Responding to COVID-19: Chat and email with us from 9am to 9pm, 7 days a week! We’re resuming limited services in the Main Library lobby, and the Health Sciences library is open to Health Sciences affiliates.Learn more about access during COVID-19..
NSC 260 - Nutrition Communication & Scientific Literacy
Welcome to the Library Resources Guide for students in NSC 260 - Nutrition Communication & Scientific Literacy. This guide will introduce you to information resources and library services that will help you succeed in your course research projects.
Covers all aspects of food and nutrition science and provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. The book also includes nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
A unique, easy-to-use source of information on over 1,000 food ingredients and additives.The Fifth Edition provides clear and concise information on currently used additives, including natural ingredients, FDA-approved artificial ingredients, and compounds used in food processing.
Examines topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face in the coming decades. Covers food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems.
Presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others...
Covers the composition, constituents, labeling and analysis of food, as well as the science of nutrition. Includes information on the nutrient needs of humans and nonhuman species and also discusses assessing nutrition in clinical settings.
This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students and is the Open Educational Resource (OER) textbook for the FSHN 185 The Science of Human Nutrition course at the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
Provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.
Combines an exhaustive catalog of foods with a richly allusive commentary on the culture of food, expressed in literature and cookery books, or as dishes peculiar to a country or community. Covers attitudes to food consumption, production and perception, such as food and genetics, food and sociology, and obesity.
Library search allows you to search millions of items from a single interface. Search physical library holdings at the UA Libraries (books, etc.), database content (journal articles, etc.), digitized collections, and more.