Use ProPublica's database to search tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as executive compensation, revenue, and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access over 9.6 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.
Find up-to-date information on thousands of IRS-registered nonprofits. GuideStar provides information on the organization's mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, governance, and more. Find different organizations' financial statements, executives' salaries, and other key financial information. Note: You will need to create a free basic account using your arizona.edu email.
This data visualization tool provides high-level data on charitable giving in the United States by source (company, individual, etc.) and recipient (type of industry, affiliation). You can filter by year as well as compare contributions to previous years. Other Giving USA resources are restricted to subscribers.
Search this database with either the EIN or name of the non-profit you are researching to confirm their tax exempt status and eligibility letter. You can also review all filings under the bulk data downloads link. Check the index .csv for each year first to confirm the non-profit is within the bulk filings.
Try using Library Searchon the library homepage. A tip for using Library Search and other databases: If the nonprofit has more than one word in its title, put it in quotation marks (e.g., "Red Cross") so that the database searches for that exact phrase.
Also try searching databases recommended for researching private companies on the Company Research tab.
Data Axle Reference Solutions can help users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people. This database has access to millions of US and Canadian businesses, consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. new homeowners. Historical ReferenceUSA data is available in ReDATA.