000 food ingredients and additives.The Fifth Edition provides clear and concise information on currently used additives, including natural ingredients, FDA-approved artificial ingredients, and compounds used in food processing.

Examines topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face in the coming decades. Covers food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems.

Presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others...

Covers the composition, constituents, labeling and analysis of food, as well as the science of nutrition. Includes information on the nutrient needs of humans and nonhuman species and also discusses assessing nutrition in clinical settings.

A public health approach to the US food system Introduction to the US Food System: Public Health, Environment, and Equity is a comprehensive and engaging textbook that offers students an overview of today's US food system, with particular focus on the food system's interrelationships with public health, the environment, equity, and society. Using a classroom-friendly approach, the text covers the core content of the food system and provides evidence-based perspectives reflecting the tremendous breadth of issues and ideas important to understanding today's US food system. The book is rich with illustrative examples, case studies, activities, and discussion questions. The textbook is a project of the Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future (CLF), and builds upon the Center's educational mission to examine the complex interrelationships between diet, food production, environment, and human health to advance an ecological perspective in reducing threats to the health of the public, and to promote policies that protect health, the global environment, and the ability to sustain life for future generations. Issues covered in Introduction to the US Food System include food insecurity, social justice, community and worker health concerns, food marketing, nutrition, resource depletion, and ecological degradation. Presents concepts on the foundations of the US food system, crop production, food system economics, processing and packaging, consumption and overconsumption, and the environmental impacts of food Examines the political factors that influence food and how it is produced Ideal for students and professionals in many fields, including public health, nutritional science, nursing, medicine, environment, policy, business, and social science, among others Introduction to the US Food System presents a broad view of today's US food system in all its complexity and provides opportunities for students to examine the food system's stickiest problems and think critically about solutions.

Provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.

Combines an exhaustive catalog of foods with a richly allusive commentary on the culture of food, expressed in literature and cookery books, or as dishes peculiar to a country or community. Covers attitudes to food consumption, production and perception, such as food and genetics, food and sociology, and obesity.