Cite & Present - NSC 260 - Nutrition Communication and Scientific Literacy

AMA Manual of Style

AMA Citation Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
"This resource discusses references page formatting for the American Medical Association (AMA) style sheet. AMA was developed by the American Medical Association for the purpose of writing medical research."
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors

Write & cite

How Do I Give Credit to the Ideas of Others?
It's important to credit others when you use parts of their work. Complete this tutorial to learn when and how to best give credit to the work of others.
Avoid plagiarism
Learn about how to avoid plagiarism by quoting, paraphrasing & citing your sources. Practice with an interactive tutorial.
Citation Guide
This guide provides basic guidelines and answers to frequently asked citation questions about the three major styles, plus links to websites with more detailed information for each.
OWL (Online Writing Lab) Research & Citation Resources (Purdue University)
Includes detailed APA, Chicago, and MLA guides.
Understanding Copyright
Fair Use and Copyright
Learn about the fair use provision of U.S. copyright law and how it allows for some uses of copyrighted works in research, teaching, news reporting, and criticism without the need of permission from the copyright owner.

Database "cite this" features

Many library databases (including Academic Search Complete, CINAHL and PsycInfo) provide a "cite this article" functionality that will format the citation in the style of your choice (MLA, APA, etc.). You can then copy and paste the formatted citation into the bibliography of your paper.

Present your research

Library services & resources

The University Library offers spaces, software, and equipment that will help you in preparing your presentation.

Borrow technology
Presentation related equipment for loan includes cameras, portable projectors, voice recorders, etc.
Rooms & spaces
Use library group study rooms for project team meetings. Technology study rooms have presentation equipment (and can also be used for Skype interviews!).
Software in the Library Information Commons (IC)
The Library provides a wide range of software on Information Commons computers that can support presentation preparation, including graphics software and Microsoft Office software such as PowerPoint.

Presentation skills

15 Strategies for Giving Oral Presentations: A blog post from U.S. News & World Report: Education.
Improving Presentation Style: From the Teaching Center at Washington University in St. Louis
Presentation Skills & Tools: An excellent guide to resources from Georgetown University. Some resources are for Georgetown affiliates only.
Public Speaking Tips (Toastmasters International): Tips on preparing & presenting a variety of types of talks, using visual aids & props, incorporating body language into your presentations, etc.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

NSC 260 - Nutrition Communication and Scientific Literacy

AMA Manual of Style

Avoid Plagiarism, Cite Your Resources & Present Your Research

Write & cite

Database "cite this" features

Present your research

Library services & resources

Presentation skills

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

NSC 260 - Nutrition Communication and Scientific Literacy

AMA Manual of Style

Avoid Plagiarism, Cite Your Resources & Present Your Research

Write & cite

Database "cite this" features

Present your research

Library services & resources

Presentation skills

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect